Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

    Hello,

    Much has been posted about how to run multiple web sites on a single A5 WAS server. I have a simple and effective way to do this. The method is also cool because it visually hides the port and corresponding folders of where each server app is stored.

    What I started with is http:\\theminimalistrunner.com:81\m\ and now I can type http:\\theminimalistrunner.com and it returns http:\\theminimalistrunner.com.

    It took me an all night session to figure this one out.



    Also you will need to make sure that the following are uncommented inside of httpd.conf:

    LoadModule actions_module modules/mod_actions.so
    LoadModule alias_module modules/mod_alias.so
    LoadModule asis_module modules/mod_asis.so
    LoadModule auth_basic_module modules/mod_auth_basic.so
    LoadModule authn_default_module modules/mod_authn_default.so
    LoadModule authn_file_module modules/mod_authn_file.so
    LoadModule authz_default_module modules/mod_authz_default.so
    LoadModule authz_groupfile_module modules/mod_authz_groupfile.so
    LoadModule authz_host_module modules/mod_authz_host.so
    LoadModule authz_user_module modules/mod_authz_user.so
    LoadModule autoindex_module modules/mod_autoindex.so
    LoadModule cgi_module modules/mod_cgi.so
    LoadModule deflate_module modules/mod_deflate.so
    LoadModule dir_module modules/mod_dir.so
    LoadModule env_module modules/mod_env.so
    LoadModule headers_module modules/mod_headers.so
    LoadModule include_module modules/mod_include.so
    LoadModule isapi_module modules/mod_isapi.so
    LoadModule mime_module modules/mod_mime.so
    LoadModule negotiation_module modules/mod_negotiation.so
    LoadModule proxy_module modules/mod_proxy.so
    LoadModule proxy_connect_module modules/mod_proxy_connect.so
    LoadModule proxy_ftp_module modules/mod_proxy_ftp.so
    LoadModule proxy_http_module modules/mod_proxy_http.so
    LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so
    LoadModule setenvif_module modules/mod_setenvif.so

    Additionally:
    ServerRoot "C:/Program Files (x86)/Apache Software Foundation/Apache2.2"

    (on a windows 2008 hyperV server.)

    After you save the httpd.conf file you will need to restart the apache service.


    Regards,

    Michael Carroll

    www.redrocksbluesky.com
    www.theminimalistrunner.com
    michael.vision360@gmail.com
    435-275-5170

  • #2
    Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

    I've started to set up my spare server following Michael's directions for a test. I don't know exactly how proxypass works, but it needs to properly isolate the folders for security and sessions to work. I used to use Apache to manage ALL of my A5 applications on a single server back in V9, but the same method does not work with V10. I'd like to get back to using Apache.

    Apache can be difficult to administer because everything is 'command line'. But it has utilities that are sorely missing from A5WAS, like the ability to block bad spiders, block by IP (A5 doesn't really do this), run separate websites without multiple A5 instances, etc.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

      The above example is missing a few lines It didn't take me 15 minutes to edit the httpd.conf and get it right which I posted 2 or 3 weeks ago The two lines below are important

      --------------------------
      ProxyRequests Off
      ProxyPreserveHost On
      --------------------------

      If you can deal with xbasic code Apache's simple config file should be no problem

      Steve use the example I sent you it works ALL Linux based programs use config files whether Apacke PHP Postfix Sendmail whatever anything ported to run on a Windows platform has the same config files I guess everyone has been spoiled by Windows But I remember when the win.ini and sys.ini were hand edits in Windows

      New project has been keeping me busy any questions use direct email

      Centos 5.5 with a XEN kernel running my SME server as a virtual guest and Win XP pro also Win2k server as virtuals 8 gb memory in Centos box and all is happy

      Greg
      Last edited by glbaird; 01-15-2011, 12:08 PM.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

        Steve,

        Yes - I am getting the same as you... and what Greg says is correct.

        Here is what my amended httpd.conf snippet looks like now.

        NameVirtualHost *:80

        <VirtualHost *:80>
        ProxyRequests Off
        ProxyPreserveHost On
        ServerName site1.com
        ProxyPass / http://localhost:81/site1/
        ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:81/site1/
        </VirtualHost>

        <VirtualHost *:80>
        ProxyRequests Off
        ProxyPreserveHost On
        ServerName site2.com
        ProxyPass / http://localhost:81/site2/
        ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:81/site2/
        </VirtualHost>


        Tested both sites and they are both working for me.

        Regards,

        Michael Carroll

        www.redrocksbluesky.com
        www.theminimalistrunner.com
        michael.vision360@gmail.com
        435-275-5170

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

          There must be some other problem in my setup other than the VH script. Here is what I have and it always goes to the folder listed in the first VH setting. I have DNS for both domains pointing to the same IP address. my httpd.conf is set up per Michael's instructions for the LoadModules.

          --------------------

          NameVirtualHost *:80

          ##VIRTUAL HOSTS

          ##SITE1
          <VirtualHost 70.84.202.194:*>
          ProxyRequests Off
          ProxyPreserveHost On
          ServerName a5university.com
          ProxyPass / http://localhost:81/site1/
          ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:81/site1/
          </VirtualHost>

          ##SITE2
          <VirtualHost 70.84.202.194:*>
          ProxyRequests Off
          ProxyPreserveHost On
          ServerName a5school.com
          ProxyPass / http://localhost:81/site2/
          ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:81/site2/
          </VirtualHost>
          Steve Wood
          Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
          There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
          Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
          AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

            Steve,

            If there is a problem with one of the second virtual host it will go to the first by default. Rem out site1 and see if site2 works, or put site 2 first.

            Also, can you get to site2 by putting: http:\\a5school.com:81/site2/ or http://localhost:81/site2/

            I also rem'd out:

            #ServerName a5university.com:80

            Which apache creates when it does the install....


            Stupid question -- I am assuming that site1 and site2 are actual directories in the a5wroot that are controlled by the WAS?

            Also,

            The first header says to look at all ip addresses that are requesting port 80. Cool...

            NameVirtualHost *:80



            ##VIRTUAL HOSTS

            ##SITE1
            <VirtualHost 70.84.202.194:*>

            But the first site now says look at specific ip address and for all ports.

            I am wondering if because it is looking for all ports if this is causing the greif?

            Maybe

            ##SITE1
            <VirtualHost 70.84.202.194:80>

            will work...



            Regards,

            Michael Carroll

            www.redrocksbluesky.com
            www.theminimalistrunner.com
            michael.vision360@gmail.com
            435-275-5170

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

              Michael - Yes Site1 and Site2 are real folders under A5, and the domains are real registered domains with DNS pointing to my server.

              ----------------------

              I got the script to work. The way it had been, it mandated that the URL include "www" as in http://www.a5school.com". In my testing I did not include the www, so the first VH setting worked because my URL did not properly matched any of my VH settings, and Apache defaults to the first one, even if it is not valid.

              I changed the script, adding the "www" to the ServerName value and adding a line for ServerAlias for just the domain. Adding that ServerAlias line allowed the URL to work with or without the "www". I suspect the ServerAlias is how you carve out subdomains, like:

              ServerAlias sales.a5school.com
              ServerAlias forum.a5school.com

              So it is really a syntax issue and I expect there are other wildcard settings that would help make this easier.

              Still have to test this for proper security and session isolation.

              ---- current script ----------------------------------

              NameVirtualHost *

              ##VIRTUAL HOSTS

              ##SITE1
              <VirtualHost *>
              ProxyRequests Off
              ProxyPreserveHost On
              ServerName www.a5university.com
              ServerAlias a5university.com
              ProxyPass / http://localhost:81/site1/
              ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:81/site1/

              CustomLog logs/site1_access.log combined
              ErrorLog logs/site1_error.log

              </VirtualHost>

              ##SITE2
              <VirtualHost *>
              ProxyRequests Off
              ProxyPreserveHost On
              ServerName www.a5school.com
              ServerAlias a5school.com
              ProxyPass / http://localhost:81/site2/
              ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:81/site2/

              CustomLog logs/site2_access.log combined
              ErrorLog logs/site2_error.log

              </VirtualHost>
              Steve Wood
              Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
              There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
              Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
              AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

                Well boys it's been fun watching you struggle but I am getting tired of sitting here -------- humboldt-rentals may take awhile to update haven't used it for a while but you get the idea and dnsexit can be slow at times

                take a look at my favicon has a problem small fix or stuck in cache

                http://www.gregorybaird.com/

                http://www.rental-helpers.com/




                directory structure as follows old databases a trash been re-named no edits work


                c:\A5Webroot\myweb rental-helpers.com
                c:\A5Webroot\myweb1 gregorybaird.com

                using apache

                SECERT it is running on SME server I have had running for 5 or 6 years with a proxypass contrib Handles all my mail webmail ftp mysql It does the heavy work and a idiot box like xp can deal with the app server

                REASON Linux is secure and FREE hard to admin NO has mysql yes
                old little box works fine

                Steve

                the ServerAlias is the true hostname www or ftp are cnames

                Greg
                Last edited by glbaird; 01-15-2011, 11:38 PM.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

                  Not struggling any more. Here I tested scripts for Site3 and Site4 as subdomains, see the 3rd and 4th script below. Note that for the subdomains I had to comment out the ServerName line. Still do have to test for session and security.

                  --------------------------

                  ##VIRTUAL HOSTS

                  ##SITE1
                  <VirtualHost *>
                  ProxyRequests Off
                  ProxyPreserveHost On
                  ServerName www.a5university.com
                  ServerAlias a5university.com
                  ProxyPass / http://localhost:81/site1/
                  ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:81/site1/

                  CustomLog logs/site1_access.log combined
                  ErrorLog logs/site1_error.log
                  </VirtualHost>

                  ##SITE2
                  <VirtualHost *>
                  ProxyRequests Off
                  ProxyPreserveHost On
                  ServerName www.a5school.com
                  ServerAlias a5school.com
                  ProxyPass / http://localhost:81/site2/
                  ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:81/site2/

                  CustomLog logs/site2_access.log combined
                  ErrorLog logs/site2_error.log
                  </VirtualHost>

                  ##SITE3
                  <VirtualHost *>
                  ProxyRequests Off
                  ProxyPreserveHost On
                  #ServerName www.a5school.com
                  ServerAlias site3.a5school.com
                  ProxyPass / http://localhost:81/site3/
                  ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:81/site3/

                  CustomLog logs/site3_access.log combined
                  ErrorLog logs/site3_error.log
                  </VirtualHost>

                  ##SITE4
                  <VirtualHost *>
                  ProxyRequests Off
                  ProxyPreserveHost On
                  #ServerName www.a5school.com
                  ServerAlias site4.a5school.com
                  ProxyPass / http://localhost:81/site4/
                  ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:81/site4/

                  CustomLog logs/site4_access.log combined
                  ErrorLog logs/site4_error.log
                  </VirtualHost>
                  Steve Wood
                  Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
                  There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
                  Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
                  AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

                    Pretty dang cool....

                    Then you also realize that apache can also allow you to do load balancing.

                    http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/mod..._balancer.html

                    All kinds of development and deployment scenarios.

                    The localhost servers in this example quite certainly can be HyperV sessions.

                    HyperV1 - Apache Proxy Server
                    HyperV2 - MySQL Server
                    HyperV3 - A5 Server 1
                    HyperV4 - A5 Server 2
                    HyperV5 - A5 Server N

                    Frank - in his recent posts is showing that he is getting much more out of his HyperV even on a lessor power machine. http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...07&postcount=9

                    Zebra Host
                    | # Srv | Mo. $ | Yearly $ | Ram | HD | Bandw |
                    HyperV | 5 | 49.95 | 249.75 | 5GB | 125GB | 800GB |
                    Basic Server | 1 | 249.95 | 249.95 | 2GB | 250GB | 2000GB |

                    Regards,

                    Michael Carroll

                    www.redrocksbluesky.com
                    www.theminimalistrunner.com
                    michael.vision360@gmail.com
                    435-275-5170

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

                      Michael

                      all the fancy virtual guests can be run from free centos server using a XEN kernel for us poor folks

                      apache and mysql are already there so you just need a base to load the alpha server on

                      MOST virtual servers require you load/install with an iso image so why load xp then apache then mysql but it can be done xp or server 2003 already is a iso image but you can even create an iso if needed

                      Greg

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

                        Steve

                        read your note about the security but found an issue trying to make an edit Looks like it drags the folder in twice

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

                          Yes, none of this "works" unless it all works, including security. Still testing.
                          Steve Wood
                          Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
                          There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
                          Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
                          AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

                            Could have sprung for a second app server license by now !!!
                            but just more trouble brewing Alpha didn't cover the part about second nic or the router only coping with 1 port 80 very well

                            Greg

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Multiple Web Sites on one A5 WAS

                              More options to try

                              set the apache server as a DMZ behind firewall
                              to see if firewall is crimping down flow - don't think so though

                              only options left is to BREAK the network bonding/bridging on windows server and add nic and second app server license
                              but that is going to take more static ip addresses and using one to one nat routing Each data site would have it's own ip address

                              I have already hand hacked the poor server to break the ssl port free from IIS

                              Greg

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X