Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

    I have a SQL report with a few character fields:
    Field On Report.JPG

    One of the fields called PARTDESCRIPTION is missing the Format tab as well as having the Color and Font Equations greyed out:
    Field_Properties_Description.png

    All other fields are fine and show the expected properties like this:
    Field_Properties_PartNum.png

    I've tried removing and re-adding the field, but I have the same issue. Has anyone seen this before or know what the issue might be?

    Stephen
    Last edited by iRadiate; 02-01-2012, 02:30 PM.
    Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

  • #2
    Re: Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

    Anyone?
    Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

      I've not run into this before. Really hard to tell without knowing what the SQL source is... a table... a view. I'd be looking at the SQL source first to see what might be different about that field. If there's nothing different about the field, try renaming it.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

        I've run into this a couple times, or at least similar matters. My perception (right or wrong) is that the old shortcut properties dialog may not always be updated to match all the new things Alpha's adding. When I find a situation like this (only 2 or 3 times so far) I've found the solution by using the Task List / Properties manager instead.
        -Steve
        sigpic

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

          Originally posted by Davidk View Post
          Really hard to tell without knowing what the SQL source is... a table... a view. I'd be looking at the SQL source first to see what might be different about that field. If there's nothing different about the field, try renaming it.
          David, I think you're onto something. The SQL source is just a table. But the control type is a TextArea. I wonder if that is the reason it's different. I can't really change the control type but maybe I can figure out another way.

          Originally posted by Steve Workings View Post
          I've run into this a couple times, or at least similar matters. My perception (right or wrong) is that the old shortcut properties dialog may not always be updated to match all the new things Alpha's adding. When I find a situation like this (only 2 or 3 times so far) I've found the solution by using the Task List / Properties manager instead.
          Steve, sorry I'm not sure what you are referring to by Task List / Properties. Do you mean the properties of the Control within the grid itself?

          Thanks guys for the suggestions,
          Stephen
          Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

            Just can't see it... how do you get a control type of TextArea?

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

              Originally posted by Davidk View Post
              Just can't see it... how do you get a control type of TextArea?
              Actually, the TextArea is just the formatting of the grid where the data is entered.
              TextArea.JPG

              The actual SQL database field is Varchar (max)
              SQL_Field.JPG
              Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

                Steve, sorry I'm not sure what you are referring to by Task List / Properties. Do you mean the properties of the Control within the grid itself?
                When you're in report designer, pick from the menu at the top. Task List then Properties.
                -Steve
                sigpic

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

                  Originally posted by Steve Workings View Post
                  When you're in report designer, pick from the menu at the top. Task List then Properties.
                  Ahhh, found it thanks.
                  Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

                    Your issue seems to be the use of varchar(max)... TextArea is sitting over in the grid and is out of the picture. This field type is treated differently than varchar. Max was created to handle data larger than 8k. When the limit is reached SQL automatically creates additional data pages and creates pointer to those pages and know what do to with them... in effect kind of BLOB like. That's why you can't format it.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Need Help With Field Properties In A Report

                      Makes sense. The real problem here was that this field didn't line up vertically with the other fields in the report and I couldn't apply an align bottom property like the rest.
                      The workaround was to realign all the other fields to match the one that I couldn't change. In essence I had to change many fields to match one rather than change one field to match many.

                      Appreciate your suggestions.
                      Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X