Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Grid + Dialog

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Grid + Dialog

    Hello -

    I have 3 components: TabUI, CompanyGrid (with search), CompanyDialog (as shown on attachment)

    I Embedded the CompanyGrid into Dialog.

    I would like the Grid linked to the dialog via a field, EntityLicCode. So that when I click on a row within the grid, the corresponding info appears in the dialog (editable).

    Like a Grid with Editable DetailView..... but I made the the Detail View as a Dialog so that I could have the tabbed sections.

    Within the Dialog Component, I tried to create a link via: Grid Component->Properties->Link

    But that doesn't work.... it is set up for a target grid; for my example, the grid is the parent.

    Can someone steer me towards a video, or what I should be doing?

    Thanks -
    Attached Files
    MSQL since 2010
    A5V11 since Feb 2012

  • #2
    Re: Grid + Dialog

    Marion,

    Unless you have another reason to use a dialog besides the need for tabs, you can put a tab control on a detail section of the grid which would make your life so much easier than what your trying to do.

    Scott

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Grid + Dialog

      Got it Scott -
      Thanks
      MSQL since 2010
      A5V11 since Feb 2012

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Grid + Dialog

        Follow up question:

        I now have an ReadOnly Grid, with an Editable Detail View; the detail view has Tab Controls and Tab Panes.

        I have set several fields as DropDown, and in DropDownBox Properties, I have set the Choices as Dynamic, AlphaDAO, to the corresponding lookup table or view.

        The problem is, for pre-existing records, the value in the DropDown box appears as the first item in the Lookup table.

        It should appear as the label that corresponds to the linking ID, with the ability to change to something else.

        For eg, I have a field for LanguageCode. I would like the DropDown to show the LanguageDescr from the LanguageTable (LanguageCode,LanguageDescr), and store the LanguageCode. However, I am sometimes simply getting the first value from the lookup table, not the one that corresponds to the linking field.
        MSQL since 2010
        A5V11 since Feb 2012

        Comment

        Working...
        X