Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

60 minutes is not enough time!

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 60 minutes is not enough time!

    I found this javascript to display a simple count up timer that counts up from zero. I want to also display hours. How would I modify this script to display hours?

    SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">



    <!-- Begin
    startday = new Date();
    clockStart = startday.getTime();
    function initStopwatch() {
    var myTime = new Date();
    return((myTime.getTime() - clockStart)/1000);
    }
    function getSecs() {
    var tSecs = Math.round(initStopwatch());
    var iSecs = tSecs % 60;
    var iMins = Math.round((tSecs-30)/60);
    var sSecs ="" + ((iSecs > 9) ? iSecs : "0" + iSecs);
    var sMins ="" + ((iMins > 9) ? iMins : "0" + iMins);
    document.getElementById("timespent").value = sMins+":"+sSecs;
    window.setTimeout('getSecs()',1000);
    }
    // End -->

  • #2
    Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

    Your code doesn't work without modifications for Alpha... did you try it?

    Anyway... here's something you can put in place of it... this works nicely.

    Code:
    var seconds = Math.round(initStopwatch());
    var numdays = Math.floor(seconds / 86400);
    var numhours = Math.floor((seconds % 86400) / 3600);
    var numminutes = Math.floor(((seconds % 86400) % 3600) / 60);
    var numseconds = ((seconds % 86400) % 3600) % 60;
    $('DLG1.V.R1.TIMESPENT').value = numdays+':'+numhours+':'+numminutes+':'+numseconds;

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

      Thanks Dave,

      I was going to use it at the top of an Aw5 page which contains a dialog component. I could use it in a control within the dialog component. I am not certain how to set it up. I am assuming the code goes in a client side event. I tried the aftervalidate didn't work. Not sure how to set up the control or the event.

      I used a text control type|S and called it TIMESPENT. Then pasted the code in the aftervalidate client side event. Didn't work.

      I appreciate your help.
      Bob
      Last edited by bob9145; 04-22-2012, 10:17 AM.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

        If you want to, you can put the top part into the Javascript functions section of the dialog.

        Code:
        startday = new Date();
        clockStart = startday.getTime();
        function initStopwatch() {
        var myTime = new Date();
        return((myTime.getTime() - clockStart)/1000);
        }
        Then the balance of the code, as in the previous post, can go into any Javascript event you need. In a control's on click event, or client-side event, etc.
        You'll need to examine the rendered dialog in order to make sure you've got the correct control ID.

        How are you using the timer? What's it for?

        Actually, that may not work the way you want. It really depends on how you're using it. The "initStopwatch" function can go into the Javascript functions section. But the first two lines would need to go into an initialize event to grab the starting time... and then call the "initStopwatch" function to get things going. Not 100% sure though. Going to go have a look.
        Last edited by Davidk; 04-22-2012, 11:58 AM.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

          Bob, saw in another post from a while back (new on here, was doing a search for something) that you are close to Atco/Millville. I'm from Mays Landing!

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

            Hey Chris,

            Yeh, I'm a South Jersey guy. Alpha5 is an awesome RAD product.
            The developers and the developer users are a great group of people.

            Bob

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

              Dave,

              Couldn't get it to work. I demonstrated what I did in the linked screencast. I have never seen a working timer in a grid cell or a dialog control.


              http://screencast.com/t/CsYuqNv3Tm6

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

                Bob, could you explain how you want to use the timer? What's it for... what are you timing... and how/when you expect the timer to show. The video is great... I can see where it's going etc., but how do you want to use it. That will determine how and where it gets called. Thanks.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

                  The concept in this case is a workout. I want the timer to display during the session. You can update records on the page while you complete your workout. The timer shows you how long you have been at it. I was just going to have the timer start when the page rendered but if this is to difficult I could use a start button.

                  I have found some code online that displays the timer in a HTML page but no luck incorporating it in a dialog component.
                  Last edited by bob9145; 04-23-2012, 05:54 PM.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

                    So you want the display to update each second. Or as you update stuff on the page... as you enter information and save it, the timer updates.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

                      Given what you need to do, maybe this will help. I knew I remembered something like a timer from a while ago... and this is it. I put the code into a dialog2 component and added a start and stop button. The timer starts when the dialog is opened and the stop and start buttons will... well... stop and start the timer. Attached is the dialog component. Might be close to what you're looking for.

                      The other thread is http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ighlight=timer
                      Attached Files

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

                        Dave,
                        Thanks I will check it out.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: 60 minutes is not enough time!

                          Dave,
                          The example is great saved me a lot of time. Thank you for your time.
                          It seems we could spend all your time adding time features to a web app.
                          Times up. Off to my day job.
                          Bob

                          Comment

                          Working...
                          X