Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Report Expression Builder Question

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Report Expression Builder Question

    This is an example of the SQL data I have to work with:


    I want my report to return the sum of 'Cap' but broken down by 'Primdiag' ...so the report would look something like this:

    PrimDiag Total Cap
    115.04 ........ 118
    340 ............. 93
    992.0 ........... 9

    My question is: What expression could I write to get these results? ...I've been struggling on how to do this for about a week.



    Thanks in advance!

    -Mike
    Last edited by mikeallenbrown; 02-11-2013, 02:53 PM.
    Mike Brown - Contact Me
    Programmatic Technologies, LLC
    Programmatic-Technologies.com
    Independent Developer & Consultant

  • #2
    Re: Report Expression Builder Question

    I won't be much help on the expression builder in the report so maybe someone else can help you out. Can you do it with the datasource or a subreport? If you are using SQL as your datasource you could do something like this:

    select primdiag, SUM(cap) AS Summary
    from yourtablename
    group by primdiag

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Report Expression Builder Question

      Originally posted by -Jinx- View Post

      select primdiag, SUM(cap) AS Summary
      from yourtablename
      group by primdiag
      It just occurred to me that I could do this easier in SQL rather than in the report then I saw your post ... thank you!

      -Mike
      Mike Brown - Contact Me
      Programmatic Technologies, LLC
      Programmatic-Technologies.com
      Independent Developer & Consultant

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Report Expression Builder Question

        Is there a way, in an alpha report, to add together specific 'Summary' values? ... For example I need a calculated field that adds 'summary' where 'Primdiag' is between 150.0 and 300. Using the table below the calculated field would return a value of 407.

        I need to build an expression to get this ...something like: total(Summary WHERE Primdiag>='150.00' .AND. Primdiag<='300.00')

        I know that my expression example isn't correct...just wrote it as an example to help you understand what I need.



        -Mike
        Mike Brown - Contact Me
        Programmatic Technologies, LLC
        Programmatic-Technologies.com
        Independent Developer & Consultant

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Report Expression Builder Question

          i'd do it at the datasource; assuming you are using microsoft SQL and know how to build CTEs....

          with prelim as (
          select
          case when primdiag between 150 and 300 then '150-300'
          when primdiag between 300 and 400 then '300-400'
          else end as BreakPoint
          summary
          from
          yourTable
          )


          select
          BreakPoint
          ,sum(summary) as BreakTotal
          from
          prelim
          group by Breakpoint
          Last edited by MarionT; 02-11-2013, 04:22 PM.
          MSQL since 2010
          A5V11 since Feb 2012

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Report Expression Builder Question

            This threads question sounds a lot like another thread...

            http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ed-Report-Help
            Al Buchholz
            Bookwood Systems, LTD
            Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

            Occam's Razor - KISS
            Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
            Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
            When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Report Expression Builder Question

              Originally posted by Al Buchholz View Post
              This threads question sounds a lot like another thread...

              http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ed-Report-Help
              I'll take a look ...thanks

              -Mike
              Mike Brown - Contact Me
              Programmatic Technologies, LLC
              Programmatic-Technologies.com
              Independent Developer & Consultant

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Report Expression Builder Question

                @Mike

                Al's thread, and my suggestion, are the same.
                If you want to sub-total on something, the 'something' needs to exist as a column

                ie, if you want to sub-total everything from PrimDiag 150-300, then you need a column which identifies each row as being in that range.

                It doesn't need to be a hard column within a table; it can be a virtual, calculated column. Which is what the older thread, and my post, are both suggesting.
                MSQL since 2010
                A5V11 since Feb 2012

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Report Expression Builder Question

                  Originally posted by MarionT View Post
                  @Mike

                  Al's thread, and my suggestion, are the same.
                  If you want to sub-total on something, the 'something' needs to exist as a column

                  ie, if you want to sub-total everything from PrimDiag 150-300, then you need a column which identifies each row as being in that range.

                  It doesn't need to be a hard column within a table; it can be a virtual, calculated column. Which is what the older thread, and my post, are both suggesting.
                  Thank you Marion ... I'm still relatively new to Alpha and SQL. Thanks for the clarification.

                  -mike
                  Mike Brown - Contact Me
                  Programmatic Technologies, LLC
                  Programmatic-Technologies.com
                  Independent Developer & Consultant

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X