Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Help with a SQL Update stattement

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Help with a SQL Update stattement

    I haven't done this for a long while, my Xbasic is rusty. I have a Mysql Customers table with CCNbr field that stores encrypted values. Using an AjaxCB I want to decrypt all the values in the field an store the decrypted values in another field called CC1b. I must have a syntax error in the following script
    Code:
    function decr1 as c (e as p)
    dim conn as SQL::Connection
    conn.open("::Name::xxx")
    sql_cmd = "UPDATE Customers SET CC1b='" +Alltrim(a5_decrypt_string(CCNbr,"1234"))+ " ' WHERE CCNbr<>"" ; ' " 
    conn.execute(sql_cmd)
    conn.close()
    end function
    The error I get is " Variable "CCNbr" not found."
    Any help will be much appreciated.

    #2
    Re: Help with a SQL Update stattement

    Gaby,

    I think you need: WHERE CCNbr <> '' (i.e. single quotes, otherwise it can't parse the statement correctly.

    But even with that I don't believe this can work. This part of your statement: Alltrim(a5_decrypt_string(CCNbr,"1234")) makes Alpha think you have a variable called CCNbr, not a field. I think you have to do a select first and loop thru the result set with your UPDATE called in the loop.
    Peter
    AlphaBase Solutions, LLC

    [email protected]
    https://www.alphabasesolutions.com


    Comment


      #3
      Re: Help with a SQL Update stattement

      Thanks Peter. I suspected I needed to loop through the result set; will do.

      Comment


        #4
        Re: Help with a SQL Update stattement

        I suspected I needed to loop through the result set
        doubt that, this is happening on the sql end.
        Last edited by GGandhi; 05-06-2014, 02:55 AM. Reason: edited mistake
        thanks for reading

        gandhi

        version 11 3381 - 4096
        mysql backend
        http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
        [email protected]
        Skype:[email protected]
        1 914 924 5171

        Comment


          #5
          Re: Help with a SQL Update stattement

          sql_cmd = "UPDATE Customers SET CC1b='" +Alltrim(a5_decrypt_string(CCNbr,"1234"))+ " ' WHERE CCNbr<>\"\" ; "
          I think there is one extra single quote, also at the end.

          Code:
          dim cc as c
          dim cc_enc as c
          dim cc_dec as c
          cc = "42554567981"
          cc_enc =  a5_encrypt_string(cc,"1234")
          cc_dec = a5_decrypt_string(cc_enc,"1234")
          dim sqlCmd as c
          sqlCmd = "UPDATE customers SET cc_dec = '"+a5_decrypt_string(cc_enc,"1234")+"' WHERE cc_enc <>'';"
          ?sqlCmd
          = "UPDATE customers SET cc_dec = '42554567981' WHERE cc_enc <>'';"
          sqlCmd = "UPDATE customers SET cc_dec = '"+a5_decrypt_string(cc_enc,"1234")+"' WHERE cc_enc <>\"\";"
          ?sqlCmd
          = UPDATE customers SET cc_dec = '42554567981' WHERE cc_enc <>"";
          take a look
          the result is something you may not like.
          Last edited by GGandhi; 05-06-2014, 06:13 AM. Reason: interactive window example posted
          thanks for reading

          gandhi

          version 11 3381 - 4096
          mysql backend
          http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
          [email protected]
          Skype:[email protected]
          1 914 924 5171

          Comment


            #6
            Re: Help with a SQL Update stattement

            I think the best way to do is to duplicate your table as a copy then update the copy if you are satisfied then delete the original
            then the correct update statement will be

            Code:
            sql_cmd = "UPDATE Customers, customer_copy
            SET customer_copy.CC1b='" +Alltrim(a5_decrypt_string(CCNbr,"1234"))+ " ' 
            WHERE customer.CCNbr = customer_copy.CCNbr "
            this is probably safer. try where it will not affect you.
            thanks for reading

            gandhi

            version 11 3381 - 4096
            mysql backend
            http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
            [email protected]
            Skype:[email protected]
            1 914 924 5171

            Comment


              #7
              Re: Help with a SQL Update stattement

              Before you get too far, your syntax will never work because "a5_decrypt_string" is not a valid sql command. Neither is "alltrim" but that one will work because it is an "Alpha Five Portable SQL" function.

              You will have to run sql to GET the value of CCNbr, then decrypt it, then another SQL command to save the value. So you will need to loop through each record and process each separately.

              If you are going to use sql, it is a good idea to print out the Portability Functions and have handy.

              The final will look something like this (using my syntax preferences and leaving out error checking -- I tested but not completely).

              I introduced a few functions. evaluate_string() replaces the values inside the curly brackets with the value of the variable, and the toPropertyArray puts the result set in an array so you can loop through easily. I also included that you need to use your Primary Key in the routine.


              function decr1 as c (e as p)

              dim cn as sql::Connection
              dim rs as sql::resultset
              dim arr[0] as p

              cn.open("::name::conn")
              sql = "SELECT my_primary_key,CCNbr FROM customers"
              cn.execute(sql)
              rs = cn.resultset
              rs.topropertyarray(arr)

              if arr.size() = 0
              END
              end if

              for x = 1 to arr.size()
              myval = alltrim(a5_decrypt_string(arr[x].CCNbr,"1234"))
              sql = "UPDATE customers SET CC1b = '{myval}' WHERE my_primary_key = {arr[x].my_primary_key}"
              sql = evaluate_string(sql)
              cn.execute(sql)
              next

              cn.freeresult()
              cn.close()

              end function
              Last edited by Steve Wood; 05-06-2014, 10:19 AM.
              Steve Wood
              See my profile on IADN

              Comment


                #8
                Re: Help with a SQL Update stattement

                Did you get this working?
                Steve Wood
                See my profile on IADN

                Comment

                Working...
                X