Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

    Hi
    Have a checkbox on an unbound dialog, name WhatMedication. The checkbox choices are 'inhaler' and 'other'.
    The checkbox needs at least one tick, if another control 'MedsWhenLast' is within the last year. If no tick, then error.

    Here is the code, in Validation Xbasic
    Code:
    if e.data.MedsWhenLast = "Currently uses medication" .OR. e.data.MedsWhenLast = "0-3 months" .OR. e.data.MedsWhenLast = ">3-12 months" then 
    	if e.data.WhatMedication = "" then
    		validate_WhatMedication.hasError = .t.
    		validate_WhatMedication.errorText = "" 
    	end if	
    end if
    The problem code is the line 'if e.data.WhatMedication = "" then... .' Seems that the code does not trigger validate_WhatMedication.hasError = .t. Just drops down to the 2nd 'end if'. In the debugger get 'e not found' messg.


    Then tried an array but still get 'e not found'.
    Code:
    Dim arr[2] as P
    arr[1] = e.data.WhatMedication
    arr[2] = e.data.WhatMedication
    
    if e.data.MedsWhenLast = "Currently uses medication" .OR. e.data.MedsWhenLast = "0-3 months" .OR. e.data.MedsWhenLast = ">3-12 months" then 
    	if arr[1] = "" .and. arr[2] = "" then
    		validate_WhatMedication.hasError = .t.
    		validate_WhatMedication.errorText = "" 
    	end if
    end if

    Hope you can help.
    Thanks
    Last edited by hangbill; 12-24-2014, 06:22 PM.

    #2
    Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

    Try:
    if (e.data.WhatMedication = "") .and. ((e.data.MedsWhenLast = "Currently uses medication") .OR. (e.data.MedsWhenLast = "0-3 months") .OR. (e.data.MedsWhenLast = ">3-12 months")) then
    validate_WhatMedication.hasError = .t.
    validate_WhatMedication.errorText = "just something here to see then later delete if behaviour is ok"
    end if
    If no joy, double check the spelling of the field names. I like to use brackets to make sure each condition is properly evaluated.
    If WhatMedication is not the correct spelling, copy all code to clipboard and delete code then save, the re-open paste and try again. Renaming fields has caused me a lot of wasted time finding errors.
    Also, is "Currently uses medication" the actual value you save? If not, note that you must test for the value you save - inspect in the debugger.
    Hope this helps.

    Comment


      #3
      Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

      Thanks for the help.
      Your code is correct (field names, dropdown values in MedsWhenLast).
      Seems there is some problem in if (e.data.WhatMedication = "") .... from here it just goes to end function. So assume the if statement is returning false, therefor the validation code does not run.
      I deleted the code and saved, then pasted back - no change
      WhatMedication is a checkbox, has two possible values ie Inhaler and Other. Does e.data.WhatMedication hold both values or must its values be accessed by an array?

      Comment


        #4
        Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

        Definitely think the Checkbox has something to do with this.
        Have another validation code. This time Steroid is a dropdown, not a checkbox. It can hold only one value.
        Have exactly the same code pattern as the code I posted at the beginning, just replaced WhatMedication with Steroid.
        It works fine. So it must be that it needs some different syntax to capture the two checkbox values in WhatMedication.

        Code:
        if (e.data.MedsWhenLast = "Currently uses medication") .OR. (e.data.MedsWhenLast = "0-3 months") .OR. (e.data.MedsWhenLast = ">3-12 months") then 
        	if e.data.Steroid = "" then
        		validate_Steroid.hasError = .t.
        		validate_Steroid.errorText = "xxxx" 
        	end if	
        end if

        Comment


          #5
          Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

          please ignore
          Last edited by GGandhi; 12-25-2014, 07:19 AM.
          thanks for reading

          gandhi

          version 11 3381 - 4096
          mysql backend
          http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
          [email protected]
          Skype:[email protected]
          1 914 924 5171

          Comment


            #6
            Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

            Don't understand, Gandhi. Ignore my post?

            Comment


              #7
              Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

              no I made a mistake so I asked you to ignore my post.

              I tested with dialogValidate function, not immediate validation. it seems to work there.
              but you are trying in immediate validation it seems.
              thanks for reading

              gandhi

              version 11 3381 - 4096
              mysql backend
              http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
              [email protected]
              Skype:[email protected]
              1 914 924 5171

              Comment


                #8
                Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

                Thanks Gandhi, will try figure it out with a dialogValidate function.

                I'm confused by the different validation methods. When to use Xbasic, when to use Javascript, what is immediate validation versus other methods, etc.
                Are there general guidelines when to use the different methods?

                Comment


                  #9
                  Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

                  So what I'm trying to achieve on the dialogs is have the controls turn red as user moves to another control, but only one error messg at top of dialog. Someting like, 'Answer all red boxes'

                  Comment


                    #10
                    Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

                    My answer to a similar post will help. Search for "checkbox dump" and find notes on .dump() function.
                    Steve Wood
                    See my profile on IADN

                    Comment


                      #11
                      Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

                      Originally posted by hangbill View Post
                      So what I'm trying to achieve on the dialogs is have the controls turn red as user moves to another control, but only one error messg at top of dialog. Someting like, 'Answer all red boxes'
                      remember we are in the windows world, user can and probably click any control and fill in or just move on to another control by clicking that control. so this turning red from one control to another expecting sequentially, may not be possible.
                      my approach will be on submit, validate event checks all required fields and if found to be non compliant then do what you said.
                      thanks for reading

                      gandhi

                      version 11 3381 - 4096
                      mysql backend
                      http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                      [email protected]
                      Skype:[email protected]
                      1 914 924 5171

                      Comment


                        #12
                        Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

                        You're correct Gandhi, should not use immediate validation on its own. Must also validate on submit.

                        Steve. thanks for the pointer. Have it somewhat working. If checkboxes are blank, code throws an error but there are some funnies. If I tab to the next control the error turns false. And if I tick one of the checkboxes (error should be false) it remains true. Think it must be in the array syntax, very new at this. Will continue to try figure it out.

                        Code:
                        Dim Arr[2] as P
                        Arr[] = e.data.WhatMedication
                        
                        if (e.data.MedsWhenLast = "Currently uses medication") .OR. (e.data.MedsWhenLast = "0-3 months") .OR. (e.data.MedsWhenLast = ">3-12 months") then
                        	if Arr.DUMP() = "" then
                        		validate_WhatMedication.hasError = .t.
                        		validate_WhatMedication.errorText = "xxx"
                        	end if
                        end if

                        Comment


                          #13
                          Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

                          Still stuck here, need help please.

                          Have tried numerous variations of the above code (with the dump() function) but not working properly.
                          In the debugger, if I tick "other", it is passed to Arr, but not to Arr.dump(). Seems Arr.dump() is always " ".
                          Also if the control shows an error, it loses that status when tabbing to the next control even though have not ticked any of the checkboxes.

                          What is wrong with this code... thanks

                          Comment


                            #14
                            Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

                            take a look at this screencast,
                            this should get you started, I hope.

                            http://screencast.com/t/LfflwsU1VG3Q

                            explanation, watch this next:
                            http://screencast.com/t/jlnHGegtj
                            Last edited by GGandhi; 12-28-2014, 07:03 AM.
                            thanks for reading

                            gandhi

                            version 11 3381 - 4096
                            mysql backend
                            http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                            [email protected]
                            Skype:[email protected]
                            1 914 924 5171

                            Comment


                              #15
                              Re: Xbasic - How to reference the values in a checkbox control

                              Thanks for doing this Gandhi, really good of you!

                              The values I'm trying to trap for can be multiple, ie checkboxes not radio buttons. So I suppose that this is an array. Earlier Steve said that you catch the array values in the var.dump() function. Think I will use the server event because you suggested earlier that users might not touch a control and therefore the immediate validation will not work for that control. So seems best to do the validation when the submit button is pressed.

                              The challenge I have is that the checkbox values are not passed to the var.dump() function. Something wrong with the syntax in the code below.
                              In the debugger Arr[] holds the correct values, but they are not passed to the line 'if Arr.dump() = "" then'.
                              This results in the validation rule running whether the checkboxes are ticked, or not.

                              Code:
                              if (e.datasubmitted.MedsWhenLast = "Currently uses medication") .OR. (e.datasubmitted.MedsWhenLast = "0-3 months") .OR. (e.datasubmitted.MedsWhenLast = ">3-12 months") then
                              	Dim Arr[2] as P
                              	Arr[] = e.datasubmitted.WhatMedication
                              		if Arr.dump() = "" then
                              			validate_WhatMedication.hasError = .t.
                              			validate_WhatMedication.errorText = "No Message"
                              			dialogValidate.fieldErrors[].varname = "WhatMedication"
                              			dialogValidate.fieldErrors[..].errortext = "Answer this question"
                              				else validate_WhatMedication.hasError = .f.
                              		end if
                              end if

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X