Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Record Navigator has super duper long links

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Record Navigator has super duper long links

    I have an updatable web grid with various items, checkboxes and dateboxes mostly.

    Seems that whenever I make changes to the contents of the updatable grid, and submit, the information gets stored properly, and the page refreshes and redisplays. However, when clicking the "Page 2" in the record navigator, or the column headings to resort the grid, nothing happens.

    Seems hovering the mouse over the links in the record navigator (to get to page 2,3 etc), reveal that the links being generated by Alpha are extremely long... (they are literally hundreds of thousands of characters long), and obviously when clicking on them, the browser has no idea what to do.

    Steve has pointed out that this is necessary due to the way Alpha parses the pages, but I'm not sure that things are working as designed, as it simply doesn't work. It all LOOKS fine, but is unusable.

    I've attached the component, in case someone can tell me a way to solve this problem.

    My users and I are frustrated, as getting to see page 2 and 3 etc is not working. (unless the page is refreshed WITHOUT a submit) (I would suspect there is a ton of overhead in the system as it calculates and assembles these links).

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  • #2
    Re: Record Navigator has super duper long links

    Can you try your page in FireFox ?

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Record Navigator has super duper long links

      There is something wrong and it will be easy to resolve - the grid is no good without the customer file, Send it and I will take a look.
      Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
      Albert Einstein, (attributed)
      US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Record Navigator has super duper long links

        Hi yes,

        I have tried it in Firefox, IE and Opera. All can't process the length of the url.

        I've even tried "copy/paste" of the guts of the link into Notepad... I'm not over exaggerating if I tell you that the url of the links is hundreds of pages long. (the browsers only display the first x characters though).

        Oh, and another observation... Once submit is pressed.. the url (in the address bar) now has a "?" at the end of it, and nothing more.

        http://xyz.xzy.com/mypage.a5w?

        Once must first DELETE the ?, then refresh the page for it to generate the page properly. Then clicking on "Page 2" etc, and sorting, works properly... but ONLY to the next time one makes changes to the page and hits SUBMIT.

        h ttp://xyz.xzy.com//Cust-ToVisit.a5w?Call_Sorter_Page=2&Call_Sorter_Button_Submit=Submit&Call_Sorter_FormInfo=%3CNew%5FRows%3D0%3E%0D%0A%3CExisting%5Frows%3D20%3E%0D%0A%3Co%3Cr1%3CID%3D844%3E%0D%0A%3CDATECALLED1%3D%7B07%2F11%2F2009%7D%3E%0D%0A%3CADDRESS%3D%2284%20Wxxxxk%20Blvd%22%3E%0D%0A%3CCUSTOMERNAME%3D%22Axx%20Rxxx%22%3E%0D%0A%3CNEARESTMI%3D%22Avenue%2FEglinton%22%3E%0D%0A%3CREGION%3D%22Uptown%20%28Ave%20Rd%26Law%29%22%3E%0D%0A%3CPHONE%5FHOME%3D%22416%2D4xx%2D78xx%22%3E%0D%0A%3CPHONE%5FWORK%3D%22%xxxxxx%0A%3CPHONE%5FWEXT%3D%22%22%3E%0D%0A%3CPHONE%5FCELL%3D%22%22%xxxxxE%5FMAIL%3D%22%22%3E%0D%0A%3CISREFERENCE%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CYELLOWPAGES%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CHOMESTARS%3D%2ET%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CWORKS%5FFROM%5FHOME%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CSHINGLEROOF%3D%2ET%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CFLATROOF%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CALUMINUM%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CBRICK%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CREPAIR%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CALUMINUM%5FNOTE%3D%22%22%3E%0D%0A%3CBRICK%5FNOTE%3D%22%22%3E%0D%0A%3CBEEF%5FSHINGLE%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CBEEF%5FFLAT%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CBEEF%5FALUM%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CBEEF%5FBRICK%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CPRIVATENOTE1%3D%22ESTIMATE%20FORxxxxx20ROOF%2E%20%28BAY%20WINxxxxxWELL%29%22%3E%0D%0A%3CJASxxxN%5FLOxx%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CBxxL%5FLOGGED%3D%2EF%2E%3E%0D%0A%3CJASOxxxxxNED[/url] (the above is only 1% of what gets dumped)

        And goes on and on and on.... it's like the entire database gets dumped ENTIRELY into the link address... ALL RECORDS get dumped...
        Page looks great though...its only the link addresses that are messed up, and ONLY after submit (with changes) is clicked and the page refreshes.

        Thanks for any tips!!!
        Last edited by billkay; 07-13-2009, 07:18 AM.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Record Navigator has super duper long links

          The table?
          Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
          Albert Einstein, (attributed)
          US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Record Navigator has super duper long links

            PM'd you with it...
            Thanks!
            Bill

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Record Navigator has super duper long links

              I have sent a video, seems to work fine here. I'd install Alpha again and look at how it's been served. VPS Dedicated etc. You will really benefit from V10.
              Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
              Albert Einstein, (attributed)
              US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Record Navigator has super duper long links

                Hmm... seems to behave the same either way, localhost and same on the production Zebrahost server.

                I will attempt to reinstall later on, and see what happens.

                Thanks again,
                Bill

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Record Navigator has super duper long links

                  Now, how do I get my grubby hands on v10? I've looked on the order page, and still v9 is it... is everyone here only beta-testing it?

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Record Navigator has super duper long links

                    v10 has not been released yet. There are links available to request to be a Beta tester but that is it.
                    Mike
                    __________________________________________
                    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
                    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
                    Henry David Thoreau
                    __________________________________________



                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Record Navigator has super duper long links

                      Hi Bill
                      I found the same super long links under the same conditions that you reported some time ago. But in my case it was crashing the component. After a submit, pressing the next in the navigator brings up an Alpha error page.

                      500 Internal Server Error
                      "Script Error
                      Error:Script: /npap/feecand.a5w line:32
                      x_feecand = a5w_run_Component(tmpl_feecand) 'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE
                      Property not found
                      tmpl.request.variables.v subelement not found."

                      Using the navigator works ok except after a submit. I did find a fix (or work around if you like). In the component update settings, for the target page I replaced <self> with the actual name of the page. That fixed the long links and the crash. I can now use the submit and follow that with using the next on the navigator. The only downside is after a submit it always returns to the first page of the grid. So if a user is working on page two and submits they return to page one not page two.

                      Like always thanks to everyone on this forum.
                      Irwin

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X