Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Lookup values from a comma seperated field

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Lookup values from a comma seperated field

    Hi,

    In one of my tables i have a memo field that contains items selected from a checkbox list. When a user selects more than one item from the checkbox list, the field is populated with the ID_No(s) seperated by a comma.

    When i run reports, i need the report to show the character value(s) i.e. the related name(s) of the entries instead of the ID_No(s).

    So instead if the report showing;

    001,003,008,101,201

    I need it to show

    Tea,Coffee,Milk,Bread,Butter

    Is this possible, and if so, does anyone have any suggestions on how i would go about achieving this?.

    Thanks in advance.

    Denis

  • #2
    Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

    Hi Denis,

    If the ID is always 3 characters, then it is easy to use something like extract_string() to separate the string in to separate id's.

    Or you could use something like comma_to_crlf().

    Hope this gets you in the right direction.

    Gary
    Gary S. Traub, Ph.D.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

      Gary,

      Thank you for your suggestions.

      The ID is always 3 characters.

      I am not an expert on coding, do you have an example you could share with me.

      Thanks,

      Denis

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

        Denis,

        There may well be a function to accomplish what you want in a report but I am not aware of one.

        If I had to do this, I would probably use xbasic to preprocess the table BEFORE the report. If noone knows of a simpler way, and you need some help in the steps to preprocess, let me know. For example, you could add another field to your table - then use xbasic to fill that field with the names associated with the id's from the other field - then use the new field in the report.

        Gary
        Last edited by drgarytraub; 08-12-2009, 08:07 AM.
        Gary S. Traub, Ph.D.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

          Gary,

          This sounds like a plan.

          For example, you could add another field to your table - then use xbasic to fill that field with the names associated with the id's from the other field - then use the new field in the report.

          I would appreciate any coding help you can offer.

          Kind regards,

          Denis

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

            Given a table to do the lookup to (tolook).

            Code:
            Strlist = "001,003,008,101,201"
            
            ? strtran(*for_each(foo,lookup("[COLOR="red"]tolook[/COLOR]","id = "+quote(foo),"alltrim(name)"),strtran(strlist,",",crlf())),crlf(),",")
            = "Tea,Coffee,Milk,Bread,Butter,"
            
            Strlist = "201,101,008"
            
            ? strtran(*for_each(foo,lookup("tolook","id = "+quote(foo),"alltrim(name)"),strtran(strlist,",",crlf())),crlf(),",")
            = "Butter,Bread,Milk,"
            Would need a minor tweak to trim the trailing comma.

            Code:
            ? left(strtran(*for_each(foo,lookup("tolook","id = "+quote(foo),"alltrim(name)"),strtran(strlist,",",crlf())),crlf(),","),-1)
            = "Butter,Bread,Milk"
            Last edited by Stan Mathews; 08-12-2009, 08:42 AM.
            There can be only one.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

              And you could make that a function.

              Code:
              FUNCTION com_strg_lookup AS C (tablename AS C, fieldname AS C, strname AS C )
              	com_strg_lookup = left(strtran(*for_each(foo,lookup(tablename,"id = "+quote(foo),"alltrim("+fieldname+")"),strtran(strname,",",crlf())),crlf(),","),-1)
              END FUNCTION
              Code:
              ? strlist
              = "201,101,008"
              
              ? com_strg_lookup("tolook","name",strlist)
              = "Butter,Bread,Milk"
              Anyone using V6 or later can use.

              Code:
              FUNCTION comma_strg_lookup AS C (tablename AS C, fieldname AS C, strname AS C )
              	comma_strg_lookup = crlf_to_comma(*for_each(foo,lookup(tablename,"id = "+quote(foo),"alltrim("+fieldname+")"),comma_to_crlf(strname)))
              END FUNCTION
              Last edited by Stan Mathews; 08-12-2009, 09:27 AM.
              There can be only one.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

                Great stuff Stan!

                Gary
                Gary S. Traub, Ph.D.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

                  Just the power available to us in Alpha. The trivial case is a single lookup() "101" retruning Tea. Wrap that in something that processes the items in a list and voila.

                  (Thanks for the kind words.)
                  There can be only one.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

                    Hi Stan,

                    Thank you, I will give this try the next time i am in the office.

                    Thank you both for your invaluable input in this thread and of course this forum.

                    I will keep you posted on how i get on with it.

                    Denis

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

                      Hi,

                      I managed to get a PC to try this out.

                      I have attempted to create a calculated field (Memo) in my table so i can perform the lookup. Unfortunately, the calculated option is greyed out.

                      Can you tell me where i should place the code?

                      Code:
                      left(strtran(*for_each(foo,lookup("tolook","id = "+quote(foo),"alltrim(name)"),strtran(strlist,",",crlf())),crlf(),","),-1)
                      Thanks,

                      Denis

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

                        When i run reports, i need the report to show the character value(s) i.e. the related name(s) of the entries instead of the ID_No(s).
                        Define the calculated field for the report.

                        "Feed" it the list generated when

                        When a user selects more than one item from the checkbox list, the field is populated with the ID_No(s) seperated by a comma.
                        or the text of the field.
                        There can be only one.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

                          Stan,

                          Thank you for your prompt reply.

                          Is it possible to perform this directly within a table? The reason being, my users will want to search for items by their name within a grid. I am not sure how i would search 001 when i need to really search for Tea, especially if 001 is amongst other id's e.g. 010,098,001,293 and so on.

                          Denis

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

                            I think this is what you want. Enter some values in the ids_field and move to the next record (or just save the current record). The names_fld will be filled with the corresponding values.

                            The process is carried out by a field rule record event.
                            There can be only one.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Lookup values from a comma seperated field

                              Stan,

                              Perfect. Thank you for your assistance with this one.

                              Denis

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X