Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Barcode Printing

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Barcode Printing

    I originally posted this in the v7 forum, but as i am now using v8, here it is.

    Originally posted by Lenny Forziati View Post
    A PDF would be generated on the server and use the server's fonts. You can therefore generate your PDF containing the barcode as long as the server has the correct barcode font. This will work whether or not the client (browser) has the correct barcode font.

    The other approach is to in fact convert your barcode to an image as you mentioned. This would be the solution if you want to display the barcode outside of a report. But as it sounds like you've realized, this technique is more involved.
    I have published my files to the webserver, which does have the barcode font installed. But when using a different machine without the barcode font installed, the barcode returns to a basic font.

    Lenny, are there specific steps i need to take to get this to work?

    Denis

  • #2
    Re: Barcode Printing

    Don't know if you resolved this, but I ran into the same thing today. I don't see a way to solve this in xbasic, which is what I need, but here is a way to solve it in the printer dialog.

    When the print preview displays, click the toolbar button to print as a pdf. Click the link to set pdf options, and there check the box to embed fonts. That will get the barcode font into the document. In my case the pdf file size increased from 18K to 38K - not too bad.

    The setting can be set as a default.

    I still need to do all this from report.saveas(). I don't see a way to do that yet.

    There was another thread that mentioned report.archive(), but that did not embed the fonts.

    Bill.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Barcode Printing

      Did Alpha ever answer this?
      Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
      Albert Einstein, (attributed)
      US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Barcode Printing

        had another look at the problem - wait for it you set the printer to A5 Default while in the report writer. HELP FILE WOULD HAVE BEEN HANDY.
        Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
        Albert Einstein, (attributed)
        US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Barcode Printing

          Hi Pete,

          No Alpha never did resolve this.

          Have you resolved the problem?

          Denis

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Barcode Printing

            Almost - I'm on to something. Works if on the Intranet not from home - will keep at it.
            Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
            Albert Einstein, (attributed)
            US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Barcode Printing

              This is really strange, if the server is doing the work, then why won't it work from off-site, then if I install the font in Windows, still won't show, then opent Alpha 5, set the remote pc to Alpha 5 Default Printer, go back to the Web, run the app - and the barcode appears in the PDF - it looks like the PDF generator is looking locally.
              Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
              Albert Einstein, (attributed)
              US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Barcode Printing

                Denis, this will put a smile on your face, Selwyn helped me.
                You should be embedding the font when you create the PDF.

                here is code that shows how to set the option to embed fonts into the PDF file.


                Code:
                delete PrintOptions
                DIM PrintOptions as P
                With PrintOptions
                         .Concatenate = .f.
                         .HasWatermark = .t.
                         .MultilingualSupport = .f.
                         .EmbedFonts = .t.
                         .LinearizeForWeb = .f.
                         .Colors2GrayScale = .f.
                         .ConvertHyperlinks = .f.
                         .WatermarkType = "Text"
                         .WatermarkText = "i G r o u p"
                         .WatermarkFontName = "Times New Roman"
                         .WatermarkFontSize = 200
                         .WatermarkRotation = 450
                         .WatermarkColorHex = "E8FED2"
                         .WatermarkHorizPos = 120
                         .WatermarkVertPos = +40
                         .WatermarkOnTop = .f.
                         .WatermarkPDF = ""
                        .Encrypt = .f.
                         .OwnerPassword = ""
                         .UserPassword = ""
                        .CanPrint = .t.
                         .CanModifyDocument = .t.
                        .CanCopy = .t.
                         .CanAddNotes = .t.
                         .Use128BitKey = .f.
                         .JpegQuality = "Low"
                
                End with
                'query.filter = ""
                'query.order = ""
                
                
                
                
                Dim filename as c 
                filename = session.session_folder + "tempreport.pdf"
                filename = report.saveas("JobBagBasicA4-4@[PathAlias.ADB_Path]\jobregister.ddd","pdf",filter,order,filename,.f.,PrintOptions)
                if file.exists(filename) 
                	currentform.RedirectTarget = session.session_url + "tempreport.pdf?" +  time("hms3")
                end if 	
                skipreport:
                Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Barcode Printing

                  Pete,

                  Thats looks fantastic. I will try this out this weekend.

                  Denis

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Barcode Printing

                    Pete,

                    I couldn't wait, i i just tried it out.

                    I have two test PC's.

                    PC1 - Has the barcode font installed. Logged on the the web app and it worked fine.

                    PC2 - Does not have the barcode font installed. Accessed the web app and i got an error message...

                    CANNOT EXTRACT THE EMBEDDED FONT 'WTZGWC - IDAutomationHC39M'. SOME CHARACTERS MAY NOT DISPLAY OR PRINT CORRECTLY.

                    The Watermark appeard on the report, but the barcode displayed as dots on the screen.

                    Do you have to have the font installed locally for it to work on the web?

                    Denis

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Barcode Printing

                      I think thats a copyright issue, use a different font supplier - or alternate barcode. it will work.
                      Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                      Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                      US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Barcode Printing

                        THERE ARE A FEW TRAPS.

                        I got my barcode (Free) from http://www.squaregear.net/fonts/ it works fine.

                        Don't just add * for code39 use:
                        Code:
                        barcode = chr(42)+ALLTRIM(job_number)+chr(42)
                        then check the field properties under under format in the report writer. Ensure it is long enough to display the barcode, it defaults to a smaller number change it to say 14 characters.

                        Good luck

                        Peter
                        Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                        Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                        US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Barcode Printing

                          Hi Pete,

                          Where do i put

                          barcode = chr(42)+ALLTRIM(job_number)+chr(42)

                          Thanks

                          Denis

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Barcode Printing

                            Make a calculated field (called barcode) on the report, and place it where you want the barcode to appear. Remember to check the length properties.
                            Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                            Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                            US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Barcode Printing

                              OK. Thanks Pete. I will give that a try.

                              Denis

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X