Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Lost Components

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Lost Components

    Hi Guys,

    I know this might sound really dumb, but I wondered if anyone has experienced the same problem.

    Occasionally some of my created components seem to disappear, 'don't laugh' this is really serious. At first I thought there may have been a problem with my machine so I started storing my database on another network drive, but low and behold the same thing happens there.

    When I publish to the server it does not seem to notice that these components are missing and everything seems to work OK, but it is a problem when wanting to alter or modify the component, alpha5 cant find it. This has caused me so much extra work in the development of our system and I am beginning to wonder if I am going raving MAD........

    Please help...... am I the only one who has experienced this problem, please share your thoughts......


    Thanks in advance

    Gary :confused:

  • #2
    Gary,

    It happened to me twice: logindialog and navsys were gone !!!

    Luckily I had made backups. I did not post it because I did not understand why they dissappeared, but now you come up with this thread I feel I have to step in also.

    You do not notice this because when publishing the components are only overwritten in the publish directory. If there is no entry in the source directory the old entry will stay in the publish dir. But when you want to change the source component you find out it's gone....

    On my development system I close any open internet line when starting the Alpha5 WAS server for development. Since I do that it has not happened anymore...Really mind breaking this one...

    Regards, Ron
    Last edited by rleunis; 02-02-2006, 12:10 PM.

    Comment


    • #3
      Hi Ron

      Glad im not the only one with this problem thought I was losing the plot.

      Comment


      • #4
        am I the only one who has experienced this problem, please share your thoughts......
        It happened to me once. There is definitely an issue here.
        Peter
        AlphaBase Solutions, LLC

        Peter@AlphaBaseSolutions.com
        https://www.alphabasesolutions.com


        Comment


        • #5
          Disappearing Components

          I have also been experiencing this 'disappearing components' quite a few times. I wonder whether this has been fixed by Alpha Five.

          I have to create the components afresh every time the component is missing. But the a5w page display correctly. I have published them only to my localhost. I wonder what will happen when it is published to the server in Alpha Five hosting facility.

          I am anxious to know any development in this regard.
          sigpic

          Comment


          • #6
            I've been beating wildly on several WAS applications daily for over 12 months and have never had this happen. But I'm watching to see what comes of this conversation.
            Steve Wood
            Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
            There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
            Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
            AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

            Comment


            • #7
              Like Steve, I have been working on several applications for over a year and this never happened. Are you saying that the physical component files vanish from your hard drives?

              I had a situation where the folder selction on the web control panel was set incorrectly and ALPHA did not see the files since they were in another directory. However, the files did exist on the drive.

              Steve

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by Steve Bovino
                Are you saying that the physical component files vanish from your hard drives?
                The files physically disappeared off the drive. Without a doubt.
                Peter
                AlphaBase Solutions, LLC

                Peter@AlphaBaseSolutions.com
                https://www.alphabasesolutions.com


                Comment


                • #9
                  Lost Components

                  Originally posted by rleunis
                  Gary,

                  It happened to me twice: logindialog and navsys were gone !!!

                  Luckily I had made backups. I did not post it because I did not understand why they dissappeared, but now you come up with this thread I feel I have to step in also.

                  You do not notice this because when publishing the components are only overwritten in the publish directory. If there is no entry in the source directory the old entry will stay in the publish dir. But when you want to change the source component you find out it's gone....

                  On my development system I close any open internet line when starting the Alpha5 WAS server for development. Since I do that it has not happened anymore...Really mind breaking this one...

                  Regards, Ron
                  It has happened again this morning. I have lost the menu component I had developed. I am now re-creating the menu and hope it stays.

                  I do not understand what you mean by saying you close all internet line. Do you meen to say that you are not connected to internet when you run WAS? I will not be able to do this because when I am working on Alpha Gfive, I have stop for some time and check email or access some web pages. This is apart of the job.

                  Alpha Five should advice immediately what should be done keep the components (without losing them)
                  sigpic

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    I also have not noticed this problem but God knows if it exists I will run into it head first. I will keep a careful eye on my componets. I have one project with 32 componets and have been developing it weekly for the past 5 months. So far they seem to still be there, although since the latest patch many no longer work correctly.

                    CHuck

                    Originally posted by gboot1tc
                    Hi Guys,

                    I know this might sound really dumb, but I wondered if anyone has experienced the same problem.

                    Occasionally some of my created components seem to disappear, 'don't laugh' this is really serious. At first I thought there may have been a problem with my machine so I started storing my database on another network drive, but low and behold the same thing happens there.

                    When I publish to the server it does not seem to notice that these components are missing and everything seems to work OK, but it is a problem when wanting to alter or modify the component, alpha5 cant find it. This has caused me so much extra work in the development of our system and I am beginning to wonder if I am going raving MAD........

                    Please help...... am I the only one who has experienced this problem, please share your thoughts......


                    Thanks in advance

                    Gary :confused:

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Guess what.... it just happened to me!!!!! Must be the power of suggestion. By any chance do any of you copy your database directory and web directory back and forth from a working server to a development system. I am thinking that may have something to do with it because on my server the componet exists in the <default>.WebProjects folder. But on my development system one componet in this same directory is missing. I have been actively draging directories back and forth all day today trouble shooting another probelm and suddenly this occurs.

                      By the way I let the copy overwrite all existing files. Wonder if it drops one or two in the process sometimes. Could be a bug in the copy function of windows?

                      Chuck




                      Originally posted by Hansolo
                      I also have not noticed this problem but God knows if it exists I will run into it head first. I will keep a careful eye on my componets. I have one project with 32 componets and have been developing it weekly for the past 5 months. So far they seem to still be there, although since the latest patch many no longer work correctly.

                      CHuck
                      Last edited by Hansolo; 02-07-2006, 08:16 PM.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by Hansolo
                        Guess what.... it just happened to me!!!!! Must be the power of suggestion. By any chance do any of you copy your database directory and web directory back and forth from a working server to a development system. I am thinking that may have something to do with it because on my server the componet exists in the <default>.WebProjects folder. But on my development system one componet in this same directory is missing. I have been actively draging directories back and forth all day today trouble shooting another probelm and suddenly this occurs.

                        By the way I let the copy overwrite all existing files. Wonder if it drops one or two in the process sometimes. Could be a bug in the copy function of windows?

                        Chuck
                        My files have always been kept in the same directory and still losing components......so i dont thinl it is anything to do with the copying files....

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Its happening here as well

                          I've just had 2 components vanish - the files are no longer in the directory, but the component is still on the .a5w page

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Lost Components

                            I am happy to note that many users are experiencing the same problem. Alpha Five have to come out with some solution. But for some reason they are not responding.

                            I may explain what I have been doing since I lost components a few times. Every time, I create a copy in the same project file. When one is lost I just make another copy (of the copy) and rename to the original one. I still keep the copy for future use. This is absurd. This should not be done. But nobody is suggesting an alternative.
                            sigpic

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Never happend to me BUT!

                              I did think it happened only to find I was in the wrong web projects in the drop down dialog on the Web Projects Control Panel. (The main culprit was the mouse wheel).

                              Anyhow rather than panic it's the same old process, restore from backup or download from your server the missing file (if you are not using the backup utility every night you should be).

                              Remember - these are computers (and windows is involved), and if you think back a few years you would could almost bet that when you come back from getting a coffee something was stuffed or missing - mostly on Friday afternoons (it's part of the game) if I remember. But it's still better than working in DOS.
                              Peter
                              Last edited by peteconway; 02-15-2006, 07:55 PM.
                              Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                              Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                              US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X