Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Report Memo Fields

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Report Memo Fields

    I want to concatenate various memo field contents into one filed & print it in a report.
    I created the following code that fires on SectionEvents / Detail / OnRecord

    VAR->TempReport = ""
    TextToInsert = ""
    StuffToWrite = ""
    TextToInsert = Interphair2008->Toxintro

    if VAL(Hair6_Sc->Hg)>Interphair2008->Hghilm
    StuffToWrite = Stufftowrite + Interphair2008->Hghimemo
    'file.write(StuffToWrite)
    end if

    if VAL(Hair6_Sc->Pb)>Interphair2008->Pbhilm
    StuffToWrite = StuffToWrite + Interphair2008->Pbhimemo
    'file.write(StuffToWrite)
    end if

    if VAL(Hair6_Sc->Cd)>Interphair2008->Cdhilm
    StuffToWrite = StuffToWrite + Interphair2008->Cdhimemo
    'file.write(StuffToWrite)
    end if

    if VAL(Hair6_Sc->As)>Interphair2008->Ashilm
    StuffToWrite = StuffToWrite + Interphair2008->Ashimemo
    'file.write(StuffToWrite)
    end if

    if VAL(Hair6_Sc->Sb)>Interphair2008->Sbhilm
    StuffToWrite = StuffToWrite + Interphair2008->Sbhimemo
    'file.write(StuffToWrite)
    end if

    Var->TempReport = TextToInsert + StuffToWrite


    end

    I have placed the variable TempReport on the report layout.

    doesn't get populated.

    what am i doing wrong??

  • #2
    Re: Report Memo Fields

    Hi David,

    I don't know what you are doing wrong, have you checked the value of the variable in the Interactive Window?

    I'm not sure about your "Var->TempReport = TextToInsert + StuffToWrite".

    Here is what I would do, first, on the report I would create calculated fields for each of the values you want with the IF(), second I would put all those calc fields into an RTF object.

    Job done.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Report Memo Fields

      David, your script mentions more than one table. Tell us about the set including the relationship between the two mentioned tables.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Report Memo Fields

        Thanks Keith & Tom..
        Keith;
        I started out doing what you suggested but ran into 2 difficulties
        1) there are a LOT of if Else statements that would have to go into the RTF field (~300)... i ran out of room in the report detail section
        2) the text that would be placed between the if endif statements is a memo field & when i placed it in the RTF field it wold not print... if i entered explicit text in quotes it worked fine... but the memo field changes depending on a value in the report.

        So... i decided to get the job done with xbasic... the code i sent above is just a small section of the 800 or so lines of code that i use to perform the interpretation prior to printing.

        The set structure is:

        Sampleinfo
        -->Hair6_Sc (1:1) key SID2-SID2
        -->Project (1:1) Key pnum-projnum
        -->Client (1:1) key ccode - ccode
        -->Interpinfo (1:1) key samptype - type

        The interpinfo table has a record for each sample type. There are currently only 7 records. The table is mostly memo fields containing anywhere from 1 line or two to 50 lines of letter sized text. There are about 150 of these fields.

        I want my code to concatenate the appropriate set of 150 or so fields into the actual report.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Report Memo Fields

          it is looking like the code works but i may be initiallizing the variable incorrectly...

          i created a variable in the report detail section named TempReport i tried local shared and global

          i tried to place the concatenated text in this variable using xbasic... didnt show on report

          so i dim shared Tempreport in the xbasic code... and placed the concatenated text in the variable..

          still doesn't work.

          what is the best way to pass a variable from xbasic report code to a report variable?

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Report Memo Fields

            David, I can't answer your question but have a suggestion for you. Why not pre-process your data and store it in a table that is filled and emptied just for your report? That table would have a single memo field that is populated with the necessary memos from all the related records that meet your filtering criteria.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Report Memo Fields

              Thanks for the suggestion... didn't get to try it before i solved the problem...

              Some of the fields in the interpretation table were RTF fields. I thought i had changed them all to memo fields but i missed 5 of them!

              of course statements like Var->Text = Interp->RTFmemo don't work!!
              They fail with no error.

              When i changed the fields to memo (from RTF) everything worked fine!!!

              Thanks for your help... now and in the past you guys have been terrific!

              D

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Report Memo Fields

                And thanks to you for letting us know how things turned out. May help other travellers who wander down this path later on.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Report Memo Fields

                  And thanks to you for letting us know how things turned out. May help other travellers who wander down this path later on.

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X