Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Action on launch of solution based on information in a table

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Action on launch of solution based on information in a table

    Hello,

    Another question :

    I would like to include the following in my solution at starting up (may be triggered after the startup form has been launched)

    - check a certain table for conditions (expression)
    - if conditions are met, display a form (i already have the form)

    What would be the best way of implementing this?

    #2
    Re: Action on launch of solution based on information in a table

    Use the OnInit event of your startup form. In that event put code like the following...

    Code:
    dim tblTrans as P
    dim qry as P
    dim nrecs as N
    Dim tbl as P
    
    'Open the table and set a filter to query the records
    tbl = table.open("tblname")
    filter = "KeyId = " + :frmName:fieldname.value + " .AND. Reccnt = " + varreccnt
    nrecs = 0
    query.filter = filter
    qry = tbl.query_create()
    nrecs = qry.records_get()
    'Now you can test for records found or an expression.
    'based on your tests you can open a form
       frm = form.viewqueried("frmName",filterrecords,"","dialog","center", "center")				
       frm.close()

    Comment


      #3
      Re: Action on launch of solution based on information in a table

      How come I have an angry face??? Unintended...

      David

      Comment


        #4
        Re: Action on launch of solution based on information in a table

        It works, kinda, but there's still something strange going on. When i launch the form, and the conditions aren't met, the form still gets displayed. For some reason it also creates a new record in my table. The form should only be displayed when the conditions in the table are met :

        ItemId = 3 and Date < NOW()

        I'd also like to change something : Instead of displaying the form right away, i'd like a dialog to popup first with a notification :

        "There are items for viewing. Would you like to see them? <yes> <no> -> where yes opens the form i'd like to open and no just has the main form displayed.

        Here's the code i have so far :

        Code:
        'Date Created: 27-Apr-2010 09:06:57 AM
        'Last Updated: 27-Apr-2010 09:19:38 AM
        'Created By  : frderi
        'Updated By  : frderi
        dim tblTrans as P
        dim qry as P
        dim nrecs as N
        Dim tbl as P
        
        'Open the table and set a filter to query the records
        tbl = table.open("onderhoud_log")
        filter = "Itemid = 3 .AND. Date < NOW()"
        nrecs = 0
        query.filter = filter
        qry = tbl.query_create()
        nrecs = qry.records_get()
        'Now you can test for records found or an expression.
        'based on your tests you can open a form
           frm = form.viewqueried("Onderhoud_due","","","dialog","0", "0")				
           frm.close()

        Comment


          #5
          Re: Action on launch of solution based on information in a table

          From the above sample i changed :

          Code:
          frm = form.viewqueried("Onderhoud_due","","","dialog","0","0")
          frm.close()
          to

          Code:
          frm = form.viewqueried("Onderhoud_due",filter,"","dialog","0","0")
          frm.close()
          Which doesn't make a new record anymore and display the form when it shouldn't. Only, when there aren't any returns (and no form should be displayed) I get an error dialog displayed :

          Error : No Records in query <OK>

          Error Occured
          Error Occured for event OnInit :
          Script:OnInit line:20
          frm.close()
          frm.close(): Argument is incorrect data type
          <OK>

          How can I get rid of that error? It seems to me that i would need some kind of if statement wrapping around the display of the form.
          Last edited by frderi; 04-27-2010, 04:22 AM.

          Comment


            #6
            Re: Action on launch of solution based on information in a table

            Frederik,

            Have you learned about the "autoexec" script yet? Any global script with this name will be run on startup. This script could then determine which form should be opened on startup. (By "global script" I mean a script that's been saved to the Code page of the Alpha Five control panel. Check the help file topic "Global Scripts" for details.)

            Comment


              #7
              Re: Action on launch of solution based on information in a table

              After the

              nrecs = qry.records_get()

              put

              If nrecs <> 0 then
              ' so now you're testing for returned records from the query
              'open your form
              frm.close()
              end if


              Also, is your filter you say Date < Now()

              Is Date a variable that you're using? I'd probably use a more specific name and maybe compare it to Date()

              If ItemId = 3 .and. nameDate < Date() then

              Comment


                #8
                Re: Action on launch of solution based on information in a table

                hi David,

                what i want to do in this filter is to look if there are any records which have itemid 3 and have a datetime in the field "Date" which is older than the present moment.

                Kind Regards,

                Frederik

                Comment


                  #9
                  Re: Action on launch of solution based on information in a table

                  Understood...

                  I would still change the name of the field - it's too close to functions and not quite meaningfull enough.

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X