Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Kaspersky 2010 Internet Suite and Alpha Five

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Kaspersky 2010 Internet Suite and Alpha Five

    This is a thread for Kaspersky 2010 Internet Suite users. For some reason, there seems to be conflict with Alpha Five, and very often, you have to manually intervene to make A5 a Trusted Application. Here’s the latest issue I recently discovered. I don’t know if this applies to everyone who uses Kaspersky, but I’m posting it for your information.

    On my laptop, I’m one of those guys who needs to keep the previous version, so I have both Ver 9 and 10 installed. I made both versions Trusted Applications in Kaspersky. Here are the results:

    • Ver 9 runs perfectly
    • Ver 10 starts, but every time I open a database, any database, I am peppered with an annoying dialog box constantly popping up with the following message:

    “Cannot load library for language ‘Alpha5.XbasicScript.1’
    Path: ‘C:\Program Files\A5v9\XbasicActiveScripting.dll’

    Please contact Kaspersky Lab for the solution (error:0000007F)


    I’m guessing that error message comes from Alpha Five, but I would like to have someone from the company verify that.

    Solution
    Kaspersky tech support was stymied. I solved it myself by deleting version 9 and now Ver 10 works properly, at least so far. I guess I have to live without the older version on my laptop.

    Notes
    On my desktop, I also have both ver 9 and ver 10 installed but I’m using Norton Internet Security. So far there are no compatibility issues with Norton.

    Other than the conflicts with A5, I think Kaspersky is a first class suite.

  • #2
    Re: Kaspersky 2010 Internet Suite and Alpha Five

    Thanks Robert for the info.
    Other than the conflicts with A5, I think Kaspersky is a first class suite.
    Everyone says so that I know too....but I got rid of it due to incredible slowdowns whenever I tried to use Alpha (v8 and v9) even with settings to ignore Alpha altogether.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________



    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Kaspersky 2010 Internet Suite and Alpha Five

      Mike, slow performance was a common complaint but I think they made substantial improvements with the 2010 suite. As you know, they are constantly updating and improving the product, much like Alpha Software does with A5.

      Of course it's always a trade off between performance and protection. It would be nice to have both but that isn't the real world. From my perspective Mike, superior protection outweighs performance. And everything I've read indicates Kaspersky provides elite protection.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Kaspersky 2010 Internet Suite and Alpha Five

        Hi, I have both V9 and V10.5 RC4 on XP Pro Laptop with no problems. Had V9 and V10 till just recently also with no problems. Kaspersky 2010. I don't know if I read your post right. Think you are saying the problem is with V10 loading you get error message. The error message you posted under path references A5V9.

        “Cannot load library for language ‘Alpha5.XbasicScript.1’
        Path: ‘C:\Program Files\A5v9\XbasicActiveScripting.dll’

        Please contact Kaspersky Lab for the solution (error:0000007F)

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Kaspersky 2010 Internet Suite and Alpha Five

          With one exception Mendy, you got it right. Ver 10 loads properly but once I open any database, then the following happens:

          I am peppered with an annoying dialog box constantly popping up with the following message:

          “Cannot load library for language ‘Alpha5.XbasicScript.1’
          Path: ‘C:\Program Files\A5v9\XbasicActiveScripting.dll’

          Please contact Kaspersky Lab for the solution (error:0000007F)


          It's interesting to note that you don't have that problem. But you're using XP while I'm running Win 7, so maybe that impacts this issue?

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Kaspersky 2010 Internet Suite and Alpha Five

            Robert, I'm running Windows 7 Professional with Kaspersky 2010, and both A5V9 and A5V10 run perfectly.

            This issue with Kaspersky has come up previously. It was suggested, if making A5 a trusted app didn't work, click settings - fileantivirus. If "scan files by format" was checked, change to "by extension". If "scan all files" was checked, change to "scan files by format". FWIW --

            Gary Ogle

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Kaspersky 2010 Internet Suite and Alpha Five

              Deano thanks for the suggestion. However, I already tried those options and it didn't resolve the problem.

              Since ver 10 is now working correctly, I'm thinking about reinstalling Ver 9 and seeing if Ver 10 will continue to work if 9 is installed after 10. It probably doesn't mean anything, but who knows, I've seen stranger things happen.

              Anyway, I'm very glad to hear you're using Windows 7 and not having any problems. That tells me there may be something else going on with my system, Kaspersky, and Alpha Five.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Kaspersky 2010 Internet Suite and Alpha Five

                Hey Deano and others, I never ceased to be amazed by computer applications. I reinstalled Ver 9 this morning and after one hour of experimenting, the aforementioned problem with Kaspersky is no longer an issue.

                I don't know why installing Ver 9 AFTER Ver 10 eliminated the problem. And I don't know if it will pop up again in the future.

                It's also possible that the latest Kaspersky update this morning resolved the issue.

                Who knows? But I wanted to keep everyone who uses Kaspersky up to date.

                Comment

                Working...
                X