Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

How do you create an index using xbasic

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    How do you create an index using xbasic

    I create a new table using an intersect operation.

    When the operation is finished it erases the indexes (even though i deselected "delete dictionary files".

    Ok...

    How do i recreate the two indexes using xbasic???

    The two indexes are:
    ordernum no filter, ascending, all
    ordnumunique no filter, ascending, unique

    I have tried using the code in the help file but i get errors.

    Is there an easy way to do this??

    Thanks

    #2
    Re: How do you create an index using xbasic

    David,
    Help file directed me to this page when I did an index search for "index".
    http://support.alphasoftware.com/alp...NDEX_ADD().htm

    You did not state what you had tried and this is where I would start.

    You also did not state what the error was so cannot even guess on an answer for that issue.

    EDIT: Did you verify by looking at the xbasic created for the operation that indeed the logical for dictionary deletion was set to False? could be a bug if not set correctly or if set correctly and not doing as it should.....
    Last edited by MikeC; 07-27-2010, 03:04 PM. Reason: added additional question.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________



    Comment


      #3
      Re: How do you create an index using xbasic

      Hope this helps.
      Code:
      tbl = table.current()  ' could also be table.open()
      table.index_create_begin("CA customers", "LAST_NAME", "State_prov = 'CA'", "U") 
      index2 = tbl.index_create_end(a_DB_current_PATH + "temp.cdx")


      .
      Dave Mason
      [email protected]
      Skype is dave.mason46

      Comment


        #4
        Re: How do you create an index using xbasic

        Tried LOTS of xbasic from the help screens

        Latest is


        'Build ordernum and ordnumunique indexes on orderpayordersintersectar table

        dim tbl As P

        tbl = table.open("orderpayordersintersectar")
        table.index_create_begin("ORDERNUM", "ORDERNUM")
        tbl.index_add("ORDERNUM", "ORDERNUM")
        index1 = tbl.index_create_end()


        table.index_create_begin("ORDNUMUNIQUE", "ORDERNUM")
        tbl.index_add("ORDNUMUNIQUE", "ORDERNUM",.t.,"U")
        index1 = tbl.index_create_end()

        tbl.close()


        FAILS!!

        msgbox says something about incorrect syntax

        any ideas?
        Last edited by David Boomer; 07-27-2010, 07:52 PM. Reason: spelling

        Comment


          #5
          Re: How do you create an index using xbasic

          I would say
          table.index_create_begin("ORDERNUM", "ORDERNUM")

          should be

          tbl.index_create_begin("ORDERNUM", "ORDERNUM")
          Tim Kiebert
          Eagle Creek Citrus
          A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

          Comment


            #6
            Re: How do you create an index using xbasic

            Code:
            dim tbl As P
            
            tbl = table.open("orderpayordersintersectar")
            tbl.index_create_begin("ORDERNUM", "ORDERNUM")
            tbl.index_add("ORDNUMUNIQUE", "ORDERNUM","","U")
            index1 = tbl.index_create_end()
            
            tbl.close()
            Tim Kiebert
            Eagle Creek Citrus
            A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

            Comment


              #7
              Re: How do you create an index using xbasic

              Thanks!!!

              The following code worked!!!



              'Date Created: 27-Jul-2010 07:48:50 PM
              'Last Updated: 27-Jul-2010 07:48:50 PM
              'Created By : David
              'Updated By : David
              'Build ordernum and ordnumunique indexes on orderpayordersintersectar table

              dim tbl As P

              tbl = table.open("orderpayordersintersectar")
              table.index_create_begin("ORDERNUM", "ORDERNUM",".t.","D")
              tbl.index_add("ORDNUMUNIQUE", "ORDERNUM",".t.","U")
              'index1 = tbl.index_create_end()


              'table.index_create_begin("ORDNUMUNIQUE", "ORDERNUM",".t.","U")
              'tbl.index_add("ORDNUMUNIQUE", "ORDERNUM")
              index1 = tbl.index_create_end()

              tbl.close()

              I LOVE this forum!

              Comment


                #8
                Re: How do you create an index using xbasic

                At first I thought maybe you pasted in the wrong code?

                After the table open line you still have a 'table' instead of 'tbl'. I thought that should not work because your pointer is actually 'tbl'.

                So I checked the help and found a mixture. In <tbl>.index_create_begin() 'tbl' is used throughout. In <tbl>.index_create_end() a mixture of 'tbl' and 'table'. In the help for <tbl>.index_add() there is also a mixture including index_add() with no pointer at all.

                But after testing, it seems that with those three index functions and maybe others you can use 'table' and the function uses the most recently opened table. I even was able to create the index file by only using 'table' on the index_create_end() function and nothing on create_begin and add. Although this seems to work I would get in the habit of using the pointer of the table that you are actually dealing with. In this case, 'tbl'. Say for some reason you want to create an index to a table that was opened earlier in your code and after that point in the code you open another table then the second and wrong table will be used. Also, if you open and close the second table then 'table' will not pick up the first table and actually throws an error.
                Tim Kiebert
                Eagle Creek Citrus
                A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

                Comment


                  #9
                  Re: How do you create an index using xbasic

                  Thanks Tim

                  That was one of the things that was confusing. Things just weren't working and still didn't when i used the pointer reference.

                  At this point i am sure that the pointer ref is the best approach and that when i was first developing the index create script the code didnt work for other reasons.

                  Everything works now!

                  Thanks

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X