Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Selecting specific record number and field in a table

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Selecting specific record number and field in a table

    This is an added complication from my post about selecting a specific cell in an Excel sheet. It works but there could be an easier way.

    The data is imported from a CSV provided by HMRC.
    There are 14 records for each CSV document
    There are 10 fields per record - many are blank

    To display a report correctly I need to select the fields in an order which is different to the one imported.

    So, (Record3, Field2) and (Record5, Field9) is what I'm after as an example. In all, around 25 fields need to be picked up from different record number and fields within that recno.
    I tried using a Calculated Field on the report to snag the data I am after, but I am not being too successful.

    Can someone point me in the right direction please?
    See our Hybrid Option here;
    https://hybridapps.example-software.com/


    There are 3 things you can do in any situation;
    Live with it, Change it or Walk away from it.

  • #2
    Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

    Hi there Ted
    I would first try approach this problem using these two aspects.
    1. Collect the whole range of data using this function from Tom Henkel helped by Stan, http://www.alphasoftware.com/alphafo...-Not-1st-Sheet
    2. String Dictionary which is really quick even across large samples (1000's), to associate the cells you want in the specified order.

    If you wish, I can put in some work together with you to run this through if nothing else better comes up here.

    Added
    You may already have phase one available. The second aspect is very suitable to the ordering (and assessing if a valid entry exists)
    you can then just use the SD in the reports.
    Last edited by Ray in Capetown; 05-10-2015, 07:30 AM.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

      Thanks Ray.
      I have the data as a csv import to a table.
      I can select and set variables to the values anywhere in the spread sheet - there is only one.
      So its working.
      What I am after is the logic to select a field within a record number.
      Think of it as an array.
      Record 1 is the A axis, 2 is the B axis etc
      Each axis has 10 elements.
      I want to select A5, B9 say.
      Maybe loading the table into an array is the answer, but I'm not sure how to go about that.
      Then possibly I can pick Array A5 etc.
      See our Hybrid Option here;
      https://hybridapps.example-software.com/


      There are 3 things you can do in any situation;
      Live with it, Change it or Walk away from it.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

        <TBL>.FIELD_GET() accepts a field name or position number () and returns a pointer to the field. 1 to however many fields there are, left to right.

        <fld>.value_get() will return the contents of the field.

        "(Record3, Field2)"

        tbl = table.open("dataf")
        tbl.fetch_goto(3)
        fld = tbl.field_get(2)
        ? fld.value_get()
        = {04/23/2015}

        tbl.close()
        There can be only one.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

          Thanks Stan.
          Will this logic work in a calculated field?
          See our Hybrid Option here;
          https://hybridapps.example-software.com/


          There are 3 things you can do in any situation;
          Live with it, Change it or Walk away from it.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

            Originally posted by Ted Giles View Post
            Thanks Stan.
            Will this logic work in a calculated field?
            Make a Udf.
            Al Buchholz
            Bookwood Systems, LTD
            Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

            Occam's Razor - KISS
            Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
            Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
            When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
            "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
            Albert Einstein

            http://www.iadn.com/images/media/iadn_member.png

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

              Code:
              FUNCTION fld_contents AS A (tblname AS C, fldnum AS N, rec AS N )
              	tbl = table.open(tblname)
              	tbl.fetch_goto(rec)
              	fld = tbl.field_get(fldnum)
              	fld_contents = fld.value_get()
              	tbl.close()
              END FUNCTION
              ? fld_contents("dataf",2,3)
              = {04/23/2015}
              There can be only one.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

                I was probably reading too much into the "added complication" that the data once obtained needs to comply with a prearranged but different selection and order for each into a report.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

                  Thank you Stan, that UDF works very well. The imported CSV content using record number and field position can be accessed using the function.
                  The only issue outstanding is this;
                  Date format in the CSV is yyyymmdd - all csv fields are character.
                  In Excel it transposes to is ddmmyyyy (which is what I need).
                  Although there is only one date, it is important for tax purposes and needs to be ddmmyyyy format.
                  So record 6, field 1 is stored as yyyymmddd so how would I go about changing that one?

                  The alternative would be to import the Excel file, and I can do that but it's an added process.
                  See our Hybrid Option here;
                  https://hybridapps.example-software.com/


                  There are 3 things you can do in any situation;
                  Live with it, Change it or Walk away from it.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

                    Stan's still sleeping Ted so how about identify the field as a date depending on other field content then
                    after the line
                    fld_contents = fld.value_get()
                    add 3 lines..

                    Code:
                    if [I]fld_contents is date string[/I] 'eg.  rec=6 .and. fldnum=1
                        fld_contents=substr(fld_contents,9,2)+substr(fld_contents,5,4)+left(fld_contents,4)
                    end if
                    Last edited by Ray in Capetown; 05-11-2015, 04:58 AM.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

                      I am indebted, Ray.
                      However, suddenly my problem has disappeared.
                      The CSV now shows dates in ddmmyyyy format so I'm back on track.
                      See our Hybrid Option here;
                      https://hybridapps.example-software.com/


                      There are 3 things you can do in any situation;
                      Live with it, Change it or Walk away from it.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

                        I strongly suspect, since you are using CSVs that result from Excel, that the CSVs you get may be prepared from different desktops that have not been uniformly setup for country. This results in Excel using different formats for both date and currency when writing to the CSV.
                        You may need further interrogation of the two fields, checking which format is used for the current CSV.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Selecting specific record number and field in a table

                          Other way around Ray.
                          HMRC create the csv. I create the Excel sheet.
                          See our Hybrid Option here;
                          https://hybridapps.example-software.com/


                          There are 3 things you can do in any situation;
                          Live with it, Change it or Walk away from it.

                          Comment

                          Working...
                          X