Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Getting the value from the previous record on a report

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Getting the value from the previous record on a report

    Working with a 1 to many set.

    I have to set a commission amount (per record) based on whether or not the previous record's field (SKU) has the first 6 letters "CLVZAP"

    apple.PNG

    I have a variable that gets set (T or F) at the same time.

    Every iteration I've tried using the PREVIOUS() function doesn't seem to work. I'm sure I'm missing something obvious.

    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

    Thanks,
    Chris

  • #2
    Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

    Hi Chris,
    Welcome to the board!

    Where exactly are you trying to get this previous value? In field rules, on a form, in a browse. with a button...?

    How are the tables in the set related? An example of your tables would be helpful. If you scroll down you will see some links to other posts with similar context. The first one looks like it might help.
    Last edited by MoGrace; 08-07-2015, 11:50 AM.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

      On a report.

      staff=>time (attendance, punches in and out per day)
      staff=>items (lineitems purchased by customers by invoice #)

      The value I'm trying to set (Commission) is based on whether or not the lineitem SKU above it starts with "CLVZAP"

      I tried using the previous function but that didn't work.

      The screenshot I posted above came out really small, not sure why
      Last edited by ctp0626; 08-07-2015, 12:26 PM.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

        So does the $25 come from a calculated field you have defined for the report? A sample of your report and the underlying tables would really be helpful. Can you upload a sample?
        Robin

        Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

          Many folks miss the fact that previous() takes the parameter Fieldname as C. This means the proper usage like

          PREVIOUS("SKU")
          There can be only one.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

            Data for the lineitems:
            Invoice SoldBy SoldOn Customer SKU Tracking Description Qty Price
            W114IN116, John Morales, 7/17/2015, CLVZAP000225, iphone 6, 1, 759.99
            W114IN116, John Morales, 7/17/2015, CLVZRB000417, new device, 1 0.00


            line 1 is the item we're looking for. if SKU starts with CLVZAP, then the commission will be 10.00 else it will be 25.00. The commission field is calculated (at run-time for the report)

            Not sure how to attach further samples
            Attached Files

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

              if(left(previous("sku"),6) = "CLVZAP",10,25)

              should work.
              There can be only one.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

                Add to Stan's example: Since this is a set, when you define the calc for the report, you will need to point to the child table field.

                if(left(previous("items->sku"),6) = "CLVZAP",10,25)
                Robin

                Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

                  I agree Stan, that should work. However, this table is a (many) child in a set... does that make a difference?

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

                    I did point to the child:

                    comm_edgesmart = if(left(PREVIOUS("Rq_Items->Product_Sku"),6)="CLVZAP",calc->Act_Edge*10+calc->Upg_Edge*10,calc->Act_Edge*25+calc->Upg_Edge*25)

                    I still get 25


                    ps... the Act_Edge and Upg_Edge calc fields are counters, also used in other calculations

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

                      The Field_Name must contain the name of a field either from the current table or from the primary table of a set.
                      You might investigate whether for the purposes of the report you can use an inverted set with the child table from which you want the previous value as the parent.
                      Last edited by Stan Mathews; 08-07-2015, 02:11 PM.
                      There can be only one.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

                        I'll copy the report TO the table itself and try again.

                        Thanks you two! I appreciate it!

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Getting the value from the previous record on a report

                          The help on the previous() function does mention that when used in a set the value returned is for the primary table...a reverse set ought to do it.
                          Robin

                          Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                          Comment

                          Working...
                          X