Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

    When I use ui_printers_get() I see different names on my computer (developer) than I do at the workstation's (runtime) Printers & Faxes. Which do I use?

    Alpha says my local printer is "Dymo Labels Only on Ne09:" when using the action script genie. While the workstation calls the same shared printer "Dymo Labels Only on Robin".

    The actual path to the shared printer should be \\ROBIN\DYMOLABELS.

    Since I can't use ui_printers_get() from the runtime machine how do I find out how to script report.printer_override() so I don't have to do all the label printing myself?
    Last edited by MoGrace; 04-07-2016, 09:26 AM. Reason: fixed typo in printer name
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  • #2
    Re: Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

    Since I can't use ui_printers_get() from the runtime machine
    Try putting a button on a form in the database using ui_printers_get(). Then you can use that button from the runtime machines.
    There can be only one.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

      It was easier than I first thought I just needed to add the server path to the printer name.
      CPU_ID is a global variable I set in the autoexec that gets the machine name using api_getmachinename() - I suppose a more generic way to test that value should be included too.

      I tweaked the genie script and made a function:

      Code:
      Index of Functions
      ----------------
         1:  PrintRep_RT
           
           
           
      Function Name (   1):  PrintRep_RT
      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      'Date Created: 06-Apr-2016 06:13:38 PM
      'Last Updated: 06-Apr-2016 06:31:45 PM
      'Created By  : Robin Q
      'Updated By  : Robin Q
      FUNCTION PrintRep_RT AS C (layoutname AS C, RT_PrinterName as C ,Rep_Printername as C)
      ''DESCRIPTION: Override the report printer in Runtime
      ''layoutname = 
      ''RT_printername = "\\ROBIN\DYMO Labels Only on Ne09:"
      ''Rep_PrinterName = "DYMO Labels Only on Ne09:"
      
      'This script will override certain of the printer properties that are specified in the saved layout.
      delete options
      dim options as p
      
      'before you can initialize 'options' using the property_from_string() function at least one dot variable must exist. therefore, create a dummy variable.
      options.dummy = 1
      options_text = <<%str%
      <copies=1>
      
      %str%
      'create a dot variable from options_text. the dot variable contains the printer properties to be overriden
      property_from_string(options,options_text)
      
      'now you can delete the dummy variable
      delete options.dummy
      
      'oldOptions will store the current printer options, so that we can restore them.
      delete oldOptions
      dim oldOptions as p
      oldOptions.dummy = 1 
      
      ''set the printer override settings.
      'old_Printername = report.Printer_override("DYMO Labels Only on Ne09:",options,oldOptions)
      ''delete the dummy variable
      'delete oldOptions.dummy
      
      dim global cpu_id as c
      if cpu_id <> "ROBIN" then 	
      	report.printer_override(RT_PrinterName,oldOptions)
      end if	
      	
      :Report.Print(layoutname)
      
      'Now restore the original printer settings 
      report.printer_override(Rep_Printername,oldOptions)
      query.filter = ""
      query.order = ""
      
      
      END FUNCTION  
      End Function (   1)---------------------------------------------------------------
      Attached Files
      Last edited by MoGrace; 04-07-2016, 09:44 AM.
      Robin

      Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

        Ok that works great but now I find I have every other report that is set to use the 'default' printer, printing on the label printer when I'm at my desktop. What must I do to fix that?
        Robin

        Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

          Robin,

          Before you do the printer override, you need to save off the old Default printer name and when done, restore it.

          We print ID cards on a zebra card printer, but we don't want to print everything on that printer. see code example below.
          Don't go crazy worrying about my variables. Just note the code in ReD

          Code:
          'now set printer override
          a5_previous_printer_name=ui_printer_default_get()
          delete options
          dim options as p
          Dim ans as C = "Zebra ZXP Series 3 USB Card Printer"
          options.dummy=1
          options_text=<<%str%
          <papersize="Letter 8 1/2 x 11 in">
          
          %str%
          property_from_string(options,options_text)
          delete options.dummy
          delete oldOptions
          dim oldOptions as p
          oldOptions.dummy = 1
          old_printer_name = report.Printer_override(a5_previous_printer_name,options,oldOptions)
          delete oldOptions.dummy
          :report.printer_override(ans)
          filter = "Emp_id = [varN->parameter1]"
          query.filter = replace_parameters(filter,local_variables())
          query.order = ""
          
          ui_msg_box(Agency+" Employee Badge","Please put a BLANK Employee card into the printer"+chr(13)+chr(13)+"With the BLACK Stripe DOWN, facing LEFT in the printer..")
          delete repname
          DIM repname as C = "ID CARD - FRONT@"+ppath+chr(92)+"employee.ddd"
          :Report.print(repname,query.filter,query.order)
          
          ui_msg_box(Agency+" Employee Badge","Please put the Employee card back into the printer"+chr(13)+chr(13)+"With the BLACK Stripe DOWN, facing RIGHT in the printer..")
          
          filter = "Emp_id = [varN->parameter1]"
          query.filter = replace_parameters(filter,local_variables())
          query.order = ""
          repname = "ID CARD - BACK@"+ppath+chr(92)+"employee.ddd"
          :Report.print(repname,query.filter,query.order)
          ' now go back to the OLD printer
          report.Printer_override(a5_previous_printer_name,options,oldOptions)
          delete options
          delete oldOptions
          delete ans
          delete badgeno
          delete repname
          end
          Hope this helps,

          Tom

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

            Thanks Tom I will try to adapt my script - I think I was missing a variable that was commented out...
            Robin

            Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

              Robin,

              I was looking at your code, and I didn't see you saving off whatever the default printer is, you seem to be saving off the Dymo label writer.

              yours:
              Code:
              'old_Printername = report.Printer_override("DYMO Labels Only on Ne09:",options,oldOptions)
              mine:
              Code:
              a5_previous_printer_name=ui_printer_default_get()
              If you save off whatever the computer's default printer is, I think you'll be OK.

              Tom

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

                I feel a duh moment coming upon me...
                Robin

                Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

                  Nothing all of don't have...

                  Once in a while, I can see the obvious.

                  ...but not very often

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Runtime Report.Printer_Override()

                    It seems that this is the simplest way to print a report to a networked printer from the Runtime.

                    If Query.filter and Query.order are set before the function is called then the named report should use them

                    Code:
                    FUNCTION PrintRep_RT AS C (layoutname AS C,Rep_Printername as C)
                    'DESCRIPTION: Override the default printer to use specified printer for report in Runtime
                    
                    dim Default_Printer as C 
                    Default_Printer = ui_printer_default_get()
                    
                    dim global cpu_id as c
                    if cpu_id <> "ROBIN" then 	
                    	report.printer_override(Rep_PrinterName)
                    end if	
                    	
                    :Report.Print(layoutname)
                    
                    'Now restore the original printer settings 
                    report.printer_override(Default_Printer)
                    
                    query.filter = ""
                    query.order = ""
                    
                    END FUNCTION
                    I suppose a version with options might be useful if needed, but if not, then omitting all that confusion seems better!
                    Robin

                    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X