Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Runtime Shadow timing issue?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Runtime Shadow timing issue?

    I am using a wallpaper form that opens in the Autoexec to fill the screen - works great when I run the app straight from the server using my developer version. However in the RT shadow there is a definite lag and you see the Home form trying to fill the screen in stages. I open the RT minimized, run a login and then open the Home form using a UDF (to avoid timing issues in the script?) and then maximize Alpha.

    Has anyone else a scenario like this that is working for them?
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  • #2
    Re: Runtime Shadow timing issue?

    Since version 7, but not because of some timing issue
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldadesktop.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Runtime Shadow timing issue?

      So have you got a work around?
      Robin

      Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Runtime Shadow timing issue?

        My automotive app has been using: start, minimize, login, maximize a long time-since v7
        I have clients that prefer to go directly to their work page, I do not seem to have a timing issue with any client apps.
        What do you mean by wallpaper? Maybe I misunderstood you? If you are loading a large image? That could take some time?
        Dave Mason
        dave@aldadesktop.com
        Skype is dave.mason46

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Runtime Shadow timing issue?

          My wallpaper is a form that loads with the app and stays open to keep the control panel hidden and so I can have a global toolbox menu always available. I use this setup in all my apps. Except in my payroll program, I open an additional 'popup' form on top which seems to be related to my timing issue in the runtime version.

          mydesktop.jpg
          Last edited by MoGrace; 04-23-2017, 11:08 AM.
          Robin

          Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Runtime Shadow timing issue?

            I am using v11 3788-4187 in both the developer and runtime. I tried omitting the popup form, but the Home form still loads choppy. Is it possible to hide the Alpha window until it finishes on startup?

            Edit: Wrapping my Autoexec commands with A5.Hide() and A5.Show() make no difference either. This is getting frustrating and I am out of ideas...
            Last edited by MoGrace; 04-25-2017, 09:09 PM.
            Robin

            Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Runtime Shadow timing issue?

              Originally posted by MoGrace View Post
              I am using v11 3788-4187 in both the developer and runtime. I tried omitting the popup form, but the Home form still loads choppy. Is it possible to hide the Alpha window until it finishes on startup?
              What does your autoexec look like?

              1. action scripting
              2. a single xbasic script
              3. an xbasic script that calls user defined functions for each step.

              I'd go with #3
              Al Buchholz
              Bookwood Systems, LTD
              Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

              Occam's Razor - KISS
              Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
              Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
              When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Runtime Shadow timing issue?

                Hi Al,
                #3

                I hide the a5 window - the shortcut minimizes A5 first
                I have a function to log in - very simple xdialog: looks up the userid and sets a global variable
                I have a function to initialize some other global vars it reads from a file.
                I use a function to set the app title and display the current version
                I set the system mode for smart fields to 'inside'
                I have a function to open my wallpaper form which has events to cause it to fill the window when active
                I hide the statusbar
                Then I maximize the A5 window and last show the A5 window.

                Pretty much all one liners using either my own functions or Alpha's and very fast on my developer machine.

                Oh, and if you look at my screenshot you can see there is an embedded bitmap behind the popup on the Home form that resizes as the screen resizes. I am beginning to suspect that is the problem, as other apps I have don't use the bitmap.
                Last edited by MoGrace; 04-25-2017, 09:28 PM.
                Robin

                Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Runtime Shadow timing issue?

                  Tom Henkel may have a better way I could go about this HERE
                  Robin

                  Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Runtime Shadow timing issue?

                    Originally posted by MoGrace View Post
                    Hi Al,
                    #3

                    I hide the a5 window - the shortcut minimizes A5 first Monomize?
                    I have a function to log in - very simple xdialog: looks up the userid and sets a global variable
                    I have a function to initialize some other global vars it reads from a file.
                    I use a function to set the app title and display the current version Do in start up line
                    I set the system mode for smart fields to 'inside'
                    I have a function to open my wallpaper form which has events to cause it to fill the window when active
                    I hide the statusbar
                    Then I maximize the A5 window and last show the A5 window.

                    Pretty much all one liners using either my own functions or Alpha's and very fast on my developer machine.

                    Oh, and if you look at my screenshot you can see there is an embedded bitmap behind the popup on the Home form that resizes as the screen resizes. I am beginning to suspect that is the problem, as other apps I have don't use the bitmap.
                    Dave Mason
                    dave@aldadesktop.com
                    Skype is dave.mason46

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Runtime Shadow timing issue?

                      So Dave, is Monomize something different that Minimize? Cause I did say that the startup minimizes Alpha first. I also set a default title in the startup but change it in the autoexec so the version # will display in the title. I just don't understand why the runtime should do this when the developer does not. It occurs whether I open the shadow or the server files directly in runtime.
                      Last edited by MoGrace; 04-27-2017, 11:21 AM.
                      Robin

                      Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X