Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

    Has anyone tried to format columns in a browse so that when a value changes, the, The font and row color changes. Example: A browse contains a list of names sorted alphabetically. I would like the font color and the cell color to change when the first letter of the last name changes.

    Thanks for the ideas and suggestions.

    ken

    FWIW, we got another 15+" of snow last night and today, that's over 48 inces for the month of April. Ahhh Nutzzzz
    TYVM :) kenn

    Knowing what you can achieve will not become reality until you imagine and explore.

  • #2
    Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

    Originally posted by forskare View Post
    Has anyone tried to format columns in a browse so that when a value changes, the, The font and row color changes. Example: A browse contains a list of names sorted alphabetically. I would like the font color and the cell color to change when the first letter of the last name changes.

    Thanks for the ideas and suggestions.

    ken

    FWIW, we got another 15+" of snow last night and today, that's over 48 inces for the month of April. Ahhh Nutzzzz
    Can't help with your browse - but it was over 100 today!
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

      Originally posted by MoGrace View Post
      Can't help with your browse - but it was over 100 today!
      Wow, that is HOT for LA this time of year. My Dad said it was 85 where he lives by the sand dunes in Arroyo Grande.

      kenn
      TYVM :) kenn

      Knowing what you can achieve will not become reality until you imagine and explore.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

        HaHa
        Florida is real nice right now!

        Nice and warm with a sweet breeze. In short sleeves and no sweat, just nice.
        Dave Mason
        [email protected]
        Skype is dave.mason46

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

          Originally posted by DaveM View Post
          HaHa
          Florida is real nice right now!

          Nice and warm with a sweet breeze. In short sleeves and no sweat, just nice.
          Hey Dave, I have a shovel with your name on it :D !!

          I believe I've found a solution. In the browse' Other Tab, select the colors and let the Genie create the code for the first 2, 3, or however many rows. Then convert the code, Copy and paste it to the end of the line until there is enough for the 26 letters of the alphabet. Finally, edit the code to reflect the change for each letter.

          kenn
          TYVM :) kenn

          Knowing what you can achieve will not become reality until you imagine and explore.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

            Originally posted by forskare View Post
            Has anyone tried to format columns in a browse so that when a value changes, the, The font and row color changes. Example: A browse contains a list of names sorted alphabetically. I would like the font color and the cell color to change when the first letter of the last name changes.

            Thanks for the ideas and suggestions.

            ken

            FWIW, we got another 15+" of snow last night and today, that's over 48 inces for the month of April. Ahhh Nutzzzz
            Ken I was going to suggest similar but see you already have some thing. If you just want to alternate between two colors you could use an expression like - mod(asc(left(Lastname,1)),2)>0 - in just one line of the genie and change the default color to your choice.
            Last edited by Tim Kiebert; 04-27-2008, 01:30 AM.
            Tim Kiebert
            Eagle Creek Citrus
            A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

              Kenn,

              I thought they dumped Min into canada because it was too cold and deep up there. You mean it is stiill part of the usa???

              UH, I used a shovel once. bout 50 years ago and swore "never again".

              Actually always got along with people from your state. Land of lakes??
              Dave Mason
              [email protected]
              Skype is dave.mason46

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

                Originally posted by Tim Kiebert View Post
                Ken I was going to suggest similar but see you already have some thing. If you just want to alternate between two colors you could use an expression like - mod(asc(left(Lastname,1)),2)>0 - in just one line of the genie and change the default color to your choice.
                Hello Tim,

                First, a recap. I opened the Column' Properties and put the following code in the Color Equeation box of the Other Tab:

                case(left(Artist,len("A"))="A","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("B"))="B","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("C"))="C","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("D"))="D","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("E"))="E","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("F"))="F","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("G"))="G","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("H"))="H","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("I"))="I","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("J"))="J","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("K"))="K","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("L"))="L","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("M"))="M","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("N"))="N","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("O"))="O","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("P"))="P","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("Q"))="Q","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("R"))="R","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("S"))="S","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("T"))="T","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("U"))="U","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("V"))="V","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("W"))="W","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("X"))="X","Teal on #231,237,181",left(Artist,len("Y"))="Y","Teal on Pale Yellow",left(Artist,len("Z"))="Z","Teal on #231,237,181",.T.,"black on white")

                I generated the code by using the Genie to set the text abd backgroujnd color. To get the case parft of the expression, I created a query with the browse in View mode, to find all records where value in the Artist column begins with "A". Then, it was to simply put the query into code, copy the code and place it in the expression part of the Color Equation box. From there I easily did all 10 rows using the same code except for changing "A" to "B" to "C" to "D", etc in the remaining rows. That worked well.

                OK, now I switched that to Xbasic, copied the necessary code and placed it almost at the end of the existing code amd made all the changes so all letters of the alphabet were represented. Finally, I copied to whole shootin' match and placed it in the Color Equation box of each column.

                Did it work? Yes and No. The row colors should match in each row of every column. They do not; every column is different. When I looked at the code in each Color Equation box, the amount of code varies, even though I put the exact same code in each one. I replaced the code 3 times but as soon as I click the OK button to go from the expression builder back to properties a varied amount of code disappears.

                Perhaps someone can take the code and test it on their own browse. I could include a zip but that won't necessarily confirm if it's me or a bug.

                OK Tim, now for your suggestion. Would you be a bit more specific about where the code should be placed and how the color part is added to it?

                Thanks again for the assistance.

                kenn
                TYVM :) kenn

                Knowing what you can achieve will not become reality until you imagine and explore.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

                  Code:
                  Has anyone tried to format columns in a browse
                  Many times.

                  Example: A browse contains a list of names sorted alphabetically. I would like the font color and the cell color to change when the first letter of the last name changes
                  I normally do not respond to threads in v9, simply because I don't have it. But for Forsake's sakes and since the expression couldn't possibly be any different in the two versions, I am limiting my response here to the expression part.

                  First: I do not see how this color scheme will help you. If the last name starts with A, you will have Teal on pale yellow, if it starts with B, the next row will have a different color. Good.
                  But what if you have two rows the first has A and the next one has "C"? They will both have the same Teal on pale yellow .

                  But let's assume that all letters are always represented and that the row colors will alternate. Here comes the fun part:

                  I always find it amusing to see how alpha translates AS to an xbasic code, sometimes it looks moronic, but I do understand how everything is robotically engineered to fit the needs of the developer, any developer and all the developers.

                  For instance, look at this:
                  case(left(Artist,len("A"))="A",
                  !!
                  Seriously, do we need this extra function of len("A") ? don't we already know what len("A") is?
                  Again, at the end, you have: .t.,"black on white"
                  What are the chances of that happening? You already went through the whole alphabet. It could happen, if you are dealing with rap artists like 50 cents for instance, but is that the case? or are you dealing with Van Gogh and Michelangelo?

                  Now, what do you say if I tell you that this whole spaghetti of expression could be reduced to one short sentence?
                  Last edited by G Gabriel; 04-27-2008, 07:24 PM.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

                    Gabe,
                    I know nobody asked me, but the first thing that came to my mind was:

                    And that sentence is ... ?

                    You would have made a good cat!
                    Robin

                    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

                      Wouldn't it be more fun, entertaing and more importantly, more educational, if you come up with it on your own? or have you given up that fast?

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

                        Originally posted by forskare View Post
                        Hello Tim,

                        OK Tim, now for your suggestion. Would you be a bit more specific about where the code should be placed and how the color part is added to it?

                        Thanks again for the assistance.

                        kenn
                        Ken,

                        Attached is a screen shot of the genie with the expression I posted.
                        Without using the genie the expression to enter directly in the equation field is
                        Code:
                        case(mod(asc(left(Lastname,1)),2)>0,"Teal on Pale Yellow",.T.,"Teal on #231,237,181")
                        Tim Kiebert
                        Eagle Creek Citrus
                        A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

                          Actually, it is the use of the mod(), asc() stuff that gets me confused!
                          Last edited by MoGrace; 04-27-2008, 08:09 PM. Reason: spellinf - haha
                          Robin

                          Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

                            Allright, now the cat is out of the hat, here is that one short sentence expression:
                            "Teal on "+If(mod(asc(Artist ),2)=1,"Pale Yellow”,"#231,237,181")

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Browse Row Color Changes When Value changes

                              [CODE]First: I do not see how this color scheme will help you. [/QUOTE]

                              That's because you're assuming the browse will be used in the usual way. It won't. The browse is sorted alphabetically so all the A's are one color, B's another and so on. The browse willl be used for a visual effects as well as viewing the data.

                              But what if you have two rows the first has A and the next one has "C"? They will both have the same Teal on pale yellow.
                              Yeah, I thought about that and need to give it some thought. I suppose code could be written to insert a couple of rows and put text on it that says "No records for the letter "X"."

                              I always find it amusing to see how alpha translates AS to an xbasic code, sometimes it looks moronic, but I do understand how everything is robotically engineered to fit the needs of the developer, any developer and all the developers.
                              I should have removed the Black on White part of the code but Alpha did what it's programed to dochange AS to Xbasic.

                              what would I say if the code could be reduced to one short line? "COOL"

                              kenn
                              TYVM :) kenn

                              Knowing what you can achieve will not become reality until you imagine and explore.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X