Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

runtime license

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #31
    Re: runtime license

    Cal is correct on all counts. Mine works because I send a server folder set up and a work station set up(which can also be used on the server - it goes to a different folder). The workstation folder has a bootstrap adb that will help the user connect to the server data and then redo the shadow. Even My single user version is shipped to go into 2 different folders on a single computer.

    I would not wish a user to access the data other than runtime shadowed.

    Hope that clarifies for others.


    .
    Dave Mason
    [email protected]
    Skype is dave.mason46

    Comment


    • #32
      Re: runtime license

      Richard,
      Do you have any update on when the next Patch for the Unlimited RunTime will be available so the activation won't be necessary?

      Alan

      Comment


      • #33
        Re: runtime license

        Originally posted by DaveM View Post
        I have given this in a prior thread somewhere, but cannot find it. I send demo disks out with v7 and make a few sales. I have to do 2 things and want it changeable quickly and without fuss.

        I include 2 files. One has a date to expire and the other has a user count. They are both text files disguised as a jpg and a dll. One could also put them in the registry or hide them in an encrypted table. There are other ways too, like just hard coding them and simply replacing the db files. edit: could be put in a sql table too.

        Here is the code to accomplish.

        Code:
         
        cpath = a5.Get_Path()
        cmast = a5.GET_MASTER_PATh()
        regusers = a5_registration_license_inuse(cmast+"\sales.muf") ' main prog
        runtimeusers = a5_registration_license_inuse(cmast+"\sales.rmuf") ' runtime muf
        totalusers = runtimeusers+regusers+1 'so they don't error out with one extra
         
         
        if file.exists(cpath+"\a_rbitrate.dll") then
         fileis = FILE.open(cpath+"\a_rbitrate.dll",FILE_RO_SHARED)
         numuse = trim(fileis.read_line())
         numuser = str(numuse,2,0)
         numberusernow = val(numuser)
        else
         UI_MSG_BOX("Bad Start","You are mssing a required file(s) to run UpsLog.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK) 
         sleep(5)
         a5.Close() 
        end if
        if file.exists(cpath+"\Stylesheet Bitmaps\grayyy.jpg") then
        thisis = FILE.OPEN(cpath+"\Stylesheet Bitmaps\grayyy.jpg",FILE_RW_EXCLUSIVE)
        getdate = thisis.READ_LINE()
        thedate = ctod(alltrim(getdate))
        dayslefttorun = thedate-date()
        select
        case thedate-date()=10
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation expires in 10 days.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
         case thedate-date()=9
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation expires in 9 days.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
         case thedate-date()=8
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation expires in 8 days.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
         case thedate-date()=7
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation expires in 7 days.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
         case thedate-date()=6
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation expires in 6 days.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
         case thedate-date()=5
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation expires in 5 days.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
         case thedate-date()=4
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation expires in 4 days.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
         case thedate-date()=3
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation expires in 3 days.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
         case thedate-date()=2
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation expires in 2 days.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
         case thedate-date()=1
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation expires in 1 day.  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
         case thedate-DATE()<=0
          UI_MSG_BOX("Time is up for demo","Your time for evaluation has expired!  UpsLog will terminate in 20 seconds  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
          sleep(5)
          a5.close()
        end select    
        else
          UI_MSG_BOX("You may have a bad install! - Closing!","Call 352-302-2015 for help",UI_OK)
          sleep(5)
          a5.close()
        end if
        if totalusers > numberusernow then
          UI_MSG_BOX("User Count","Your User count has been exceeded!  UpsLog will terminate in 5 seconds  Call 352-302-2015",UI_OK)
          sleep(5)
          a5.close()
        end if
        It is real simple to do.

        Hope it helps.

        .
        Hi Dave,

        This was very helpful. I assume that this code is placed in an xbasic script and then referenced within the install program as the script to run first upon runtime application loading. Would that be correct? Also, the two data files you mentioned above are .txt files saved with Notepad using what ever names and extensions you choose. Just to make sure I have understood you correctly, is the user count just a number placed on the first line of the .txt file, with or without quotes? Similarly, is the expiration date placed on the first line of the other .txt file, with or without quotes/braces/brackets? Alpha requires braces under xbasic to recognize a date as a date. Thanks.

        Kind regards,
        Gordon
        SCS

        Comment


        • #34
          Re: runtime license

          Gordon.

          This was very helpful. I assume that this code is placed in an xbasic script and then referenced within the install program as the script to run first upon runtime application loading. Would that be correct?
          Correct: actually a script called from the autoexec script

          the two data files you mentioned above are .txt files saved with Notepad using what ever names and extensions you choose. Just to make sure I have understood you correctly, is the user count just a number placed on the first line of the .txt file, with or without quotes? Similarly, is the expiration date placed on the first line of the other .txt file, with or without quotes/braces/brackets? Alpha requires braces under xbasic to recognize a date as a date. Thanks.
          Correct again and just bare stuff on the first line although, they will later(my new version) be placed elsewhere and probably in 2 places each. I intend to put an entry in hte registry and it will also be in a script in the adb. They will also have to match. I also trap the serial of the motherboard(if it exists) and turn it into numeric for further protection in a stand alone I built. If there is no MB serial, it now has a backup plan.

          .
          Dave Mason
          [email protected]
          Skype is dave.mason46

          Comment


          • #35
            Re: runtime license

            Gordon.

            This was very helpful. I assume that this code is placed in an xbasic script and then referenced within the install program as the script to run first upon runtime application loading. Would that be correct?
            Correct: actually a script called from the autoexec script

            the two data files you mentioned above are .txt files saved with Notepad using what ever names and extensions you choose. Just to make sure I have understood you correctly, is the user count just a number placed on the first line of the .txt file, with or without quotes? Similarly, is the expiration date placed on the first line of the other .txt file, with or without quotes/braces/brackets? Alpha requires braces under xbasic to recognize a date as a date. Thanks.
            Correct again and just bare stuff on the first line although, they will later(my new version) be placed elsewhere and probably in 2 places each. I intend to put an entry in hte registry and it will also be in a script in the adb. They will also have to match. I also trap the serial of the motherboard(if it exists) and turn it into numeric for further protection in a stand alone I built. If there is no MB serial, it now has a backup plan.

            .
            Dave Mason
            [email protected]
            Skype is dave.mason46

            Comment


            • #36
              Re: runtime license

              Thanks Dave,

              Yes, it would have to be the autoexec script if you are using a third party installer. There is a provision in the Alpha installer at the very end on the last configuration tab. But the Alpha installer isn't very useful unless used for internal distribution.

              I liked you idea of putting the control data in the registry the best. Using encrypted tables will not work for every client situation, so the registry is the best option. I am not strong on working with registry entries because there is almost no documentation. Do you have a working description for setting this up? Thanks, Gordon

              Comment


              • #37
                Re: runtime license

                I'm on RunTime Plus 1724-3203, and still getting activation messages. Am I doing something daft (quite possible), or hasn't the "get rid of the activation messages" bit made it into production yet ?

                Thanks,

                Pete

                ** Cancel that - looks like I HAVE done something daft - I'll come back if not

                Comment

                Working...
                X