Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

opening forms when child data doesn't exist

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • opening forms when child data doesn't exist

    I have a master table which is associated with a form. On the form, there are buttons which should open another form as a dialog. On that form, if there are child records, it should display them with the appropriate navigation supercontrol on the form.

    This works fine using action scripting to open the form and setting the filter for records for the dialog form to the common key field between the master and child tables. However, when I try to push the button and no child records exist, i get an error message saying that "No records satify the query".

    What should happen is that if no child record is there, then a form should open to allow entry of a new record.

    Is this possible?

    Dave Volgas
    David A. Volgas, MD

  • #2
    Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

    Yes, though it may require a bit of xbasic. The sequence would be something like this:

    a) determine if a child record already exists. There are lots of ways to do this. I prefer key_exist().
    b) if there is no child, then load the dialog form, hidden, begin the new record, pass the primary key to the new record as its foreign key, then show the form.
    c) force user to click button in the dialog form to save the new record. Use that button's script to restrict further enters, or modify navigation restricitons, if desired.
    d) if there is a child then use your action script

    -- tom

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

      Originally posted by davidv43 View Post
      I have a master table which is associated with a form. On the form, there are buttons which should open another form as a dialog. On that form, if there are child records, it should display them with the appropriate navigation supercontrol on the form.

      This works fine using action scripting to open the form and setting the filter for records for the dialog form to the common key field between the master and child tables. However, when I try to push the button and no child records exist, i get an error message saying that "No records satify the query".

      What should happen is that if no child record is there, then a form should open to allow entry of a new record.

      Is this possible?

      Dave Volgas
      You can do this by having the form display some fields from the parent record and then have the child records in an embedded browse. Look at the way that Alphasports does it.
      I use a similar technique. I have a list of invoices. If you double-click on an invoice number, a form opens displaying the invoice header, plus any items already associated with the invoice but in an embedded browse. Zero child records is fine. When you move focus to the embedded browse, you can add a new invoice item to an existing invoice. .

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

        Welcome to A5....
        I hate when that particular error happens, and it's really a pain.

        First and foremost; learn how to write and use functions. Then use functions
        to run as much as is possible. You will hear that scripts do not stop execution
        when a side process or calculation is necessary. This is true but a function will
        complete itself before allowing any other action.

        So why am I telling you all this?????

        Try these functions to call forms/modal forms/menus instead of using the
        'script_play.....' commands.

        Using the 'form view' function will allow the entry of a new record into the table
        that is empty.

        One word of caution -- you might be careful how you put a new record into a
        child table. Make sure that the parent record is properly referenced....

        Have fun
        D

        Code:
        'Date Created: 24-Jun-2007 04:53:32 AM
        'Last Updated: 02-Nov-2007 03:56:10 PM
        'Created By  : R. Coleman
        'Updated By  : R. Coleman
        
        'just supply the name of the menu to the function
        'CallMenus("mnumainsys")
        
        FUNCTION CallMenus AS C (mnu_name AS C )
        
        	DIM Shared mnuptr as P
        	DIM mnu_name as c
        	
        	mnuptr = :Form.view(mnu_name)
        	
        END FUNCTION
        Code:
        Date Created: 02-Nov-2007 05:06:20 PM
        'Last Updated: 20-Mar-2008 02:37:33 PM
        'Created By  : R. Coleman
        'Updated By  : R. Coleman
        '
        FUNCTION CallFrmModal AS C (tbl_name AS C, form_name AS C, form_filter AS C, form_order AS C )
        	
        	'just supply table name, form name, form filter and form order to the function call
        	'EXAMPLE: to call the form (fr_940form) based on the table (p_wh940tax) for all records (.t.) in record number order (recno() )
        	
        	'CallFrmModal("p_wh940tax","fr_940form",".t.","recno()")
        	
        	'for forms that do not require a 'form.view_queried' access, just use the 'CallMenus' function......
        		
        	'start of script
        	'code here
        	
        	dim ptx as P
        	dim numrec as N
        	
        	ptx= table.open(tbl_name,FILE_RO_SHARED)
        	numrec=ptx.records_get()
        	ptx.close()
        	
        		if numrec>0 then		'
        			form_filter = ".t."
        			form_order  = "recno()"
        			varP_form_name = :Form.viewqueried(form_name,form_filter, form_order ,"dialog","Center","Center")
        		else		
        			varP_form_name = :Form.view(form_name,"dialog","","Center","Center")
        		end if
        	
        	'After the user closes the dialog form, the form remains in memory and the script 					
        	'continues with the next command.																	
        																										
        	'You can insert any code here that you want to execute before the dialog form (which is now			
        	'hidden) is removed from memory with the .close() command. 											
        	'The code that you insert here can refer to the form using the pointer variable, varP_form_name	
        	
        	if is_object(varP_form_name) = .t. then 																									
        		varP_form_name.close()
        	end if
        	
        	the_end:
        	on error goto 0
        	
        	end	
        		
        END FUNCTION
        Code:
        Date Created: 02-Nov-2007 04:56:43 PM
        'Last Updated: 15-Aug-2008 01:33:25 AM
        'Created By  : R. Coleman
        'Updated By  : R. Coleman
        '
        'just supply table name, form name, form filter and form order to the function call
        'EXAMPLE: to call the form (fr_940form) based on the table (p_wh940tax) for all records (.t.) in record number order (recno() )
        
        'CallFrmView("p_wh940tax","fr_940form",".t.","recno()")
        
        'for forms that do not require a 'form.view_queried' access, just use the 'CallMenus' function......
        
        FUNCTION CallFrmView AS C (tbl_name AS C, form_name AS C, form_filter AS C, form_order AS C )
        
        	ptx= table.open(tbl_name,FILE_RO_SHARED)
        	numrec=ptx.records_get()
        	ptx.close()
        	
        	if numrec>0 then		
        		form_filter = ".t."
        		form_order  = "recno()"
        		varP_form_name = :Form.viewqueried(form_name,form_filter, form_order ,"","","")
        	else
        		varP_form_name = :Form.view(form_name,"","","","") 
        		ui_msg_box("Table Is Empty","You may now ENTER a new record or just CLOSE this form")
        	end if
        	
        END FUNCTION

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

          thank you to each person who answered this query.

          Tom: the key_exist function only works with the primary table, so I can't use it here. I used Tablecount function instead.

          Nick: my child form has far too many fields to fit in a browse, but it is a useful technique when there aren't many fields.

          Dick: I understand your code and have modified it as below. The problem is now, that even though the program logic sees there is no child record and executes the form.view function, the form is populated with an unrelated child record when it opens. I don't see what's wrong with this code.

          Thanks again.
          Dave
          David A. Volgas, MD

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

            whoops, here's the code:

            dim numrec as N
            filter = "MRN = '" + trim(selMRN) + "'"
            numrec = tablecount("scores",filter)

            if numrec>0 then '
            varP_form_name = :Form.viewqueried("frmScores",filter,"" ,"dialog","Center","Center",.t.)

            else
            varP_form_name = :Form.view("frmScores","dialog","","Center","Center")
            :frmScores:mrn.value = :frmOverview:mrn0.value

            end if


            if is_object(varP_form_name) = .t. then
            varP_form_name.close()
            end if
            David A. Volgas, MD

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

              specifically, it form.view opens the form with the last query ...
              David A. Volgas, MD

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

                Don't know why the form,view didn't work, but this does:

                dim frm as P
                dim numrec as N

                filter = "MRN = '" + trim(selMRN) + "'"

                numrec = tablecount("scores",filter)

                if numrec>0 then '

                frm = :Form.viewqueried("frmScores",filter,"" ,"dialog","Center","Center",.t.)

                else
                frm = Form.load("frmScores","dialog","","Center","Center")
                frm.New_Record()
                frm:mrn.value = :frmOverview:mrn0.value
                frm.show()

                end if


                if is_object(frm) = .t. then
                frm.close()
                end if
                David A. Volgas, MD

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

                  One more thing to make this the cat's meow ... how do I set the initial focus on the form to a different field?
                  David A. Volgas, MD

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

                    Originally posted by davidv43 View Post
                    One more thing to make this the cat's meow ... how do I set the initial focus on the form to a different field?
                    Change the tab sequence?

                    or use the activate object command in a script...
                    Al Buchholz
                    Bookwood Systems, LTD
                    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

                    Occam's Razor - KISS
                    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
                    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
                    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
                    "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
                    Albert Einstein

                    http://www.iadn.com/images/media/iadn_member.png

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

                      you're right... frm:<object>.activate() works
                      David A. Volgas, MD

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

                        David, you're right about Key_Exist(). My mistake. I was thinking of the Exist() function, which works well with a table that is not included in the current form. Key_Exist() seems designed to work with tables that are open in the current form, so it wasn't the right choice for your situation. Sorry. -- tom

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: opening forms when child data doesn't exist

                          I use the form view only as a means of avoiding the 'no records' error when
                          viewing the form. Since you want ONLY parents w/children, the parent table
                          already exists (with records) and so does the child table. I think that the
                          form view function will populate with the last query or maybe with the first
                          record in the child table. Glad you were able to use the functions.
                          D

                          Comment

                          Working...
                          X