Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

    Hi,

    I'm trying to display a short time field in a browse without the leading zero. So I want to display, for example '1:15 pm' not '01:15 pm'. I tried finding a function to use in the edit display format feature, but to no avail.

    Any chance anyone has been able to do this? Seems like this should be easy.

    Thanks...

  • #2
    Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

    You could create a calculated field to use in the browse.

    If vy were the field name....

    Code:
    ? IF(ShortTime_Extract( vy, "h") > 12, ShortTime_Extract( vy, "h") - 12, ShortTime_Extract( vy, "h"))+":"+ShortTime_Extract( vy, "m")+" "+IF(shortTime_extract( vy,"h") > 11, "pm", "am")
    = "3:20 pm"
    There can be only one.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

      Hey Stan... you hit the 15,000 mark... you must get something for that... a pen? a t-shirt? something. How about congratulations! Yikes... that's a lot of questions and answers.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

        Originally posted by Davidk View Post
        Hey Stan... you hit the 15,000 mark... you must get something for that... a pen? a t-shirt? something. How about congratulations! Yikes... that's a lot of questions and answers.
        Not so many questions...

        A whole lot of answers.

        I think Stan should buy a round..... ;)
        Al Buchholz
        Bookwood Systems, LTD
        Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

        Occam's Razor - KISS
        Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
        Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
        When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
        "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
        Albert Einstein

        http://www.iadn.com/images/media/iadn_member.png

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

          Stan is opting for MVP :)
          Marcel

          I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.
          ---- Confusius ----

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

            Thanks Stan,

            I appreciate the info.
            Sure is a lot of code just to get rid of a zero. Perhaps this needs to be an Alpha function??

            And I think we should buy Stan the round...

            Gordon

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

              Originally posted by gkpurcey View Post
              Perhaps this needs to be an Alpha function??
              Well, there is a Wishlist forum...........
              There can be only one.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

                OK, I've posted a request in the wishlist forum.
                Thanks again.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

                  here is a slightly shorter bit of code
                  Code:
                  dim ty as Y
                  ty = now()
                  
                  ?ty
                  = 09:15:27 26 am
                  
                  ?ltrim(left(""+ty,5)+right(""+ty,3),"0")
                  = "9:15 am"
                  From the whats new in v9 page User Defined Formatting
                  I put together this function. There is not a specific version for short time so I modified the Time version slightly
                  Code:
                  function entry_format.time.nlzero as c (value as y, width as n)
                  'DESCRIPTION:8:35 am
                             entry_format.time.nlzero = ltrim(left(""+value,5),"0")+right(""+value,3)
                  
                  end function
                  Save this as a new function in the control panel. The new format will now be available in the format drop down in the properties dialog.
                  It will be called "8:35 am". You can change the name by changing the description in the function
                  Tim Kiebert
                  Eagle Creek Citrus
                  A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

                    Originally posted by Al Buchholz View Post
                    Not so many questions...

                    A whole lot of answers.

                    I think Stan should buy a round..... ;)
                    Gosh, sorry to be so late responding. Actually, I did have a celebratory imbibation gathering, but you missed it.
                    There can be only one.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

                      Stan,
                      Maybe you were imbibing just prior to posting the formula (?!), as I found it did not quite work correctly (smiley face here). It worked great except for times with minutes less than 10 in which case it only displayed a single digit, i.e. "8:07 p" would be shown as "8.7 p".

                      Here is a modified version which fixes that bug:

                      IF(ShortTime_Extract( Timeentered, "h") > 12, ShortTime_Extract( Timeentered, "h") - 12, ShortTime_Extract( Timeentered, "h"))+":"+iif(ShortTime_Extract( Timeentered, "m")>9,ShortTime_Extract( Timeentered, "m"),"0"+ShortTime_Extract( Timeentered, "m") )+" "+IF(shortTime_extract( Timeentered,"h") > 11, "pm", "am")

                      Again, thanks for you help.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

                        Tim,

                        Thanks for your reply.
                        I created the function you suggested, and it works great. I named it "3.03 p" so as to match the sample value of the other built in formats.

                        I wasn't aware that you could add a function that would become one of the formatting options.

                        I did notice there is also an "add in" capability, and I am wondering if that could be used to have this function available within Alpha Five itself? I may have to give that a try if I get some time.

                        Thanks again...

                        Gordon

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

                          Code:
                          dim t as y
                          t=now()
                          ?t
                          = 10:23:10 71 pm
                          ?time("h:m:s am",{}+t)
                          = "10:23:10 pm"

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

                            ?time("h:m:s am",{}+t)
                            = "10:23:10 pm"
                            Thanks, but I believe this code also fails to convert the single digit minutes correctly. In my browse, this code produced "8.1.30 pm" for example instead of "8.01.30 pm".

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Display Time in a browse without leading zero?

                              Code:
                              dim t as y
                              t=now()
                              ?t
                              = 06:26:18 42 am
                              ?time("h:0m:0s am",{}+t)
                              = "6:26:18 am"

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X