Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

barcode scanner and commit data to field

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • barcode scanner and commit data to field

    Hi everyone. I'm quite new here and don't have much experience with A5V9. I need your help. It takes time for me but it should be easy for you all here.

    I have 3 question.
    1. where/ how I can change time format from 12:00 AM/PM to 24 hours system.

    2. where/how I can change font in Edit field Rule/Lookup/Sample List
    I can change font of each field in form with no problem but I cannot find
    how I can change font what I type in Sample List.

    3. I use the barcode scanner and it can scan barcode to field that I place cursor. The problem is how I can commit the data it read from scanner to specific field automatically without Enter if I don't want to move cursor to the field I want to receive the data from scanner and Enter same as I type it.


    Thank you in advance

    Peterth

  • #2
    Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

    1) Windows control panel, Regional and Language Options, Customize button.
    There can be only one.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

      2) Probably use the View menu, Settings, System > System Fonts
      There can be only one.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

        3) Either program the scanner to send an enter prefix or size the field to the size of the data that will be scanned and set the data entry field rule, Auot_advance.
        There can be only one.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

          Hi Peter,

          Originally posted by peterth View Post
          3. I use the barcode scanner and it can scan barcode to field that I place cursor. The problem is how I can commit the data it read from scanner to specific field automatically without Enter if I don't want to move cursor to the field I want to receive the data from scanner and Enter same as I type it.
          Stan gave you a rough idea of using a Scanner prefix key (and ONKEY event as well), but it''s not as easy as it sounds.

          I have recently announced the availability of barcoding functions as a product. See this Barcoding and Scanning Functions for Alpha Five thread and my website here. The product is currently be readied for licensing and purchase, but might take a short while to finalize.
          Regards,

          Ira J. Perlow
          Computer Systems Design


          CSDA A5 Products
          New - Free CSDA DiagInfo - v1.39, 30 Apr 2013
          CSDA Barcode Functions

          CSDA Code Utility
          CSDA Screen Capture


          Comment


          • #6
            Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

            Actually I was speaking of programming the scanner via the insturctions in the user manual I have. Mine is at least eight years old so I assumed the features would be commonplace by now.

            The manual has various pages of barcoded parameters by which you can set the

            SCAN DATA TRANSMISSION FORMAT
            choices include
            Data As Is
            <Data><Suffix>
            <Prefix><Data>
            <Prefix><Data><Suffix>

            After setting the format to <Data><Suffix> you scan another parameter to tell the scanner that you are entering the suffix to be used. You then scan four numeric parameters corresponding to the suffix you desire. (1013 for Enter)

            This is a Symbol 4000i.
            There can be only one.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

              Stan,
              Thank you for your help. I check my time format in Control Panel. I'm sure it's 24:00 format not 12:00AM but when I use time field it displays 12:00AM format. Please see the attached file

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

                I try it so many times before I ask it here but I cannot specific where I can change font in the Lookup/Simple List

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

                  There is also a display format option accessed by right clicking on a time field object on a layout, choose Properties, Format, set the Format Style.
                  There can be only one.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

                    Hi Stan,

                    Originally posted by Stan Mathews View Post
                    Actually I was speaking of programming the scanner via the insturctions in the user manual I have. Mine is at least eight years old so I assumed the features would be commonplace by now.
                    Programming the scanners (assuming they are programmable - a few really old ones, maybe pre 1995, and the free CueCat that was distributed by Radio Shack and others a few years back are not) is not an issue (or shouldn't be anyway).

                    However, capturing the scan data, and then processing it (for say a find) or for entering into a database record, is not as easy as one might like it to be. Likewise, generating some codes like Code 128 (one of the best choices IMHO) to print a barcode (when you account for all the codesets), is not as simple to code as it appears.
                    Regards,

                    Ira J. Perlow
                    Computer Systems Design


                    CSDA A5 Products
                    New - Free CSDA DiagInfo - v1.39, 30 Apr 2013
                    CSDA Barcode Functions

                    CSDA Code Utility
                    CSDA Screen Capture


                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

                      Stan,
                      My barcode scanner is easy to use it. It works same as the keyboard when I scan the barcode the data of barcode will key into the field automatically also with Enter key (I can configure it if no need the Enter key) The problem is how can I commit the data from the field that I scan to other field. My idea is I use the prefix for member and vendor like M0001 , M0002, and.. for each member and V001, V002, and .. for each vendor and I define a field names SCANINPUT for data receive from scanner and send this data to Member Id field if the prefix is M and the same as Vendor ID if the prefix is V
                      but I don't know how to commit it and what command or function for this.
                      Please advise

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

                        I didn't read your point 3 clearly enough. I thought you wanted to know how to commit the entry to the chosen field which the enter suffix should accomplish.

                        I have no clue how you would perform the intelligent field selection.
                        There can be only one.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

                          Thanks Ira

                          I will see it for more details and will ask you again

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

                            so very quick reply!

                            I will try it again. Thanks Stan

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: barcode scanner and commit data to field

                              Hi Ira,

                              Your product can support or do the way I need?

                              "My barcode scanner is easy to use it. It works same as the keyboard when I scan the barcode the data of barcode will key into the field automatically also with Enter key (I can configure it if no need the Enter key) The problem is how can I commit the data from the field that I scan to other field. My idea is I use the prefix for member and vendor like M0001 , M0002, and.. for each member and V001, V002, and .. for each vendor and I define a field names SCANINPUT for data receive from scanner and send this data to Member Id field if the prefix is M and the same as Vendor ID if the prefix is V
                              but I don't know how to commit it and what command or function for this.
                              Please advise"

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X