Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Inserting record in sql table with args as values

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Inserting record in sql table with args as values

    This code succeeds but the arg value is empty? So a record is inserted into the database but the plan_id field is empty. Running it in the interactive window.
    Looked simple in the examples and posts that I found. What am I missing?
    dim conn as SQL::Connection
    dim ins as SQL::InsertStatement
    dim qry as SQL::Query
    dim rs as SQL::ResultSet
    dim cs as SQL::CallResult
    dim connString as C
    dim sql_insert as C
    dim sql_query as C

    connString = "::Name::ABC"
    sql_insert = "insert into stripe_plan_2 (plan_id) values (:plan)"

    dim args as SQL::Arguments
    args.set("plan","6789")

    IF .not. conn.open(connString) THEN
    end
    END IF
    IF .not. ins.parse(sql_insert) THEN
    ui_msg_box("Error", ins.callresult.text)
    end
    END IF

    ins.execute(conn)
    cs = ins.CallResult
    ui_msg_box("Call result", cs.Text)
    Last edited by bob9145; 03-07-2018, 11:42 PM.

  • #2
    Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

    This works but seems pretty low tech and likely to frustrate a dyslexic A D D type like myself
    dim conn as SQL::Connection
    dim ins as SQL::InsertStatement
    dim qry as SQL::Query
    dim rs as SQL::ResultSet
    dim cs as SQL::CallResult
    dim connString as C
    dim sql_insert as C
    dim sql_query as C
    dim plan as c
    plan = "3456"
    connString = "::Name::ABC"
    sql_insert = "insert into stripe_plan_2 (plan_id) values (" + plan + ")"

    'dim args as SQL::Arguments
    'args.set("plan","6789")

    IF .not. conn.open(connString) THEN
    end
    END IF
    IF .not. ins.parse(sql_insert) THEN
    ui_msg_box("Error", ins.callresult.text)
    end
    END IF

    ins.execute(conn)
    cs = ins.CallResult
    ui_msg_box("Call result", cs.Text)

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

      Trying to put together a string this way doesn't work well inconsistent.

      Keep getting this error when I start to build out the statement to multiple fields:
      Internal Parser Error-Node type cannot be mapped for the requested object

      Funny was able to build the string out 4 fields and if I include a 'literal' more but when I put the fifth variable I get the error

      Thinking it is not building the string as needed. My sql back end is mysql
      Thinking the args would work better, or is the problem one in the same?
      Built the table to match the controls on a ux used the Alpha Genie all character fields.
      dim conn as SQL::Connection
      dim ins as SQL::InsertStatement
      dim qry as SQL::Query
      dim rs as SQL::ResultSet
      dim cs as SQL::CallResult
      dim connString as C
      dim sql_insert as C
      dim sql_query as C

      Amount_Confirmed = "4000"
      Date_Created = "345676"
      Currency_Type = "usd"
      Plan_ID = "3456_ty"
      Interval_Frequency = "year"
      Mode = "1"
      Product_Type = "Type"
      Product_GUID = "49586799"
      Trial_length = "45"

      connString = "::Name::rmqv12"
      sql_insert = "insert into stripe_plan_2 (Amount_Confirmed,Date_Created,Mode,Product_GUID,Interval_Frequency,Currency_Type) values (" + Amount_Confirmed + "," + Date_Created + "," + Mode + "," + Product_GUID + ",'year'," + Currency_Type + ")"
      IF .not. conn.open(connString) THEN
      end
      END IF
      IF .not. ins.parse(sql_insert) THEN
      ui_msg_box("Error", ins.callresult.text)
      end
      END IF

      ins.execute(conn)
      cs = ins.CallResult
      ui_msg_box("Call result", cs.Text)
      Last edited by bob9145; 03-08-2018, 03:04 AM.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

        Couple things,
        First, if you want to use arguments, then your execute should be something like
        dim flag as L
        flag = conn.execute(sql_insert,args)

        when I'm building the statement as a string I like to use evaluate_string like
        sql_insert = "insert into stripe_plan_2 (Amount_Confirmed,Date_Created,Mode,Product_GUID,Interval_Frequency,Currency_Type) values ( {Amount_Confirmed},{Date_Created},{Mode},{Product_GUID},'year',{Currency_Type})"

        sql_insert = evaluate_string(sql_insert)

        If you want to use your approach, then you need to remember to single quote string values such as
        values ('" + Amount_Confirmed + "','" + Date_Created + "',
        Pat Bremkamp
        MindKicks Consulting

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

          Thanks Pat still struggling with the args, but like an old English teacher told me punctuation is everything period! You spurred me to seek the result of sql_insert my answer was a ? mark away all the time!
          sql_insert = "INSERT INTO stripe_subscription_plans (amount,object,currency) values ('" + amount + "','" + object + "','" + currency + "')"
          ?sql_insert
          = "INSERT INTO stripe_subscription_plans (amount,object,currency) values ('1234','4321','usd')"
          After 20 hours of Chinese Click torture I'm strung out. I need a break and a beer 'Exclamation Point'

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

            If someone could post a very simple complete block with args as the values in a insert statement it would be helpful. Saw a couple more complicated examples in other posts but can't get a basic one to work. My args are empty.
            Last edited by bob9145; 03-08-2018, 11:48 PM.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

              Wrestling match: Building a string this way is temperamental, what I found is the end of the string is buggy. Whatever mechanism is writing to the file or creating the string is creating some typos.
              I was able to get it working by getting a couple column statement to work. Instead of building the string by adding additional columns and values to the back I added to the front. I also returned the string to the ux working preview so the exact string was displayed. So it is either my machine or Alpha's machine. Welcome to the machine comes to mind for you old heads.

              'value' ')' I checked 10 times I was not creating this the boogeyman was!
              Last edited by bob9145; 03-09-2018, 03:07 AM.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

                Coming into this thread late and if I have missed anything said earlier then apologies but as a rule of thumb always use arguments to populate out a sql statement.

                Also I always "force" the field type to be sure by using convert_type() unless it is a character field.

                So if you have a sql insert statement as:

                INSERT INTO tablename (number, text, text, logical) VALUES (:arg1, :arg2, :arg3, :arg4)

                and to populate the arguments

                args.Set("arg1",convert_type(numberfield,"N"))
                args.Set("arg2",textfield1)
                args.Set("arg3",textfield3)
                args.Set("arg4",convert_type(logicalfield,"L"))

                Regards
                Glen Schild



                My Blog

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

                  Hi,

                  I don't know if this is any help, but you need to pass the arguments in as well when you execute.

                  ins.Execute(sql, args)

                  I think you have set the args correctly in your original post.

                  HTH
                  Gina

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

                    Ok back to args: So sql_insert is building a string for the statement so it would seem to me that you still have turn it into a string ""?
                    sql_insert = "INSERT INTO stripe_subscription_plans (nickname,interval_count) values (:arg1,:arg2)"
                    However :arg1 and arg2: just become dimmed text in the editor. Here is the complete simple block. Shouldn't be this hard.
                    dim conn as SQL::Connection
                    dim ins as SQL::InsertStatement
                    dim qry as SQL::Query
                    dim rs as SQL::ResultSet
                    dim cs as SQL::CallResult
                    dim connString as C
                    dim sql_insert as C
                    dim sql_query as C
                    dim args as SQL::Arguments



                    First_Name = "Joe"
                    Last_Name = "Smith"

                    connString = "::Name::rmqv12"
                    sql_insert = "INSERT INTO stripe_subscription_plans (First_Name,Last_Name) values (:arg1,:arg2)"
                    args.Set("arg1",First_Name)
                    args.Set("arg2",Last_Name)
                    ins.Execute(sql_insert, args)



                    IF .not. conn.open(connString) THEN
                    end
                    END IF
                    IF .not. ins.parse(sql_insert) THEN
                    ui_msg_box("Error", ins.callresult.text)
                    end
                    END IF
                    Last edited by bob9145; 03-09-2018, 01:17 PM.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

                      For me too much is going on! Below is a template I use which works, note the order of everything.

                      DIM cn AS SQL::Connection
                      DIM rs AS SQL::ResultSet
                      DIM args AS SQL::arguments
                      DIM qry AS C

                      'set args
                      args.Set("arg1",value)
                      args.Set("arg2",value)
                      args.Set("arg3",value)

                      'qry string
                      qry=<<%sql%
                      INSERT INTO tablename (
                      field1,
                      field2,
                      field3
                      )VALUES(
                      :arg1,
                      :arg2,
                      :arg3)
                      %sql%

                      'open connection
                      cn.open("::NAME::conn")

                      flag = cn.Execute(qry,args)
                      if flag = .f. then
                      ui_msg_box(cn.CallResult.text)
                      end if


                      'close connection
                      cn.close()
                      Glen Schild



                      My Blog

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

                        Running it in the interactive window. Still no joy.
                        Error: Missing tagged string end construct
                        DIM cn AS SQL::Connection
                        DIM rs AS SQL::ResultSet
                        DIM args AS SQL::arguments
                        DIM qry AS C
                        value1 ="12345"
                        value2 ="123456"
                        value3 ="1234567"
                        'set args
                        args.Set("arg1",value1)
                        args.Set("arg2",value2)
                        args.Set("arg3",value3)

                        'qry string
                        qry=<<%sql% INSERT INTO (stripe_subscription_plans nickname,interval_count,id)VALUES (:arg1,:arg2,:arg3)%sql%

                        'open connection
                        cn.open("::Name::myconnection")

                        flag = cn.Execute(qry,args)
                        if flag = .f. then
                        ui_msg_box(cn.CallResult.text)
                        end if


                        'close connection
                        cn.close()

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

                          Originally posted by bob9145 View Post
                          Running it in the interactive window. Still no joy.
                          Error: Missing tagged string end construct
                          Two points

                          1. If any of the fields are NOT characters and I suspect interval_count and ID are numeric then do not declare the values within speech marks they should be value1 = 12345

                          2. Using the
                          qry=<<%sql%
                          insert statement here
                          %sql%

                          is only needed if you place the statement on different lines. If you place the statement on a single line then qry="insert statement here" is all that is needed.
                          Glen Schild



                          My Blog

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

                            Think my problem is that I try to bend coding to my own will for my own purpose instead of taking the dial off the clock, and finding out what makes the watch tick. Just need to put the bracket here, and the comma there, copy and paste this snippet match it with this block, try it here, try it there until I've clicked myself into a frenzy.
                            dim conn as SQL::Connection
                            dim connString as C
                            dim ins as SQL::InsertStatement
                            dim sql_insert as C
                            dim args as sql::arguments
                            connString = "::Name::myconnection"
                            args.add("arg1","selwyn")
                            sql_insert = "insert into stripe_subscription_plans (created) values (:arg1)"
                            sql_insert = replace_arguments_in_string(Sql_insert ,args ,3)
                            conn.open(connString)
                            IF .not. conn.open(connString) THEN

                            end
                            END IF
                            IF .not. ins.parse(sql_insert) THEN
                            ui_msg_box("Error", ins.callresult.text)
                            end
                            END IF

                            ins.execute(conn)
                            cs = ins.CallResult
                            ui_msg_box("Call result", cs.Text)
                            Tick Tock
                            Last edited by bob9145; 03-12-2018, 01:20 AM.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Inserting record in sql table with args as values

                              Hi Bob,

                              From what I can see your original code should work, with the addition of the args in your execute statement and tweak when you build your args...

                              Code:
                              dim conn as SQL::Connection
                              dim ins as SQL::InsertStatement
                              dim qry as SQL::Query
                              dim rs as SQL::ResultSet
                              dim cs as SQL::CallResult
                              dim connString as C
                              dim sql_insert as C
                              dim sql_query as C
                              
                              connString = "::Name::ABC"
                              sql_insert = "insert into stripe_plan_2 (plan_id) values (:plan)"
                              
                              dim args as SQL::Arguments
                              args.Add("plan","6789")
                              
                              IF .not. conn.open(connString) THEN
                              end
                              END IF
                              IF .not. ins.parse(sql_insert) THEN
                              ui_msg_box("Error", ins.callresult.text)
                              end
                              END IF
                              
                              ins.execute(conn, args)
                              cs = ins.CallResult
                              ui_msg_box("Call result", cs.Text)
                              ...try them apples.

                              Gina

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X