Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Comparing to Access

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Comparing to Access

    Hi I am a new user, and I have to express the fact that A5 v9 is not as "user friendly" as Access.
    Of course this is my first impression.
    I finally imported an access table, however it has a time field, and in access and Excel it is formatted as a Medium Time field.
    Such as 11:35 AM or 12:15 PM.
    I edited the structure of the table and I only get "Time" or "Short Time" Formats
    In Short time I get this 12:50:00 00 pm
    and in "Time" I get this 29/10/2009 03:57:00 00 pm

    Regards
    Graham

  • #2
    Re: Comparing to Access

    Originally posted by Feebles View Post
    ...and in access and Excel it is formatted as a Medium Time field.
    Such as 11:35 AM or 12:15 PM.
    I edited the structure of the table and I only get "Time" or "Short Time" Formats
    In Short time I get this 12:50:00 00 pm
    and in "Time" I get this 29/10/2009 03:57:00 00 pm
    Presumably, you want a "Short Time" field. Use that. Then on your form or browse, while in edit mode, select the field properties, and pick the time format to display the way you want.

    See attached image...
    Peter
    AlphaBase Solutions, LLC

    Peter@AlphaBaseSolutions.com
    https://www.alphabasesolutions.com


    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Comparing to Access

      Hi Graham...and welcome to the board!
      the fact that A5 v9 is not as "user friendly" as Access.
      a fairly surprising statement for me. Tell me something....Have you just started using both Access and Alpha which would make your statement unbiased. Or is this perhaps due to your having used Access for quite some time and now are using a new tool? ---which then makes perfect sense as to your statement (to me at least!).

      When I first looked at Access (never actually used it), to me it was not very intuitive at all--I had no clue as to where to start---with Alpha I was able to dive right in and start creating. I guess "user friendly" means different things to different people maybe! :)
      Mike
      __________________________________________
      It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
      It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
      Henry David Thoreau
      __________________________________________



      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Comparing to Access

        Yes I have been using Access for some time now.
        Please don't take me the wrong way, I can see how much work has gone into the making of Alpha 5, and I can see it has a lot of useful genies etc and that in the right hands it is powerful.
        I am only passing on an inexperienced user with this product.
        I am not giving up on this.
        However it is fustrating that certain keys that I use in everyday programs do not work here.
        EG: I wish to delete some records from a unrelated table.
        In access Press CTRL+A for all records or just highlight some records and hit delete.
        In A5 still cant find how to do this?

        I imported a time field and when I make a form it says the time field is undefined yet in the table it shows the records.
        And there is more as well, but enough for now.
        Regards
        Graham

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Comparing to Access

          Hi Graham

          You can delete records in a browse by highlighting them and using CTRL+DEL

          Regards

          Glen
          Glen Schild



          My Blog

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Comparing to Access

            I was a bit hasty, I am sure.
            Thanks for the help and yes I am a DH
            My apologies A5 is a great Program
            Regards
            Graham

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Comparing to Access

              Originally posted by MikeC View Post
              When I first looked at Access (never actually used it), to me it was not very intuitive at all--I had no clue as to where to start---with Alpha I was able to dive right in and start creating. I guess "user friendly" means different things to different people maybe! :)
              Seconded, thirded and quartered ;)

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Comparing to Access

                Graham:

                Having produced projects in both Access and Alpha I can tell you that you will be able to more quickly and efficiently complete your project using Alpha - by far. It took me a while to get used to Alpha having worked with Access first. Occasionally I still work with Access and I am amazed how much more work and coding I have to do to accomplish something similar in Alpha.

                Steve

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Comparing to Access

                  Thank you Steve, I am coming to that conclusion now, and I was a bit fustrated at first.
                  I am not giving up.
                  What I would like to know is how to select all records at once in a non relational table.
                  In other programs one may use Ctrl+A.
                  In A5 one has to scroll and mark (tedious).
                  Is there a way to do this ???
                  Regards
                  Graham

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Comparing to Access

                    ... how to select all records at once in a non relational table.
                    Interesting terminology.

                    For what reason might you be doing this?

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Comparing to Access

                      That was a quick reply indeed, thsnks.
                      I am experimenting importing records from various formats (Ascii,Excel,and access) so I really like to delete all records in a table and start else where, but delete all records quickly.
                      That is all I can say at the moment.
                      Graham

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Comparing to Access

                        One way to remove all records in a table:

                        On the Control Panel Tables/Sets tab, right click on the table to bring up the shortcut menu.

                        Select Utilities / Empty the table. Put a checkmark in the box to Pack Table too.
                        -Steve
                        sigpic

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Comparing to Access

                          Ok now we are cooking.
                          Thanks Steve I was sure there was a quick way.
                          Appreciate your help.
                          I have a friend who programs in Python and I told him yesterday he MUST take a serious look at A5, as I am sure he will be surprised at the ease of putting a project together.
                          (Harder for me) I am a newbie.
                          Regards
                          Graham

                          Comment

                          Working...
                          X