Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

10004-[QODBC] Error

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 10004-[QODBC] Error

    Could not create local cache for data from your Database. Your Database reported the following error:
    Database API Specific Error
    Your database has returned the following error code and description to Alpha Five. COnsult your database documentation for further information.

    10004-[QODBC] Error
    SQL state is: 42S00 while converting ResultSet to DBF table.

    Help! I just downloaded the tool and was doing demo and can't get past this error. Have linked data and refreshed but this same error.

  • #2
    Re: 10004-[QODBC] Error

    Judy,
    Was just curious if you found your answer? I receive the same message when I try to connect a couple different times when I don't set a parameter. Please let me know if you found anything out.
    Thanks!



    Originally posted by Judy Brenneke View Post
    Could not create local cache for data from your Database. Your Database reported the following error:
    Database API Specific Error
    Your database has returned the following error code and description to Alpha Five. COnsult your database documentation for further information.

    10004-[QODBC] Error
    SQL state is: 42S00 while converting ResultSet to DBF table.

    Help! I just downloaded the tool and was doing demo and can't get past this error. Have linked data and refreshed but this same error.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: 10004-[QODBC] Error

      Judy

      Somehow I missed your posting.... Sorry about that. :( ( don't let us get away with that - ask again.. or at least until we answer.)

      Elizabeth

      Sounds like you are refreshing from a QB report. Some of those reports require a parameter to operate - just like they do when you run them from QB. ie - PL Budget vs Actual needs to know the budget year that you are looking at.

      I typically setup the report and when I get to the part about parameters I press preview data and reset parameters until I get the data that I want.
      Al Buchholz
      Bookwood Systems, LTD
      Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

      Occam's Razor - KISS
      Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
      Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
      When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
      "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
      Albert Einstein

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: 10004-[QODBC] Error

        Originally posted by Al Buchholz View Post
        Judy

        Somehow I missed your posting.... Sorry about that. :( ( don't let us get away with that - ask again.. or at least until we answer.)

        Elizabeth

        Sounds like you are refreshing from a QB report. Some of those reports require a parameter to operate - just like they do when you run them from QB. ie - PL Budget vs Actual needs to know the budget year that you are looking at.

        I typically setup the report and when I get to the part about parameters I press preview data and reset parameters until I get the data that I want.
        Hi Al,

        The report we worked on a couple years ago is having this issue now. They upgraded to QB 2014, and it worked for February and now it won't refresh properly and they get this same error. They don't put in any parameters to do the refresh. It's all hard coded in.

        I also sent you an email, a response in either location would be great. Thank you!

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: 10004-[QODBC] Error

          Originally posted by EGartin View Post
          Hi Al,

          The report we worked on a couple years ago is having this issue now. They upgraded to QB 2014, and it worked for February and now it won't refresh properly and they get this same error. They don't put in any parameters to do the refresh. It's all hard coded in.

          I also sent you an email, a response in either location would be great. Thank you!
          Running against QB 2014 requires the appropriate QODBC driver and using a full or runtime version of Alpha.

          A QODBC driver newer than 2011 won't work with QRB.

          I also rest the optimizer file when I change QODBC versions. It's a button on the optimizer tab of the QODBC setup.
          Last edited by Al Buchholz; 04-10-2014, 03:35 PM.
          Al Buchholz
          Bookwood Systems, LTD
          Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

          Occam's Razor - KISS
          Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
          Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
          When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
          "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
          Albert Einstein

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: 10004-[QODBC] Error

            I am having the same problem. I have 2 reports that we run monthly. In April they ran fine but now I get : 10004-[QODBC] Error
            SQL state is: 42S00 while converting ResultSet to DBF table.
            when trying to refresh the invoice table. Has there been any progress on this problem?
            Thanks!

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: 10004-[QODBC] Error

              Originally posted by Jimmyc8 View Post
              I am having the same problem. I have 2 reports that we run monthly. In April they ran fine but now I get : 10004-[QODBC] Error
              SQL state is: 42S00 while converting ResultSet to DBF table.
              when trying to refresh the invoice table. Has there been any progress on this problem?
              Thanks!
              Did you change versions of quickbooks?

              What edition of Quickbooks and what table is generating the error?
              Al Buchholz
              Bookwood Systems, LTD
              Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

              Occam's Razor - KISS
              Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
              Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
              When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
              "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
              Albert Einstein

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: 10004-[QODBC] Error

                Hi Al, We have not made any changes to Quickbooks. We are running QB Enterprise 13 and QODBC version 13 . It's the Invoice table that gives the error. The reports use the Customer and Invoice tables. The Customer table refreshes just fine. Could the Invoice table be too large?
                Thanks!

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: 10004-[QODBC] Error

                  Originally posted by Jimmyc8 View Post
                  Hi Al, We have not made any changes to Quickbooks. We are running QB Enterprise 13 and QODBC version 13 . It's the Invoice table that gives the error. The reports use the Customer and Invoice tables. The Customer table refreshes just fine. Could the Invoice table be too large?
                  Thanks!
                  The invoice table probably isn't too big. From QB press F2 to get the stats on list tables and how many transactions you have.

                  2 areas to check.

                  1. Run a verify from QB utilities to check the company file. Rebuild if needed.

                  2. Reset/delete the QODBC optimizer file. I don't remember if v13 has a reset on the QODBC setup screen. Otherwise find the <companyfile>.opt file in a hidden directory of My Documents/User (xp or win 7) and delete it. It'll rebuild automagically.
                  Al Buchholz
                  Bookwood Systems, LTD
                  Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

                  Occam's Razor - KISS
                  Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
                  Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
                  When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
                  "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
                  Albert Einstein

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X