Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

    Hi,

    I would like to re-create the Item Price List for Price Level report from QuickBooks (found under the Reports -> List menu) so that I can add more header information and use the report as a replacement for my Excel Price Quotes. Each Customer has a Price Level associated with their record (of fixed type - percentage increase from the Sale Price, not per item) so ideally I could run this report for each Customer and add their contact information at the top of the report (plus my logo, address details, etc).

    I'm running into a conceptual problem because there is no direct link between the Items and the Price Level. If I choose the Item table as my main table I don't have anything to link to in the Price Level table and vice versa. If I choose Customer as my main table I don't have anything to link to in the Item table.

    I get that I have to create a calculated field to create my Customer Sale Price (Item->SalesPrice x PriceLevel->PriceLevelFixedPercentage) but just getting all the data available to the report is throwing me for a loop!

    Any guidance available on where to start?

    Elle

  • #2
    Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

    What version of QuickBooks are you running?

    I don't think the Intuit SDK allows us to see that data.

    If so, is there a QB report that can be exported with the data in it?

    Or if you are running QB Enterprise 2011, there is a link to custom reporting that might get the proper data extracted from the QB company file.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

      Hi Al,

      Thank you so much for the response. I'm using Quickbooks Premier Manufacturing and Wholesale Edition 2008. The report can be found under the Reports -> Lists -> Item Price List for Price Level menu item. When you choose that report you are then asked to select a Price Level before the report is presented to you.

      Yes, the data can be easily exported to Excel but I was hoping to avoid that sort of activity. It would be great if I could get the report to run in QReportBuilder so I can create the reports directly rather than export data over to Excel and the manipulate the layout every time.

      Basically I need to be able to cycle through the Item table, multiply the item price by the price level percentage to get the correct price for that customer (because each customer is assigned a price level). I can see these tables in QReportBuilder but don't have away to tie them together since there isn't a direct relationship.

      Any thoughts?

      Elle

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

        Originally posted by iNetElle View Post
        I can see these tables in QReportBuilder but don't have away to tie them together since there isn't a direct relationship.
        That's what we need to figure out.. How to get that data relationship out of QB...
        Last edited by Al Buchholz; 08-22-2011, 10:57 AM.
        Al Buchholz
        Bookwood Systems, LTD
        Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

        Occam's Razor - KISS
        Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
        Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
        When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

          OK, if I use the Database Explorer I can see a Set called 'item_set1' which defines the relationship between Item, Customer and Pricelevel. Can I use this set in my report? I'm not quite sure what a set is.

          Elle

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

            Originally posted by iNetElle View Post
            OK, if I use the Database Explorer I can see a Set called 'item_set1' which defines the relationship between Item, Customer and Pricelevel. Can I use this set in my report? I'm not quite sure what a set is.

            Elle
            Ok, I see the price level table is there..

            I'm also guessing that you are looking at the control panel to see the item_set1. Right click the set and zip it. send me the zip file, please.
            Last edited by Al Buchholz; 08-22-2011, 10:57 AM.
            Al Buchholz
            Bookwood Systems, LTD
            Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

            Occam's Razor - KISS
            Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
            Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
            When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

              There are two sets that contain the three tables I'm interested in. I've attached them both.Item_Set1.zip

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

                Here's the other set.Item_Set3.zip

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

                  Originally posted by iNetElle View Post
                  There are two sets that contain the three tables I'm interested in. I've attached them both.[ATTACH=CONFIG]29130[/ATTACH]
                  Refresh the pricelevelperitem table.

                  Make a set like this.
                  Customer => pricelevelperitem -> item.
                  Al Buchholz
                  Bookwood Systems, LTD
                  Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

                  Occam's Razor - KISS
                  Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
                  Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
                  When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

                    H Al,

                    The pricelevelperitem table is only used when you've set a special price for items within the price level (i.e. item 1 is $2, item 2 is $4, etc which differs from the standard pricing of item 1 is $1.50, item 2 is $3.00, etc). When you set a a Fixed % type of price level (i.e. 20% discount on standard pricing) the only place that % value exists is the pricelevel table. Took me a while to figure that out!
                    This would be easier if I was setting a special price for each item but that defeats the purpose of making price lists for customers easier to handle (because when you set a special price for each item in a per item price level the value doesn't change until you manually change it, unlike with the fixed % price level which is based on the standard sales price set in the item). Does that make sense?

                    Elle

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

                      So if you don't items thenLink customer to pricelist.Don't start with item.
                      Originally posted by Al Buchholz View Post
                      Refresh the pricelevelperitem table.Make a set like this.Customer => pricelevelperitem -> item.
                      Al Buchholz
                      Bookwood Systems, LTD
                      Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

                      Occam's Razor - KISS
                      Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
                      Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
                      When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Re-create Item Price List for Price Level

                        Hi Al,

                        Thank you for the help, I really appreciate the input. I think I've got it now - starting with the Customer was the way to go. Now to figure out all the other cool features in QReportBuilder!!!

                        Elle

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X