Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Alpha in Built Email Client not working

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Michael Humby
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    1,036

    Default Alpha in Built Email Client not working

    Hi All

    Please find attached a sample application to test the Alpha in built Email Client, it works as expected on our PC's but on several of our customers PC's an error is generated.

    I would be grateful if anyone could test this app on your own PC's to see if you get the error, if so any ideas how to eliminate the error? The script is on the 'On Push' event of the button.

    Thanks

    Michael
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Michael Humby; 07-02-2012 at 02:53 PM.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Alpha in Built Email Client not working

    No error here, Michael.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,283

    Default Re: Alpha in Built Email Client not working

    Nor here.

    Email_04.JPG

    But I'm sure that I had the problem a while back when fiddling with the e-mail settings and trying to get the mail out using Xbasic.

    I'm using Windows Live Mail and the recommended ports for SSL now with AlphaMailer and it all hangs together.

    Code.
    'Send an e- mail message using the Alpha Five e-mail clilent.
    if is_object(topparent.this) then
    form_name = topparent.name()+".this"
    else
    form_name = ""
    end if
    Dim message_type as c
    message_type = ""
    _to_var = a5_eval_expression("=From_Email",local_variables())
    param_to = _to_var
    subject_var = a5_eval_expression("=Subject",local_variables())
    param_subject = subject_var
    param_cc = ""
    param_bcc = ""
    message_var = a5_eval_expression("=Reply_Msg->Reply_Msg+Unpack",local_variables())
    param_message = message_var
    attachment_list = ""
    param_attachments = alltrim(attachment_list)
    'Send the e-mail using the Alpha Five e-mail client
    email_client(param_to,param_subject,param_message,param_attachments,param_cc,param_bcc,.t.,message_type)
    Last edited by Ted Giles; 07-02-2012 at 01:56 PM.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  4. #4
    Member Corelius's Avatar
    Real Name
    Cornelius Koempel
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Germany, Duisburg
    Posts
    173

    Default Re: Alpha in Built Email Client not working

    Michael,
    no problem at all here
    Cornelius

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Michael Humby
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    1,036

    Default Re: Alpha in Built Email Client not working

    Thanks everyone for testing, I'm desperate for someone else to see the error so that I can narrow it down, my problem is that it works OK most of the time but on some PCs the attached error is generated when the 'Send' button is pushed. Emailerror.png

    Any ideas welcome

    Michael

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,283

    Default Re: Alpha in Built Email Client not working

    Dupe
    Last edited by Ted Giles; 07-03-2012 at 03:56 AM.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,283

    Default Re: Alpha in Built Email Client not working

    Mike, my two pennyworth.
    Does the error always occur with the same PC's
    What software has been added to those PC's. Has anyone loaded V11 on test on the PC? This has mullered my system once before in the early days.
    Is the profile accurate on the Pc's you are having problems with
    Are all PC's running the same Opsys
    Are you running a RunTime app or native Development
    If using RT, is the build the same as the Dev version

    Have you reinstalled the application on the problem PC's
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

Similar Threads

  1. How to use Alpha Email Client
    By Rhett Scott in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-31-2009, 08:30 PM
  2. Help with Alpha Email Client
    By boba in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-15-2008, 11:13 AM
  3. Built-in Email Client Settings
    By Michael Humby in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 07:06 AM
  4. A5 email client not working
    By Raymond Lyons in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 12:14 AM
  5. Alpha Email Client - Forwarding email
    By Steve Wood in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2006, 04:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •