Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Using the grouping feature on a grid in V11

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,842

    Default Using the grouping feature on a grid in V11

    I want to do two things with the new grouping feature on a grid:

    1) I need it to sort in DESCENDING order. There does not seem to be a way to tell it which way you want a group to sort.

    2) I want the first group in the grid to be open, but all other groups to be closed. I don't see a way to do that either.

    for #2, I wonder if I could start with all the groups closed and use some event to just open the top one - but I have NO idea how to accomplish that in A5.

    Larry

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,628

    Default Re: Using the grouping feature on a grid in V11

    Larry - Just thinking out loud:

    For the ordering, could you have an additional field in your table to help with the sort? For instance, if the field you want to sort on is MyOrder, then maybe have another field where value of MyOrder is (MyOrder * -1) -- something like that?

    As for the initial open, I'm betting there's a javascript method and place to fire that javascript. Below is the html from one of my group headers - check out the OnClick event.


    Code:
    <td class="MobBlueGridDataHeader" onclick="ROTATOR_ANIMAL_LCS_ROTATOR_ANIMAL_FOODBASE_ROTATE_ZFWR_P1_GridObj.groupBreakShowHide(1,'2','toggle');" colspan="2">
    <img id="ROTATOR_ANIMAL_LCS_ROTATOR_ANIMAL_FOODBASE_ROTATE_ZFWR_P1.GHCLOSE.4" src="CSS/MobBlue/Collapse.png" style="vertical-align: middle; display: none;">
    <img id="ROTATOR_ANIMAL_LCS_ROTATOR_ANIMAL_FOODBASE_ROTATE_ZFWR_P1.GHOPEN.4" src="CSS/MobBlue/Expand.png" style="vertical-align: middle;">
    <span id="h_2">Monday</span>
    </td>
    -Steve


  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,842

    Default Re: Using the grouping feature on a grid in V11

    Steve,

    After posting my message, I thought of creating a reverse order field - that worked fine. This particular grid is based on a view anyway, so it was easy to add.

    As for the Javascript - I agree, there is probably a way to do it - but I don't know Javascript well enough to figure it out myself!

Similar Threads

  1. Grouping in grid V11 on multiple fields
    By lemandras in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-02-2014, 01:01 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 08:21 AM
  3. Dialog in V11 - Best new feature.
    By ssmoore1 in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-13-2011, 11:38 AM
  4. new cool feature in v11 grid - summary values in Group Headers and Footers
    By Richard Rabins in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-29-2011, 10:52 AM
  5. Grouping a Grid
    By Steve Workings in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-10-2007, 10:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •