Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can I protect a runtime Alpha database from being opened by another Alpha developer?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    283

    Default Can I protect a runtime Alpha database from being opened by another Alpha developer?

    Ideally I would like a password attached to a database that secures access to the control file. I know this is already possible but I also know it can be circumvented with the use of a combination of key depressions.
    I noticed some reference to protecting scripts but as usual in true Alpha style there is insufficient explanation...

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Can I protect a runtime Alpha database from being opened by another Alpha develop

    Hi Paul,

    There are a couple of things you can do. First, compile all your scripts into AEX, then delete them. Second put a password on all forms and reports.

    Check the box to prevent the application being opened with Ctrl+Shift.

    One other thing is to get the user to send you an email with a special code, that the application created that relates to the machine name. You process this to create an Unlock key, which the user must enter into the application.
    I noticed some reference to protecting scripts but as usual in true Alpha style there is insufficient explanation...
    That is because there are so many ways to do what you want, Alpha can't list them all. Sometime you have to use some imagination, or ask on this forum.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    283

    Default Re: Can I protect a runtime Alpha database from being opened by another Alpha develop

    Thanks Keith, greatly appreciated. Will try all those suggestions. Didn't know about the check box thing...

    Paul

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,355

    Default Re: Can I protect a runtime Alpha database from being opened by another Alpha develop

    Check the box to prevent the application being opened with Ctrl+Shift
    I believe this can be undone Keith?

    Yep. http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...up-form-bypass
    Last edited by Ted Giles; 09-21-2012 at 11:13 AM.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Can I protect a runtime Alpha database from being opened by another Alpha develop

    Hi Ted,

    Yep. That is true, if you allow the user to get to the CP.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,355

    Default Re: Can I protect a runtime Alpha database from being opened by another Alpha develop

    Nope dont need the CP, just the Alpha menu View/Settings.
    That needs to be hidden/supplimented as well.

    How's the Rag Trade?
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Can I protect a runtime Alpha database from being opened by another Alpha develop

    How's the Rag Trade?
    Still working on it.

    You are also correct about how you develop the Menu and Toolbars.

    There are so many nooks and crannies to consider when locking down an application.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    283

    Default Re: Can I protect a runtime Alpha database from being opened by another Alpha develop

    Thanks to you as well Ted

Similar Threads

  1. Alpha Five v10 Developer Training by Alpha Software
    By Richard Rabins in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-26-2009, 11:09 AM
  2. Alpha Five v10 Developer Training by Alpha Software
    By Richard Rabins in forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-17-2009, 04:52 PM
  3. PR opportunity for alpha developer
    By Richard Rabins in forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-09-2007, 10:10 PM
  4. Need a ALPHA Five Developer/Admin
    By Sako Mikhail in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-12-2003, 02:20 PM
  5. 3 sessions opened in Alpha? ? is this right
    By Willard in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-27-2002, 05:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •