New call-to-action
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Strange Memo Field Error

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Melvin
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    133

    Default Strange Memo Field Error

    Hi All

    I've come across a strange error on all of my desktop forms.

    When a user tabs or clicks onto a memo field, the background around the the field changes color.

    Below is an example. The first picture is of the form before tabbing onto the Internal Notes field. The second picture is after tabbing onto the field.

    Capture1.JPG

    Capture2.JPG

    The the color the background is changing to seems to match the form background color. Id there a way to correct this?

    Here are some more examples

    Capture3.JPG

    Capture4.JPG

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    My best guess is, that you are experiencing some corruption in your tabbed object, not in the memo field, however the memo field in itself is not invulnerable to corruption either.

    What you might want to do is:

    1) Did it start to happen at some point in time and do you have a backup form from before that point? Rename the current form to something like "tabbed_old" or so and you could roll back to the previous form and look what happens there. If it does not change things positively, switch back to the last known situation again.

    2) Work on the current form:

    Duplicate the form and rename the duplicate to "tabbed_old" for possible future roll back.
    Extend the old form to double dimensions of what you have now. Move ALL the objects and fields on the current tabbed object to this extended area. Don't forget any object on other tabs than the one that might be open currently! In the end, you will have only the tabbed object open. I go from the thought you have worked out the graphic design in a stylesheet. Delete the old tabbed object. Create a new one and put it in place. Move back all of your other objects and fields that need to be on the new tabbed object. Save the form. Test it.

    Success!

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Looks better to me with all the background filled.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Hi Marcel,

    Did you know that V11 has a history file? This can be set to save previous layouts, to roll back to, if need be.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Hubert View Post
    Hi Marcel,

    Did you know that V11 has a history file? This can be set to save previous layouts, to roll back to, if need be.
    Yes, that is why I mentioned the rollback option a few times. The solution however may not be in rolling back since the corruption may have been there a long time.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Melvin
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Hi Marcel

    This problem has existed since I first started building forms. I've run both tests that you suggested and neither have resolved the issue. After some further testing I've also notice this issue occur on date fields. It seems that any field with a dialog box button is causing the background of my tabbed objects to change color.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Melvin,

    Can you duplicate this in Alphasports? By that I mean, add a memo field to the customer table and add that to the Invoice form.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Melvin
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Hi Keith

    I created a new table in Alphasports, added a couple of date and memo fields, then created a from with a tabbed object.

    I then changed the color of the tab backgrounds, changed to form view and tabbed through the form a couple of times.

    Sadly I got the same results.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Can you zip your example as you stated above and post it here? Let me look if I can replicate the problem over here.
    Best is to create an example from scratch with some bogus new table and one form. Keep it small.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Melvin
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Marcel

    Attached is a copy of the sample database you requested.

    Here are also some pictures of the issue occurring in this new sample database.

    Capture1.JPG

    Capture2.JPG

    Test Tab Issue.zip

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Hey Melvin,

    I can not reproduce the error in your example database. It works as expected.
    Hence, my best guess is that your Alpha Installation is corrupt.
    I would advise you to de-install Alpha Five itself (NOT the databases of course!!!!) and make sure the registry is clean.
    Then re-install Alpha Five.

    The problem should then be gone.

    Best regards,

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Melvin
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Marcel

    I've uninstalled, then re-installed Alpha Five but the issue still remains.

    I have installed runtime on other PC's and deployed my application, this issue is occurring on those machines as well.

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Remarkable...
    So, if it happens on other machines as well, we can rule out any machine related issue. Since you reinstalled Alpha, it is not in Alpha Five itself either as it seems.

    Are all the issues starting from your first post occurring on client/runtime installs? Or does it also occur on the development install of Alpha Five?
    Are your runtime and development version numbers the same?

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    Melvin
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    It appears to happen on both development and runtime installs.

  15. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    The strange thing however is, that I can not reproduce this error which makes one think.
    Is there any other Alpha developer here that can confirm Melvin's error, or not?
    Melvin, did you check whether the version/build numbers of both development and runtime versions are the same?

  16. #16
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Finian Lennon
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,805

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Hi Melvin/Marcel:

    The first time I entered data in the test form, as soon as I tabbed out of the ID field I saw the colors change behind the date fields, just as in your online image.

    However, when I recreated the form on my system using the Default form, all fields option, the problem goes away.

    Then, to confirm the above, I went back and unpacked your files again. This time however, I did not see the color changes like I did before.

    So I'm inclined to agree with Marcel, that there is an issue/conflict in your Alpha/system configuration but I wouldn't have a clue as to where.

    Hardly the definitive result one would hope for!
    Finian

  17. #17
    Member
    Real Name
    Melvin
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Thanks for your input Finian.

    Is this an issue that I should contact Alpha Software about?

  18. #18
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    In the end you would. But first I would make sure I had a correct Alpha version installed. You removed it's installation. But did you then afterwards install from the same, earlier, download? If I were you, I would do it all over again: de-install Alpha Five Development environment (save the databases though) and download a fresh installer to completely re-install from scratch. Make sure that the version and build numbers of the development environment are matched in the runtime installations. If they don't: patch them.
    If this does not work: yes, I would contact Support for that.

  19. #19
    Member
    Real Name
    Melvin
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Thanks Marcel

    I've sent an email to the Alpha Software Customer Service Inbox.

  20. #20
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,310

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    I was able to reproduce the issue once, but then never again after quite some time testing it.

    You could try putting this code in the onTabChange event to force a screen repaint:

    A5.repaint()

  21. #21
    Member
    Real Name
    Melvin
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Strange Memo Field Error

    Selwyn: Your A5.repaint() idea worked nicely. I've also added it to the memo field OnArrive function.

    I've contacted Alpha Software about the issue and will leave my ticket open to see what the cause is.

Similar Threads

  1. Error when placing character data into a memo field on a form
    By brett s in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-14-2007, 02:42 AM
  2. Error Auto Writing to Memo Field
    By Dale Bradt in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-10-2004, 07:39 AM
  3. 'field isn't memo type' report error message..??
    By Jim Chapman in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-27-2003, 12:14 PM
  4. Possible Memo Field Error
    By Sam Wagoner in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-27-2002, 06:29 PM
  5. memo field error
    By John Lemisch in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-31-2002, 11:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •