Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Is there a way to keep fields together in a container inside a report group header?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Edwin Lee
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    104

    Default Is there a way to keep fields together in a container inside a report group header?

    In using discrete fields and sub-report together in a group header, I found that the discrete fields are pushed around when the sub-report grows. Is there a way to collect the fields together so that they will stay in the same region?
    (I have tried frame, but frame seems not applicable in a report design, a field dropped into a frame does not stay in the frame).

    Any recommendation will be appreciated.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Is there a way to keep fields together in a container inside a report group heade

    How about a calculated field?
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Edwin Lee
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: Is there a way to keep fields together in a container inside a report group heade

    All those are discrete fields like name, ID number, etc..
    I don't need calculated field, all I need is to be able to "contain" these fields, so that they don't get moved by a growing sub-report next to them.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Edwin Lee
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: Is there a way to keep fields together in a container inside a report group heade

    I double checked using frame and it seems to work somewhat. Even though the fields do not move with the frame, it seems to be able to keep them from splitting by the sub-report. It is still not perfect as some extra row space appears for a long sub-report.

    I still would welcome additional insights on this topic. Thanks!
    Last edited by Delta Force; 12-06-2012 at 04:52 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Action button in grid group break group header
    By Steve Workings in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-08-2012, 12:59 AM
  2. Accordion container inside a Tabbed UI
    By Claire Shuttleworth in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2011, 03:01 PM
  3. Report header and group header, but not both?
    By Mike Wilson in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-23-2010, 12:24 AM
  4. Report and Group Header Issue
    By ninomcd in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 07:01 PM
  5. Report Group Header
    By Joseph Claeys in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-02-2004, 02:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •