Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: I don't know if is a desktop or web question--desktop web component based apps A5v11

  1. #1
    Member jkwrpc's Avatar
    Real Name
    John Willems
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Apple Valley, Minnesota
    Posts
    458

    Default I don't know if is a desktop or web question--desktop web component based apps A5v11

    I have been asked to help with partially developed application. The former developer is no longer in the area or available for contact.

    The original design requirements was that it was be a stand alone app (think desktop) but make heavy use of web components in fact almost exclusive use of them. There are no real desktop forms apart from a form used as menu. The requirement is to use the desktop runtime and not the WAS, There are simply grids and page layouts. The primary working screen is a complex web component

    Here is a snippet of the code

    dim formname as c = ""
    if eval_valid("topparent.class()") then
    if topparent.class() = "Form" .or. topparent.class() = "Browse" then
    formname = topparent.name()
    end if
    end if
    dim pg as p

    dim componentType as c
    componentType = "PageLayout"
    if componentType = "Grid" then
    pg = a5_GridComponentOpenInWindow(gridName,style,options,formname)
    else
    pg = a5_WebComponentOpenInWindow(gridName,componentType,style,options,formname)
    end if


    Can someone explain why this works in Runtime without WAS and outside of being embedded in a form (is the code is effectively embedding it in a blank form)? Assuming this development scheme continues, will the customer be able to successfully deploy the app as a download with just the Runtime?

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,642

    Default Re: I don't know if is a desktop or web question--desktop web component based apps A5

    I think the grid is running in an xdialog.

  3. #3
    Member jkwrpc's Avatar
    Real Name
    John Willems
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Apple Valley, Minnesota
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: I don't know if is a desktop or web question--desktop web component based apps A5

    Peter - thanks for the response. After I posted this I have been watching some of the videos on embedded grid. This is new to me since it was not available in 10.5 or earlier versions but is in v11. I am now wondering if this is not the xBasic version of that action script process. I may need to build an test grid and see.

    In 10.5 I tried to use a grid in my app. It worked fine until I went to deploy it and would fail. So I backed off from using it. I had several others look at it and it failed for them as well. Perhaps v11 using the now included v10 feature pack resolved the problem.

    Time to experiment I guess.

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,642

    Default Re: I don't know if is a desktop or web question--desktop web component based apps A5

    John,

    I read a few weeks back that the problem deploying has to do with a hard-coded pathing issue for the web components. Sorry i don't have a link, but it was in the desktop section (v11 or v10, not sure).

  5. #5
    Member jkwrpc's Avatar
    Real Name
    John Willems
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Apple Valley, Minnesota
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: I don't know if is a desktop or web question--desktop web component based apps A5

    I did a bit of experimenting and the code I see it is the xBasic for the action script to open a grid web component. So that mystery is solved. The grid appears to open in a form and not as an xDialog. For those of us that did not have the v10 feature pack and are new to v11 this is new functionality. Its worth exploring. I just wonder if it resolves the deployment problems I and some other experienced?

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,642

    Default Re: I don't know if is a desktop or web question--desktop web component based apps A5

    Quote Originally Posted by jkwrpc View Post
    I did a bit of experimenting and the code I see it is the xBasic for the action script to open a grid web component. So that mystery is solved. The grid appears to open in a form and not as an xDialog.
    I'm not so sure. The key code is this:

    Code:
    dim componentType as c 
    componentType = "Grid"
    if componentType = "Grid" then 
    	pg = a5_GridComponentOpenInWindow(gridName,style,options,formname)
    else
    	pg = a5_WebComponentOpenInWindow(gridName,componentType,style,options,formname)
    end if
    I might be wrong, but if I were to guess, I would say that a5_GridComponentOpenInWindow() may be xdialog?

  7. #7
    Member jkwrpc's Avatar
    Real Name
    John Willems
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Apple Valley, Minnesota
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: I don't know if is a desktop or web question--desktop web component based apps A5

    Peter - its a great question and one I cannot answer. However, when it opens it does not have the appearance of what I typically see as an xDialog window.

Similar Threads

  1. Desktop elements not used for web apps
    By alartm in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 08:48 PM
  2. Can Desktop apps be better than Web based?
    By Mario Prieto in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 05-08-2007, 01:18 PM
  3. building web and desktop apps in v8 - videos
    By Richard Rabins in forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 08:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •