Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Using Alpha Five Video Component on Secure Site

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Terry McCorvie
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    38

    Default Using Alpha Five Video Component on Secure Site

    Anyone know how to prevent Chrome from blocking the video player component? The URL I am linking to is at https URL, but Chrome always says it contains insecure content. Evertime I want to play a video, I have to go to the menu and verify that I want to load the video even though it has insecure content.

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Jonson
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    418

    Default Re: Using Alpha Five Video Component on Secure Site

    I have now run into this problem as well, Did you find a solution?

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Terry McCorvie
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: Using Alpha Five Video Component on Secure Site

    I am just not using the video component. Never could find a workaround to the secure content issue, even when I told YouTube to use a secure URL. I now house my videos at iplayerhd.com and just have the URL for the video inside a pop-up window. Works fine.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Jonson
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    418

    Default Re: Using Alpha Five Video Component on Secure Site

    I have posted a bug report for this as it does seem to be an oversight that it cannot use SSL
    We will see what happens.
    Bruce

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Jonson
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    418

    Default Re: Using Alpha Five Video Component on Secure Site

    Just to let everyone know, this has been addressed in Build 1617-4170 (V12)
    There is now an "Use SSL" flag
    We have tested this out our SSL site and works a treat now.

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,829

    Default Re: Using Alpha Five Video Component on Secure Site

    Does that mean this whole thread is supposed to be in the V12 section?
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Jonson
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    418

    Default Re: Using Alpha Five Video Component on Secure Site

    Umm No
    I had started this thread over on the V12 side
    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...-on-a-SSL-site
    I had just came across this thread hitting the same problem in V12, I was just just saying it has been addressed in V12 Not sure with components like that if he fix will find its way into V11.
    I can ask Bob as I think it is his module and he seemed to be addressing it. I will ask him over on the other thread.

    As a little side note: these two theads are a prime example of the issue rased in this thread.
    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ng-for-a-topic

    I searched for video component, SSL, You tube etc etc couldn't find anything, so create my new thread and then in the "similar threads" this thread turns up ! annoying!
    I know this is vBulletin software and not Alpha's but the search surely does suck.
    Anyway I digress, sorry

    B
    Last edited by kiwibruce; 08-20-2013 at 05:49 AM. Reason: typos

Similar Threads

  1. New video for Dialog component in Alpha Five v11
    By Richard Rabins in forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-2012, 01:11 PM
  2. The video component
    By Sparticuz in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-20-2012, 07:50 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 09:07 PM
  4. F-Secure Anti-Virus also says Alpha has Viruses
    By jdrake in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 08:55 AM
  5. Session variables in non secure to secure sites
    By Pat Bremkamp in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 10:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •