Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Utility to make a copy of a Web Project

  1. #1
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Utility to make a copy of a Web Project

    Here is a handy batch file to make a copy of an existing A5 Web Project. It asks for the project folder name and the target folder name. The folder name must be the same as the .ADB filename. So if you have an ADB file named "myproject.adb", it needs to be in a folder named "myproject".

    The batch file creates the target folder and them copies ALL of the files from the source folder to the target folder -- then it selectively deletes and renames files in the target folder. For instance, it deletes the project.settings file so that your publishing settings from the old project are not carried over to the new project. This is actually a requirement, you must re-create desired publishing profiles in the new project or Alpha will have a problem running both projects at the same time.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    David Donohue
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: Utility to make a copy of a Web Project

    Happy new Year!!

    I see nobody has thanked you so let me be the first.

    Well done

    David

  3. #3
    Member mixter's Avatar
    Real Name
    Michael Merlin
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: Utility to make a copy of a Web Project

    Steve, this batch file is an excellent tool and great contribution, thank you!

    For future reference for others, worth watching Steve's video where he show's it in action

    http://www.screencast.com/t/NWZkODYyN


    and some conversations that pointed me here

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...copy-a-project

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ith-a-new-name

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard Mumma
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Richland, WA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: Utility to make a copy of a Web Project

    I have a copy of you batch file but can't get it to work. The batch is asking for a "template folder" (I assume this means the project to be copied) mine is C:\AlphaAnywhereProjects. This returns a message "C:\AlphaAnywhereProjects.ALB not found, Project must be same name as Project folder. Do I have to make a new folder with the same name as the project before I can use this batch file?

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Utility to make a copy of a Web Project

    The second and third sentences of the original post indicate so.

    The folder name must be the same as the .ADB filename. So if you have an ADB file named "myproject.adb", it needs to be in a folder named "myproject".
    There can be only one.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Simone Baring-Gould
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: Utility to make a copy of a Web Project

    Thank you very much, Steve, for making this script available!!

  7. #7
    Member gkpurcey's Avatar
    Real Name
    Gordon Purcey
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    276

    Default Re: Utility to make a copy of a Web Project

    I tried to view this video, but apparently the link has changed or has been removed. Is it still available?

    Quote Originally Posted by mixter View Post
    Steve, this batch file is an excellent tool and great contribution, thank you!

    For future reference for others, worth watching Steve's video where he show's it in action

    http://www.screencast.com/t/NWZkODYyN

    and some conversations that pointed me here

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...copy-a-project

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ith-a-new-name

  8. #8
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Utility to make a copy of a Web Project

    The utility is pretty simple, no need for a video. Just obey the two rules: 1) the project must be in a folder named the same as the project name, 2) put the batch file outside of the project folder. E.g., if your project is named Gilligan.adb it should be in a folder named gilligan and the bat file goes just outside of the gilligan folder.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  9. #9
    Member gkpurcey's Avatar
    Real Name
    Gordon Purcey
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    276

    Default Re: Utility to make a copy of a Web Project

    Thanks Steve,

    I ran the batch file from my downloads folder and it took me a while to find where the new folder was...
    Thanks for the nice utility.

Similar Threads

  1. How can I copy a project
    By richard@tbdinc.net in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-17-2013, 06:44 PM
  2. The Copy Utility Database. Was it from Finnian? Or?
    By mronck in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-11-2012, 11:56 AM
  3. Make the Feature Packs avilable in my Web Project
    By YigalAyalon in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-02-2012, 01:16 AM
  4. Copy from one project to another
    By Pat Bremkamp in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2005, 09:47 AM
  5. Web project - Many databases under one project
    By Robert Rough in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-11-2005, 06:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •