Alpha Video Training

Thread: *Newbie*-- Form vs Report for Invoice

Real Name
    Jim Connell

Default *Newbie*-- Form vs Report for Invoice

Forgive me if this is too basic -- feel free to point me at the Wiki or elsewhere...

I'm trying to create a simple invoicing application, with the caveat that it needs to replicate an existing DOS Paradox application with many manual steps. If I can get something reasonably close and usable, I'll buy a developer license and start trying to seriously use and learn Alpha. I'm an experienced old-time programmer but never learned DB programming.

The question today is: what roles should Forms and Reports have? My invoice report is (or will be) pretty complicated, with a bunch of detail sections and several (optional) pages with different formats. However, I'd like the data entry form to look like the printed invoice, which raises the question of whether I then need to duplicate the report layout in the form, and if so, why not just use the form as the report? It's clear to me so far that it's impossible to enter/edit fields on a report. But what about doing fancy layout/formatting on a form? Are there ways to control the printing of a form beyond its screen appearance?

Feel free to tell me I'm nuts. I'm just trying to avoid heading down a long and probably frustrating dead end.

Thanks,

-jimc

"Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews

Default Re: *Newbie*-- Form vs Report for Invoice

The general advice is that forms are for viewing and reports are for printing.

Forms don''t have "detail sections" insofar as I am aware. You can create grouping levels on reports, not forms.

with a bunch of detail sections
    A report only supports one detail section. Not sure what the need for multiple sections would be.

After designing your form you can create a blank report and import the form layout, then tweak as necessary.
    There can be only one.

Real Name
    Jim Connell