Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Does anyone know of a method to refresh a panel that has been made active?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Josh Cole
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    678

    Default Does anyone know of a method to refresh a panel that has been made active?

    I have a read-only panel card that displays the users information. They click on a button to take them to a new panel card which allows them to modify some of their information. Once they save, I'd like to refresh the read only panel so that it displays the changes. I know if you are using a list control you can refresh it. I guess I need some javascript that will refresh the data for me. Can anyone provide an example of how it's done?

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Dave
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    621

    Default Re: Does anyone know of a method to refresh a panel that has been made active?

    Do you know if you want to refresh the panel controls via the process of re-reading the data from the database and populating the controls or just re-setting the controls with the submitted data already in memory? If you have not saved the data to the database, you will obviously have to go with option 2.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Josh Cole
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    678

    Default Re: Does anyone know of a method to refresh a panel that has been made active?

    I decided to force a logout after these changes which solved my problem. They are new values that have been submitted to the database though, to answer your question...Not what was already in memory.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Josh Cole
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    678

    Default Re: Does anyone know of a method to refresh a panel that has been made active?

    This is still an issue for me actually, with a different panel now. If I want to refresh the a5w page when I set the active panel to my navigation panel where would I stick that? Is it xbasic or javascript? Any help is appreciated. I think that's the only way to accomplish what I need. What's happening is that when I give focus back to the panel I am using to create new records, the values entered previously are still there.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Clipper87's Avatar
    Real Name
    Frank
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    1,891

    Default Re: Does anyone know of a method to refresh a panel that has been made active?

    Have you tried in the onpanelactivate event to set the innerhtml of panelcard 1 to the new values ? A panel refresh method does seem like an interesting suggestion to me; you may want to suggest it to Selwyn.
    Frank

    Tell me and I'll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I'll understand

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Josh Cole
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    678

    Default Re: Does anyone know of a method to refresh a panel that has been made active?

    Frank,

    I'm not seeing that event as an option. I did however use some inline javascript to set the controls value to ''

    Thanks for the suggestion, it works.
    Last edited by coleresources; 05-01-2013 at 09:31 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found
    By Steve T in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 10:38 AM
  2. Proper method to hide, show control panel
    By Beltronics in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 09:05 AM
  3. Browse resynch/refresh - proper method?
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 07-17-2007, 11:19 AM
  4. Refresh Control Panel?
    By Ohlen Cartmell in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-05-2003, 01:26 PM
  5. Control Panel Refresh vs. Shadow
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-30-2002, 04:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •