Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: *.WebProjects Folder Not Getting Pulled Into Desktop Shadow Folder

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Snyder
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN and Medellin, Colombia
    Posts
    53

    Default *.WebProjects Folder Not Getting Pulled Into Desktop Shadow Folder

    I have recently added a web component to my desktop application. It is a fairly simple embedded grid (embedded into a desktop form). It works well when run from my developer copy of A5 v11. However, this embedded web component does not work when I use the runtime installed on a workstation (networked to a share drive, using network optimization). I am using the latest version of the developer and runtime versions of A5. Actually, the embedded web component form will work with the runtime version if I give the runtime access to the WebProjects folder - by either copying the WebProjects folder into the shadow drive (on the local workstation) or by pointing the runtime to my application (.adb file) on the server, where the WebProjects folder resides.

    The only thing that I can think I may have done wrong is not publishing a web component before using the latest update for the developer version. I may have published my first web component after I ran the updated version. In any case, I have since re-updated with the latest patch and it still does not push/pull the WebProjects folder into the shadow folder. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I might try next? I guess I could always go 'shadowless'... that is, configure all the desktops in our office to run the application directly from the central server. Thanks in advance...

    Jim

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,366

    Default Re: *.WebProjects Folder Not Getting Pulled Into Desktop Shadow Folder

    There is an option to include the web files In the build, Jim.
    Can't show you where as I am a long way from my desk.
    Try creating a Rtime pack and make sure the web stuff is included.
    You may need to point the app at the folder with the grid in it.
    I' ll try and send an example Thursday if you are still struggling.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Snyder
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN and Medellin, Colombia
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: *.WebProjects Folder Not Getting Pulled Into Desktop Shadow Folder

    Thanks Ted. Sounds like you probably nailed it. I never would have considered the run-time pack to be the issue. I give it a try and post the results back here.

    Jim

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: *.WebProjects Folder Not Getting Pulled Into Desktop Shadow Folder

    In past builds, the copy of the webprojects folder into the shadow on shadow-creation was forgotten: it did not work. In relation to my research around WCD technology I have reported this issue with Selwyn and he repaired it swiftly. The newest builds available in the pre-release section have the repaired code and WILL copy the webprojects folder correctly when you create a shadow.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Snyder
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN and Medellin, Colombia
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: *.WebProjects Folder Not Getting Pulled Into Desktop Shadow Folder

    Well, I have made a new installation package of my application files using the latest production-ready build of A5 v11. In making this new intallation package I selected for inclusion most of the files that reside in my .WebProjects folder. I have also installed the new build of the run-time on all the desktops in our office. Before I install this new version of my app on our network share drive I have a couple questions:

    1. In the .WebProjects folder are some subfolders named _backup.backup and _Undo.undo. Should I have included these files when I made my new installation package?

    2. After I make my new installation package, yet before I install it, users will likely add new data to the old database file. How do I recover this interval data to my new installation folder (the folder to which my new application files will be installed). I assume that I need to copy some data files from the old installation folder. Which files from the old installation folder do I need to copy to my new installation folder? Just the obvious .dbf files? The .adb file? I know this is pretty basic, but this is my first app and I never got a real handle on this important issue. This transition makes me nervous.

    Thanks,

    Jim

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Snyder
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN and Medellin, Colombia
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: *.WebProjects Folder Not Getting Pulled Into Desktop Shadow Folder

    I just found this info:



    To copy the database design (without data), select all files except:
    .ASX - A temporary file containing the indexing information generated by a query against a set
    .DBF - Table data
    .CDX - Table indexes
    .FPT - Memo field data, which may include text or graphics
    .MPX - A temporary file containing the indexing information generated by a query against a table
    .MUF - Temporary files that Alpha Five creates to control the number of people who can concurrently open a database.


    Therefore, to copy just the data from my old version to the new version, do I copy only those files listed above?

    Jim

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,366

    Default Re: *.WebProjects Folder Not Getting Pulled Into Desktop Shadow Folder

    You have a problem with transient data.
    If I was doing this, and to be absolutely sure that I got it right, I'd probably do something like this;
    Backup current.
    Install new in a different folder with an empty dbf.
    Import data from current.
    Rebuild indices.
    Test the results.
    Post new Icon on users desktops to point to the new instance.
    Mothball (zip) old folder content.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: *.WebProjects Folder Not Getting Pulled Into Desktop Shadow Folder

    Well, in your first post you spoke about creating a shadow, whilst in your later post you speak about creating a new installation package of your application. That are completely different things.
    Besides that, you speak about having installed the "latest production ready build" of Alpha Five. Be advised that this is NOT the same as the release I spoke about in my earlier response. The pre-release builds are not the same as the production builds. The latest production build does NOT include the repair for pulling the web projects folder into the shadow. For that you need a pre-release build since the repair on that bug is of far later date then the latest production build.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Snyder
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN and Medellin, Colombia
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: *.WebProjects Folder Not Getting Pulled Into Desktop Shadow Folder

    You have a problem with transient data.
    If I was doing this, and to be absolutely sure that I got it right, I'd probably do something like this;
    Backup current.
    Install new in a different folder with an empty dbf.
    Import data from current.
    Rebuild indices.
    Test the results.
    Post new Icon on users desktops to point to the new instance.
    Mothball (zip) old folder content.
    Thanks, Ted. That's exactly what I ended up doing (at least up to and including, 'test the results'). It is working fine. Also, your suggestion to rebuild the install package and explicitly include the files in the .WebProject folder worked - these files are now pulled into the shadow folder upon 'shadow refresh' or upon a version change number for my application.


    Marcel, thanks for your clarifications:

    1.
    Well, in your first post you spoke about creating a shadow, whilst in your later post you speak about creating a new installation package of your application. That are completely different things.
    You are right, Marcel. My initial question was about how to get the WebProject files (or folder) pulled into the shadow folder. To solve this problem, Ted's suggestion was to create a new installation package, but this time to indicate that the WebProject files were to be included. I had not done that on my first go-round. I am not even sure that option was present on the developer version that I initially used to make the installation package. In any case, instructing the install maker to include the files in the .WebProjects folder has worked.

    2.
    you speak about having installed the "latest production ready build" of Alpha Five. Be advised that this is NOT the same as the release I spoke about in my earlier response.
    You are right again. In fact, I intentionally used the 'hyper-specific' term, "latest production ready build", to distinguish it from the pre-release build. The build that I am now using is 3381/4096. It was released in March of this year. Now, it is entirely possible that my ADD was flaring up when I downloaded and patched my developer copy; I may have patched it with a pre-release build instead of a full-release build (or whatever its called). Please correct me if I am wrong.

    3.
    The latest production build does NOT include the repair for pulling the web projects folder into the shadow.
    I'm not sure what to say here. As you have likely read in my post already, my current build - which I suspect is a full-release build - seems to be working well in this regard (i.e. pulling .WebProject files into the shadow folder). I have tested it several times by making small changes to my web component then running the shadow copy and refreshing. Therefore, I don't think I am fooling myself. Anyway, I will be interested to hear your thoughts. Thanks for your help.

    Jim
    Last edited by drjgs200; 05-17-2013 at 07:44 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. TabbedUI How do I expand a tree folder \ branch on folder or text click?
    By LukeS in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-16-2013, 05:19 PM
  2. Is it OK to delete the files in the Cached_Data folder in the project folder?
    By kingcarol in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-24-2011, 01:06 PM
  3. Import and Store Images on a Desktop Folder
    By johnsocm in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-05-2009, 11:07 AM
  4. Function for select folder using windows get folder dialog?
    By jjfcpa in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-12-2008, 06:49 PM
  5. Which files go in Webprojects folder?
    By Wanda Tucker in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-16-2005, 01:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •