Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 29 of 29

Thread: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Mark Williams
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    318

    Default Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    I am still confused on the licensing of Alpha Anywhere v12. I haven't seen anything definitive on this (at least that is clear to me).

    I have a Developer, Runtime and Application Server license for v11 and use them all for our internal application. We do not market this app as it is tailored to our business.

    If I choose to stay with v11, I can continue to utilize the existing software forever without any additional fees.

    If I upgrade all of the above to v12 am I committing myself to a monthly licensing fee for Application Server to Alpha Software forever?

    Do any of the Alpha Anywhere products require an ongoing monthly or yearly licensing fee for continued use?

    I would like to get this clarified before I make the investment.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Mark,

    The real question is do you need to deploy your application on mobile devices? If you do then consider how you want your users to work with your application. Just through the browser, or to make use of the panels in a mobile device? If it is just going to be through the browser, the stick with V11.

    If this is for a business application and you want to use it on a mobile device, then you will need V12. Yes there would be an ongoing charge but your company is already paying fees to your ISP and no doubt to other service providers too. So why should Alpha be left out?

    You makes your choices and pays your money.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    hello
    i have same exact stuff and use it the same way.
    If I choose to stay with v11, I can continue to utilize the existing software forever without any additional fees.
    yes as far as i know.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Mark Williams
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Sorry, I am still confused...

    Currently, we run our office on a networked desktop application (dbf). We then send the dbf files to the application server so our clients can view the data online.

    If I upgrade to v12 and use the software in the same capacity as I am currently using v11, are there long term subscription requirements?

    If I upgrade to v12 and choose not to continue my subscription, will my existing web app no longer be useable?

    Are the long term licensing requirements only applicable if I utilize the new mobile app feature?

    I would like to upgrade to keep current with updates, etc but I will not force myself into a long term commitment. I have upgraded to every version since the old DOS days, but I will not tolerate it being forced on me.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    hello
    if you buy version 12 on onetime fee based or subscription model and stick with that for a year then discontinue then all is yours. all programs will work, except as far as i know, application server. that will need subscription as of today.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Mark Williams
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Hubert View Post
    Mark,

    If this is for a business application and you want to use it on a mobile device, then you will need V12. Yes there would be an ongoing charge but your company is already paying fees to your ISP and no doubt to other service providers too. So why should Alpha be left out?
    Using this logic, I should start sending Logitech a monthly subscription fee because I used their keyboard to type in the code that runs my app. I should send Microsoft a monthly subscription because I used Windows 8 to run the software that created my app, etc etc etc...

    Not going to happen - sorry and so long Alpha Software...

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,363

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Stick with V11.
    It will probably do everything you want at the moment.
    It's not subject to a license so what you have is yours.
    It remains to be seen whether Alpha will carry on supporting V11, but I suspect that they will.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    You should probably ask Alpha Customer Service. Maybe you get an answer.

    If you purchase v12, in your situation you will need the Application Server. That will take a subscription or a perpetual license to be bought ONCE. You have a choice.
    You will also need the developer version. That will take a subscription with (as far as I know) NO option for a perpetual license and NO a-la-carte option (although Selwyn once stated there would always be one).
    Instead, you can stop your subscription after one year, and you may continue to use it but there will be no more updates.
    If you end your Application Server subscription and you have NOT bought a perpetual license, as far as I know, your application will cease to function.
    You will need an Application Server license for every server you need to install.

    This is about it.
    As Ted suggested, your alternative is continue to use v11 but that has no specific mobile functions like the UX-component. However, you did not specify the need for that.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ray in Capetown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Hendler
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    According to Alphas "Buy" page
    You can also buy Perpetual use, unlimited user licence that you own.
    For the same price as 2 year subscription (which has to be renewed to continue)
    The perpetual option offer six months of updates.

    Afterthought
    Why offer that ?
    IF you were guaranteed of a fully functioning de-bugged AppSrvr. its a no brainer.
    BUT what if there are still problems after the 6month update period is over?
    Last edited by Ray in Capetown; 07-05-2013 at 06:07 AM.

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Frank Bicknell
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    39.1915° N, 84.4348° W
    Posts
    2,467

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    I am in the same situation as you Mark. I hope they rethink their current pricing as this is not within my budget. I will stick with v11 until I find an alternative or Alpha comes back down to my budget. Hopefully the latter.
    Last edited by frankbicknell; 07-06-2013 at 04:22 PM.
    Win 10 64 Development, Win 7 64 WAS 11-1, 2, Win 10 64 AA-1,2, MySql, dbForge Studio The Best MySQL GUI Tool IMHO. http://www.devart.com/dbforge/mysql/studio/

  11. #11
    Member Ton Spies's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ton Spies
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    555

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    In my view, Alpha has launched a long-term vision for the development of applications for mobile devices.
    A necessary and therefore an understandable decision because developments in technology are increasingly.
    For those who need and like to use V12 the price will be no objection.

    Of course this decision by Alpha Software is disappointing for us, DT developers.
    But we must not forget about what we paid on average per year to Alpha Software.

    We are - in most cases - small software developers who (now) good work with version 11.
    Let us keep an eye on the developments of Alpha Software for the future and in the meantime we must remain active and continue to code share on the code archive forum.

    Ton
    Last edited by Ton Spies; 07-07-2013 at 09:05 AM. Reason: translation error
    Most things are simple but unfortunately only after the first time

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    My God Ton, how good to read something from your hand again! How are you today? Still in the Alpha-business?

  13. #13
    Member Ton Spies's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ton Spies
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    555

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Hi Marcel,

    I'm still alive, healthy and happy still working with Alpha.
    I am also concerned about the DT future with A5 but the boys in Burlington also probably (more than me!).
    So they will not forget us and come back some day.

    Have you ever read a pdf file (with select and copy)?
    I just decompose a Rabo bank statement to detect changes of address.

    Working on some preparations for SEPA with IBAN

    Do you use classes? I struggle about classes. I would like to use them but there are really too few instructive examples.
    But I'm not clear when and how you use them.

    But again on-topic: There are quite nice functions and methods only for DT and have not made a transition to web.

    groeten

    Ton

    Ik wens je een prettige vakantie! (translate.google.com)
    Most things are simple but unfortunately only after the first time

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    I understand your problems with using classes. Indeed, examples are way too less instructive and not very to the point. Alpha Five nowadays uses classes and .NET objects itself for its own structure. They could do A LOT better creating easy understandable examples where (from the very beginning of explaining OO a bit!) they take the developer by the hand and walk through the implementation of it. I have vented this before, but they simply don't and what there is now is hardly enough for most developers. A pity, and if you ask me, a missed opportunity.

    Yes, for desktop developers times seem to have changed. Costs are exploding (up to 400 percent) in a time where everybody needs to cut down on expenses. And that without any significant visible additional features. I am still not convinced on v12, but many have already decided NOT to upgrade because of several arguments like price, vendor lock-in etc etc. The new license policy is not making any friends among desktop developers. However, everybody has a choice and there are many competitive products out there of equal or higher quality so there is enough to choose from. Past experiences however do matter a lot, for the better and for the worse.

    Of lately I have been heavily involved in connecting Alpha to API's using RESTful statements and under the OAuth2.0 protocol. If there is a need for something to explore, I will do so. If not, it needs to wait until time allows.

    Will IBAN give you difficulty? I understand it's just a matter of resizing your bank account fields? Or is that too simplistic a thought? Would you care to elaborate a bit on the problems you encounter with IBAN?

  15. #15
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,956

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Marcel, could you elaborate a teeney bit on

    Code:
    Of lately I have been heavily involved in connecting Alpha to API's using RESTful statements and under the OAuth2.0 protocol. If there is a need for something to explore, I will do so. If not, it needs to wait until time allows.
    Also, my experience has been that if you are an existing (and especially long time) customer, they will negotiate with you.
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  16. #16
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Quote Originally Posted by martinwcole View Post
    Marcel, could you elaborate a teeney bit on

    Code:
    Of lately I have been heavily involved in connecting Alpha to API's using RESTful statements and under the OAuth2.0 protocol. If there is a need for something to explore, I will do so. If not, it needs to wait until time allows.
    Also, my experience has been that if you are an existing (and especially long time) customer, they will negotiate with you.
    Yes Martin. I have been working on modules and functions that can connect (any) Alpha Five v11 application with Google Calendar. The modules can request authorization and refresh tokens under OAuth2.0 and with that get access to the user calendar to add secondary calendars or task lists. Functions allow for creating new events in calendars and new tasks in the defined lists. Also, the functions will check the calendar for a free time slot before adding the event and will warn the user when a conflicting entry occurs. This all works with RESTful statements that call upon Google API's available on the Google Server. All functions can be called from either grids or forms. There is a video about it in the Alpha Blog.

  17. #17
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Hi Martin,

    I think the negotiations are over. According to Richard, Alpha was supposed to release special pricing to existing users but from what I understand, the pricing is the same as the pricing for new customers. Maybe Richard will speak to this. Unless your into web and mobile, v12 is a total waste of money and not a wise investment because the only way to get upgrades is to resubscribe every year and that is cost prohibitive. The DT should NOT have been part of v12 unless one is going to use web components as the DT. As such, Alpha is not promoting that and that is a shame, It's being totally ignored.
    TYVM :) kenn

    Knowing what you can achieve will not become reality until you imagine and explore.

  18. #18
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,956

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Well ...... let's wait and see what happens in a few months - we may start seeing some "special offers"

    depends on sales, of course
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  19. #19
    Alpha Software Employee Richard Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Richard Rabins
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    2,347

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Williams View Post
    I am still confused on the licensing of Alpha Anywhere v12. I haven't seen anything definitive on this (at least that is clear to me).

    I have a Developer, Runtime and Application Server license for v11 and use them all for our internal application. We do not market this app as it is tailored to our business.

    If I choose to stay with v11, I can continue to utilize the existing software forever without any additional fees.

    If I upgrade all of the above to v12 am I committing myself to a monthly licensing fee for Application Server to Alpha Software forever?

    NO YOU ARE NOT - there are two fundamental approaches - a perpetual approach similar to v11 and a subscription approach - it is your choice - please email sales for more information and Also an email will be sent explaining this in detail

    Do any of the Alpha Anywhere products require an ongoing monthly or yearly licensing fee for continued use?

    I would like to get this clarified before I make the investment.

    Thanks
    Richard Rabins
    Co Chairman
    Alpha Software

  20. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Well, since this thread actually is NOT closed or deleted (yet) maybe a good place to state, that I have just read in ANOTHER thread here (which IS now closed) that indeed Alpha is making a change in its pricing/licensing policies and that we will hear about it by mail in the coming days somewhere. It is supposed to also introduce the 'historic license system' besides the 'subscription license system' for v12.
    Which would mean that Alpha is coming back on its statements until now that v12 would only be available through subscription.
    With a bit of luck (but we seem to have worn out on that lately) this will also mean that there will be an option for those who had rather not subscripted if they had known that there would actually be another way of obtaining v12 as well.
    Unfortunately, this new 'historic license option' does not yet mean that the price for it will be something to celebrate. We will need to wait to see what it exactly is that Alpha is changing.
    Last edited by mronck; 07-11-2013 at 11:09 AM.

  21. #21
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ray in Capetown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Hendler
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Read post 19 Marcel.
    Richard's explanation is very clear. As it is on Alphas "Buy" page. Both options are available. Even WAS .
    I have received the pricing for existing users.
    As you have pointed out, the benefits of upgrading will depend on circumstances and requirements.

    To summarise - very little (read nothing!) extra for XB desktop. More for Web on desktop. Most with mobile.
    I do see the advantage of some new UX features, including improved charting that can be implemented with DT.

  22. #22
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    I think you are missing the point here Ray. Read this post from Richard Rabins from today. That may explain things. There is a change coming. Until today, there was only the perpetual option for the Application Server. Not for the Developer. That seems to change now. Besides the subscription, the "historical license system" will come to live again for v12.

  23. #23
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ray in Capetown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Hendler
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Yes Marcel you are correct. I saw Richards 10:03 am post but not the 10:12 am one
    Also has that vague promise you mentioned before "Major enhancements to xbasic"

  24. #24
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    This is like three people seeing the same thing but yet have 3 different descriptions. I never took it that way. I understood it to meanv11 licenses and only v11 licenses. As far as the AS web site is concerned, it sells what it says and it says nothing about the DT. Since Alpha's biggest base is the DT, would it not be prudent yo get those folks on board instead of sending them to the competition? To me, that is BASIC business philosophy.
    TYVM :) kenn

    Knowing what you can achieve will not become reality until you imagine and explore.

  25. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,416

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Yeah well, you almost at no time tell anything I would disagree with Ken, exactly so in this case: I agree. However, I did not see anything of a stable well balanced business philosophy in the past half year. It is all shooting from the hip and most of the time doing that you miss the target. I think when you basically want to do a complete overhaul on your existing licensing/pricing scheme you should heavily invest in communications with your customers, discuss things and try to get a solution out that all are happy with. You can't just go and dictate whatever illusions you have to your customers. The time is not right for that, and besides, software developers are not the dumbest folks on the planet although exceptions are known to exist

  26. #26
    Member
    Real Name
    David Volgas
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    443

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    So if I buy the perputual license with 1-year subscription, after a year, I lose updates. So whatever bug fixes come out after that year, you don't get???? Not even MS Windows makes you pay for bug fixes after a set time. Surely there is a way to avoid this unfortunate circumstance.
    David A. Volgas, MD

  27. #27
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    Quote Originally Posted by davidv43 View Post
    So if I buy the perputual license with 1-year subscription, after a year, I lose updates. So whatever bug fixes come out after that year, you don't get???? Not even MS Windows makes you pay for bug fixes after a set time. Surely there is a way to avoid this unfortunate circumstance.
    I would be very helpful if the term Perpetual license wasn't used because, either way you buy it, it is a perpetual license. they only difference I can see is that a subscription gets you any add-ons such as the feature packs in v11. Both get bug fixes and upgrades for a year, unless you bought a 2 or 3 year subscription. Once a subscription runs out, you can still use the product plus any add-ons. You just don't get an new add-ons unless they are bought separately or you purchase a another subscription.

    As far as bug fixes go, Alpha has never stated a policy on that other than if you have a subscription or within the first year of the A La Carte purchase.
    TYVM :) kenn

    Knowing what you can achieve will not become reality until you imagine and explore.

  28. #28
    Member
    Real Name
    Bill Amidon
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Osseo, Wisconsin
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    With v11 bug fixes and the updates are all rolled into one. With v12 it seems you won't get bug fixes after the first year unless you keep paying.

  29. #29
    Alpha Software Employee Richard Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Richard Rabins
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    2,347

    Default Re: Clarification on Alpha Anywhere V12 licensing

    We have announced some new pricing and licensing options that are designed to address as many of scenarios that people have raised as possible

    Details are here

    Alpha Anywhere (Alpha Five v12) is the flagship of the company and clearly that is where the focus of the company will be.
    Alpha Anywhere does not require a subscription (that is optional)
    Richard Rabins
    Co Chairman
    Alpha Software

Similar Threads

  1. Clarification on v12 usage
    By brentb in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-2013, 12:35 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-08-2013, 10:58 AM
  3. Example mobile application built in the upcoming Alpha Five v12 /Alpha Anwhere
    By Richard Rabins in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-09-2013, 05:16 AM
  4. Alpha Licensing
    By Turnbullca in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 02:55 PM
  5. Alpha 5 Webserver Licensing
    By Van Jones in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-2002, 01:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •