Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jonathan
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    134

    Default Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    I have a signature capture control which stores the signature in a blob field in a mysql database.

    When I load a report containing this signature, it appears as a black box. It works fine in the design preview, but when I publish it, the black box appears.

    I've tried different browsers, viewing localhost, etc but nothing seems to work. I'm using an HTML box in the report with the signature field inserted into it.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,724

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    It's nothing to do with browsers, localhost, etc... but rather the "image" field itself.

    Instead of using an HTML box... "override" the image field from you SQL Source. I'll assume you've got your report in the Web Projects Control Panel.

    Right click on the report and choose SQL Datasource, Edit SQL Data Definition.

    Get to the dialog where you select your fields. At the bottom you'll see a hyperlink "Advanced Options"

    Check Override Field Defintions and then click Field Definitions.

    Double click your signature field and change it's field type to Png. The signature capture is saved as a png image... that's why this works.
    Last edited by Davidk; 01-25-2014 at 11:35 AM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jonathan
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    134

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    Thanks for your help - signature showing fine on the report now!

    I'm still figuring out how to get it to display on a grid...I can't seem to get it to do this yet.

    Jonathan
    Last edited by jrmplus; 01-25-2014 at 08:03 AM.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,724

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    In theory... displaying your field on a grid is almost exactly the same.

    Add your signature field from your Available Fields list. Once it's over in your Selected Fields list it should be represented as an image field.

    In it's properties, under Display Settings, find Display format which should, by default, read <BMP Field>. Click on the builder for this property and a Special Formats dialog will display.

    Click the Special Formats button and choose <PNG Field>. While you're in this dialog have a look at the Explain Formats link... good reading.

    Since the Signature Capture control saves it's contents in the PNG format... you just need to make sure that where ever you use it, you set your displaying control to use PNG.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Jmo
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    So after updating to the most recent version of alpha anywhere (v4) I have encountered this problem again however I've checked the advanced settings to make sure nothing was changed and my signature fields were still set to PNG. Any other things I can look into what would start causing this in v4? So far haven't read anything about known bugs causing this issue.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Lee Vasic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    1,215

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    It happened to me too. Worked fine until the update to v4.0.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Jmo
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    So far I went to advanced options and tried Jpeg and BMP to see if going to those would work (assumed they wouldn't and they ended up just making the area blank rather than a black box). Hopefully a fix comes soon!

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Lee Vasic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    1,215

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    Selwyn helped me on this one. Make sure that the xps to pdf box is checked. Then shut down Alpha and start it again. This worked for the signature. However, the jpeg logo now has a problem.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Jmo
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    I know I've seen that setting somewhere but I can't remember where, can you point me in the direction before I start pecking around for it haha hopefully save me a little time.

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Lee Vasic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    1,215

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report


  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Jmo
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    Lee, my new issue is having the black box show up when someone doesn't sign (which obviously I prefer to my signatures not showing up) but is there a chance you can test this to see if you are experiencing this issue as well so I know if it is potential bug or if I need to go digging through my report and find a fix for when a signature isn't captured.

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Lee Vasic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    1,215

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    If it was working before v4.0 update I'd send it in as a bug report. I'm not having this issue.

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Haron Tennant
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    After reading this whole thread I still don't get it clear, were you experiencing so with the one very document or several variations of it? Because I was experiencing some issue appears to be similar to this of yours and it happened accidentally without any pattern. The only fix I found for such an occasion was to edit the report through this editor https://ds11.pdffiller.com so signature fields are signaturable again. Maybe there's some broken version associations are having place

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    ferry kurniawan
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Jakarta
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: Signature showing as black box in PDF report

    hi, I experienced with this issue. To fix it :
    1. use this method to display the signature in report:
    - calculated field : signature_encoded = base64encode(authorisation_signature)
    - Use html from toolbox, img src="data:image/png;base64,{signature_encoded}"
    2. web project properties -> PDF Printing options > tick 'use microsoft xps' (or just tick 3 of them)

Similar Threads

  1. Signature Image is showing a block box on PDF
    By UODTech in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-17-2014, 10:40 PM
  2. Report not rendering anything but a black square
    By J.R. Noe in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-16-2013, 04:23 PM
  3. Pdf report and black rtf boxes
    By lcbarker in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2011, 11:28 PM
  4. Not able to add the Signature to the signature object using the TOPAZ device
    By vckumareshbabu in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 09:08 AM
  5. Saving Excel chart in pdf and showing as report in web??
    By Robert Rough in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-15-2007, 01:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •