New call-to-action
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: "Can not update xxxxx file"

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Don Walton
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    123

    Default "Can not update xxxxx file"

    I get this message when i try to COMPACT the database? "Can not up this file" What is wrong with the file that it wont update? What did I do to the file?

    Don Walton

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic G Gabriel's Avatar
    Real Name
    G. Gabriel
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    7,204

    Default Re: "Can not update xxxxx file"

    It's probably open.

  3. #3
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,963

    Default Re: "Can not update xxxxx file"

    try closing and re-opening the database, and try again - if it fails again it is the Alpha registry indicating it is still open. If so, see the code archive for functions that clean the Alpha registry

    If it is on a server, and it still fails, you will need a utility to close it or restart the server
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Don Walton
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: "Can not update xxxxx file"

    Quote Originally Posted by martinwcole View Post
    try closing and re-opening the database, and try again - if it fails again it is the Alpha registry indicating it is still open. If so, see the code archive for functions that clean the Alpha registry

    If it is on a server, and it still fails, you will need a utility to close it or restart the server

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Don Walton
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: "Can not update xxxxx file"

    If it is the Alpha registry indicating the file is still open, how do I go about finding the functions that will clean the Alpha Registry? What might be the name of one that will clean the registry? I cant find the code archive even!!

    Don Walton

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Don Walton
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: "Can not update xxxxx file"

    Martin

    I did find the code archive, i think, but am not sure which function would CLOSE the file i am haveing trouble with!!?? Can you help??

  7. #7
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,963

    Default Re: "Can not update xxxxx file"

    Did you close the Alpha app, reopen it and try again?

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...n-the-registry

    read the above thread - the whole thing
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,317

    Default Re: "Can not update xxxxx file"

    Don,

    let me jump in here (at the risk of further confusing things)...

    1) the error msg you're getting suggests the table is "open". This may simply mean that a form or report based on that table is "open" because whenever a layout is open the supporting table(s) are opened automatically. So, first step for you to try and then to tell us about... close all open forms or reports. then run the database compact from the Alpha control panel.

    2) still having trouble? are you in an office running Alpha over a local network? If so, are the workstations shadowed? If not shadowed you would get this error if any workstation on the network had a form or report open. Somewhere on the network the table is open. So, close Alpha Five on all workstations, and try again. If you network optimized your workstations, the same problem can occur. Close alpha on all workstations then log directly on to the database on the server (without using your own shadowed shortcut) and try again.

    3) still having trouble? have you been doing development work and crashed alpha five somewhere along the way? Have you had power outage or brownouts that caused you to restart Alpha five? If so, the error msg you're seeing will happen if your server operating system has the table "open" This might happen if the table were opened on the server, and then the workstation crashed. Leaves the table open on the server if you see what I mean. In this case you can turn off all machines, including the server. When the server restarts the table will no longer be open.

    -- tom

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Don Walton
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: "Can not update xxxxx file"

    Martin

    I will try running one or more of these functions hoping that it will solve my problem!! I thank you ALOT for you help!! Hope i haven't been a PITA!!

    Don Walton

Similar Threads

  1. append.m_exp24 = convert_type(time("",now()),"c") returns error -"improper characte
    By Freewilly3d in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-08-2013, 08:12 PM
  2. "Object Is Not Defined" Error When I Use "Close Form" in the "OnInit"
    By nigeldude in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-23-2013, 04:22 AM
  3. "File Select" Control reverts to "Type in Field"
    By Citadel in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 06:22 AM
  4. "Add" and "Save" buttons don't stay on "Self" page
    By Scholin in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 07:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •