Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Error connected to MS Access database on remote server

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Mike D
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default Error connected to MS Access database on remote server

    I have a problem connecting to ms access database on remote server. Works on production server but not remote server. Here's the connection string. {A5API=Access,FileName='C:\Database\Powersports.accdb',UserName='Admin'}. I can open and work with database on remote server with ms access but Alpha display's this message.

    Could not connect to database.
    Database API specific error

    Your database has returned the following error code and description to Alpha Five.
    Consult your database documentation for further information.

    -1028 - '[Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Driver] Cannot open database '(unknown)'. It may not be a database that your application recognizes, or the file may be corrupt.
    SQL State is: HY000
    [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Driver's SQLSetConnectAttr failed
    SQL State is: IM006
    [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Driver's SQLSetConnectAttr failed
    SQL State is: IM006'

    Not sure what's wrong with it, any help appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Mike D

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: Error connected to MS Access database on remote server

    if you are able to work with database on your development machine and not in the remote server the first thing to check is the alias setup. take a look at those.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Mike D
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Error connected to MS Access database on remote server

    Gandhi,

    thanks for the reply. I wasn't aware of alias setup. It will come in handy in the future. The alias setup looks correct it is c:\database which is the correct directory for both the production and remote server.

    Mike

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Mike D
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Error connected to MS Access database on remote server

    FYI!

    I was able to fix the problem this morning. I had a corrupted ODBC driver on the remote server. I had to uninstall the ODBC drivers and then reinstall the Microsoft Access Database Engine 2010 Redistributable from Microsoft download center.

    Mike

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,718

    Default Re: Error connected to MS Access database on remote server

    Access 2007 is 10 years old. Is there no way you can move to a newer version? You might actually need to find an older version of the odbc driver to work with your database instead of using the latest versions.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic kkfin's Avatar
    Real Name
    Kenneth
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,520

    Default Re: Error connected to MS Access database on remote server

    Quote Originally Posted by lgrupido View Post
    Access 2007 is 10 years old. Is there no way you can move to a newer version? You might actually need to find an older version of the odbc driver to work with your database instead of using the latest versions.
    So true . Current Access 2016 database is for example SQL Server database and runs in Azure and you can directly save from Access also to SharePoint Online as a list. From this SharePoint list you can create with one click a Microsoft PowerApps that runs in any mobile device. And you can share the data with AA if you need easily.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Edward paul
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Error connected to MS Access database on remote server

    Thanks Michaell...!

    For sharing such an informative thing about this particular Access issue …… hopefully it will resolve my issue too..
    Last edited by edwards142; 08-03-2017 at 07:45 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Why I am unable to update my database tables on Remote Server?
    By Suvarchala in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 05:17 PM
  2. Alpha Web Server: Still unable to access database: Error opening Grid table/view: H
    By coyotemrh in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 10:44 AM
  3. Access Remote MySQL Server
    By cyang255 in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-07-2009, 06:15 PM
  4. Error "This server is not licensed for remote access."
    By dchiass in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2009, 05:59 PM
  5. Create connection string to remote access database
    By APFCClyde in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-21-2008, 05:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •