Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: preview report probelm

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Stephen Wilde
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default preview report probelm

    We have a script that runs from one of our forms that allows the user to pick "print" or "Preview", when print is selected all works as it should. When selecting "Preview" the script has to preview three separate reports. The first two previews work perfectly, that is they preview and when closed the next report comes up. But when closing the 2nd report the third preview flashes on the screen briefly and A5 goes to the control panel. If I open the windows bar the third preview report is a tab on the windows bar and it can be viewed. We have several different scripts that all do the same thing with only the third "Preview". If I remove the 3rd report from the script it works fine with just two, if I add a 4th report it still jumps to the A5 control panel on the third report and then I can close the 3rd report and the 4th report works correctly. I changed the order of the reports in the script and that does not change what happens on the third preview. We are using a5 v10.5 build_4369, windows 7 IE 11. A5 is on a server with shadow data network optimized on each workstation, both workstations do the same thing.
    I have attached a copy of the script. I also included a copy of the second script that runs the previewing or printing of the report.

    Has anyone come across this, I did not write the original scripts but I have been trying to fix things to work better for the office staff. I have tried different things but nothing seems to work on this probelm.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,699

    Default Re: preview report probelm

    In the 1st script, the 1st thing I noticed was you have the pointers opt0 and opt1 both dimmed globally and locally. In the 2nd script I don't see those global variables being used at all, unless the scripts you are calling are using them.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Stephen Wilde
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: preview report probelm

    Robin,
    Thanks for responding, yes he dimmed several variables when he was trying to set different printers and trays. When printing the Certificates they are on award paper so they only pull from tray 1 of the printers and the other two reports print from either tray 2 or 3. When he first wrote the program he had some trouble with the whole process so he changed the scripts several times. There is another script called "override" that runs in the autoexec file that actually sets the printers and tray options. I did not want to mess with any of that since it worked in the print mode. Up until last year the preview issue was not a big deal as the office staff seldom previewed, but the processes have changed in the office and they have started previewing the three reports more often then in the past. So I have been trying to get that part of the script to work properly. That is when I found all of our scripts that can preview 3 reports do the same thing when closing the second report and trying to preview the third. All three reports print from the same kind of script as the "rpt_level_cert" script, I though maybe the eval() function might be the problem, but I was unable to confirm that. I suppose I could write a temporary script without eval() and try it that way.
    Do you think the pointers to the variables without them being used could cause some problems with previewing?

Similar Threads

  1. win7 x64 v10.5 shadow database update probelm
    By certifiedfleet in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 10:53 PM
  2. Action Button Probelm
    By Vasan in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-16-2011, 12:13 PM
  3. Can you us a button on a report to exit report preview
    By Tbaker in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-15-2009, 07:53 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-2009, 10:22 PM
  5. Probelm with linked child table since recent build
    By lmarini in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-05-2003, 01:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •