Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Mobile Keyboard Control

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Lee Vasic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    1,225

    Default Mobile Keyboard Control

    Has anyone figured out how to control this thing? It seems like this would be easy, but I'm lost.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Frank Bicknell
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    39.1915° N, 84.4348° W
    Posts
    2,467

    Default Re: Mobile Keyboard Control

    What do you mean by "control". On my mobile devices when I enter a text field the keyboard automatically pops up.
    Win 10 64 Development, Win 7 64 WAS 11-1, 2, Win 10 64 AA-1,2, MySql, dbForge Studio The Best MySQL GUI Tool IMHO. http://www.devart.com/dbforge/mysql/studio/

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Lee Vasic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    1,225

    Default Re: Mobile Keyboard Control

    I have a list box that I use for a menu. The keyboard pops up over the menu. I want to turn off the keyboard in this situation. If I make the list read-only then I can't select the menu items. I could go back and make the menu all buttons and that would work, but It seems like there should be another answer. Any ideas would be helpful. If I put this in phonegap do I get more control over the keyboard?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Frank Bicknell
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    39.1915° N, 84.4348° W
    Posts
    2,467

    Default Re: Mobile Keyboard Control

    OK I see. I have resorted to using only combo boxes since these are the only controls that display in a usable way on phones for me. I have had to change my strategy a bit but it makes it much easier to select from a 'list'. It would seem that there is a way to do what you want. I have seen a suggestion that you make the control read only then with a timeout make it update-able. I guess the theory is that when you first give focus the keyboard won't pop up because the control is read only.
    Win 10 64 Development, Win 7 64 WAS 11-1, 2, Win 10 64 AA-1,2, MySql, dbForge Studio The Best MySQL GUI Tool IMHO. http://www.devart.com/dbforge/mysql/studio/

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Lee Vasic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    1,225

    Default Re: Mobile Keyboard Control

    I made a quick workaround until I understand this better. I added a text box, checked to get focus, then made it read only, then hide it. Then menu no longer pops ups.

Similar Threads

  1. Mobile List Control Filter Javascript
    By ssmoore1 in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2013, 06:12 PM
  2. International Keyboard for the alpha v12 mobile application
    By Ferenju in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-08-2013, 12:46 PM
  3. keyboard use in mobile apps
    By lilmofo812 in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-30-2013, 06:39 PM
  4. Mobile Browser Soft Keyboard Tip
    By Terry in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-27-2013, 10:07 PM
  5. Keyboard Control
    By russ Boehle in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2000, 04:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •