Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: import data from excel or ascii file

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,444

    Default import data from excel or ascii file

    Trying to do away with as many grids as possible, and convert to lists on UX's.

    One of my old grids had an action button to import data from excel or ascii file into a table via action javascript. I would now like to do the same thing in a UX with a list and then once the data is imported, refresh the list so that the new data appears. The action javascript does not appear in the list of available actions for a UX. Anyone know a workaround?

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Michael Cornford
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    East Sussex, UK
    Posts
    884

    Default Re: import data from excel or ascii file

    Lance

    I think the import data control is in a different position.

    file upload.png

    I haven't built the connection string and checked; the dialogue has different binding so this may have forced the move.

    Michael

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,444

    Default Re: import data from excel or ascii file

    Thanks for trying Michael, but that is an upload control, not an import operation. I need to import data into a table (mySQL), it is looking like I will have to try and emulate the javascript that runs on the grid component to get this to work on a UX.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,444

    Default Re: import data from excel or ascii file

    Got round his in the end.

    Created a grid with a filter that will always return no records, hid the column headers (only had the primary key column in the grid), then added an action button that performs the import operation to the toolbar. When run the action button is the only thing that shows.

    Then I embedded the grid (action button) on my UX and it works a treat.

    Hopefully this will help others in the same situation.

  5. #5
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,635

    Default Re: import data from excel or ascii file

    Lance,

    Another thought. Import directly into MySQL. Why get alpha involved if the goal is to get the data into a table?
    Pat Bremkamp
    MindKicks Consulting

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,444

    Default Re: import data from excel or ascii file

    Hi Pat,

    The thought process is to be able to go mobile with this, hence getting away from grids with lists. Process the data in excel on a mobile device, then import into a list for further processing. Not sure I could import directly into MySQL on a mobile device.

Similar Threads

  1. Excel / ASCII File Export
    By jacsolutions in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-18-2014, 10:54 AM
  2. Potential bug with Excel/Ascii Import
    By adrian1 in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-30-2011, 02:39 PM
  3. Import Ascii file Javascript
    By swksys in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-03-2011, 07:03 PM
  4. Ascii File import
    By Mike Sabo in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-10-2004, 08:23 PM
  5. Import ASCII File Bug?
    By ChrisHawkes in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2002, 10:35 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •