Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: having "fun" with '"+"Filter Strings"+"'

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Malcolm Salisbury
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    25

    Default having "fun" with '"+"Filter Strings"+"'

    Hi guys

    I have this filter string

    Code:
    application_key=lookup("application_tbl","APPLICATION_NAME ='"+"Cutting Item"+"' ","APPLICATION_KEY")

    which works

    on the second level of an xdialog box with complex cascading list. the little blue question mark says I can use the argument "level1"

    so I replace
    Code:
    "+"Cutting Item"+"
    with
    Code:
    "+ level1 +"
    and it stops working

    Obviously doing something wrong

    any hints out there?

    I have had a reasonable look at

    http://www.learnalpha.com/QuerySynta...axGlossary.htm

    Regards

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: having "fun" with '"+"Filter Strings"+"'

    Don't use v12 but in most cases arguments are called with :argument_name.
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Malcolm Salisbury
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: having "fun" with '"+"Filter Strings"+"'

    Stan

    thanks for that .

    changed it to



    application_key=lookup("application_tbl","APPLICATION_NAME ='"+:level1+"' ","APPLICATION_KEY")

    and hey presto.

    colon was not in little help blurb and didn't think to do search on argument

    Regards

Similar Threads

  1. append.m_exp24 = convert_type(time("",now()),"c") returns error -"improper characte
    By Freewilly3d in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-08-2013, 09:12 PM
  2. "Object Is Not Defined" Error When I Use "Close Form" in the "OnInit"
    By nigeldude in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-23-2013, 05:22 AM
  3. "Field Display Formatting" is Lost when "Pre-fetch data for Detailed View = Active"
    By PhillipS in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 11:02 PM
  4. form.view("fName","","","center","center")
    By reynolditpi in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 12:37 AM
  5. "Add" and "Save" buttons don't stay on "Self" page
    By Scholin in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 08:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •