Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problem with a merge begin and merge end

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,121

    Default Problem with a merge begin and merge end

    I just noticed an issue I thought I might point out, might be a bug or it just might be an everyday pia that most database developers would already know. I am not experienced enough to know.

    So I named my database fields with the typical underscore as in
    job_name
    job_description
    etc

    However I managed to name a field

    job__phone
    (notice two underscores...)

    The double underscores in the field name causes the merge begin and merge end (in a Grid) to throw an error.

    So based on that I would recommend you check for a double underscore and remove it now before it causes a problem later on elsewhere...this reminds me of accidentally putting a space!

    Are there other DO NOT do's we should know about when naming database fields when working with Alpha and if I had read the help files would I or SHOULD I have known this?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic mikeallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Brown
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,879

    Default Re: Problem with a merge begin and merge end

    Brackets [] around a SQL field is problematic. If you mistakenly type in a reserved word SQL won't necessarily give you an error but it will add brackets around the field. This makes it easy to miss. Alpha doesn't like brackets and throws a fit. First time it happened to me it took me some time to figure it out.
    Mike Brown - Contact Me
    Programmatic Technologies, LLC
    Programmatic-Technologies.com
    Independent Developer & Consultant

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,121

    Default Re: Problem with a merge begin and merge end

    what was the reserved word you used/thought would be nifty?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic mikeallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Brown
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,879

    Default Re: Problem with a merge begin and merge end

    I don't recall but there are a bunch of reserved words. It isn't a big deal. Just change the field or add an underscore.
    Mike Brown - Contact Me
    Programmatic Technologies, LLC
    Programmatic-Technologies.com
    Independent Developer & Consultant

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,121

    Default Re: Problem with a merge begin and merge end

    Yeah it's just a PIA when it happens. I knew the double underscore might be an issue for some reason when I made the table but ignored it. When I got an odd error I suspected it right away. I guess the bottom line is follow all the "suggestions" in naming fields!
    Hopefully someone will be helped by the post!

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,121

    Default Re: Problem with a merge begin and merge end

    Apparently double underscores refer to labels and or breaks of some sort (in JAVA) which is probably why putting a double underscore in a field name and then trying to use that field in a "merge cells begin" causes an issue.
    who knew...

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Kevin Callanan
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Rochesterr NY
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Problem with a merge begin and merge end

    This answer helped me today. Thank you.

  8. #8
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,626

    Default Re: Problem with a merge begin and merge end

    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin at LECESSE View Post
    This answer helped me today. Thank you.
    Welcome to the Alpha messageboard.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Merge Cells Begin
    By JH10 in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-12-2009, 04:45 PM
  2. Problem with Word merge
    By Gary DeVelder in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 04-10-2006, 05:14 AM
  3. Mail Merge Problem
    By Clive Watson in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-30-2005, 11:14 AM
  4. Problem with Word Merge
    By Barb Hill in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2003, 12:10 PM
  5. MS Word merge problem
    By Marion Wiffen in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-29-2003, 12:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •