Alpha Video Training
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 31 to 42 of 42

Thread: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

  1. #31
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,595

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    If you are using AllwaysUp, then you can set a delay in the startup on the "startup" tab in the "Pause for" field. If they all try to startup at the same time, I find that some will not complete, so I space out the startups at about 30 second intervals and they all start successfully. So, first one is 30, second is 60, third is 90 and so on.
    Pat Bremkamp
    MindKicks Consulting

  2. #32
    "Certified" Alphaholic mikeallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Brown
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,753

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    The only time I've seen our app server stop responding is when it climbs over 1200mb memory usage (Our Alwaysup is set to restart the app server at 1100mb). What is the memory usage of the instances that stop responding? Also, your load balancer is set up to use all 6 of your instances, right?
    Mike Brown - Contact Me
    Programmatic Technologies, LLC
    Programmatic-Technologies.com
    Independent Developer & Consultant

  3. #33
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,512

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    We have not been having memory issues anymore, Mike, since Alpha identified a dll that was causing the issues we were having with memory. But, anyway, we also have not been using Always Up and my IT technician set that up last night and is spacing out the startups as you suggested, Pat. Thanks. We'll see what happens today...
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  4. #34
    Member
    Real Name
    jay oken
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    Carol,

    FWIW, I have several servers, each with 4 instances of Alpha and use Always Up. On each server, I set the instances to restart nightly starting around 12midnight and space them out about 5-10 minutes apart. Jerry Brightbill recommended doing that so that each restart grabs a different processing core. I also use the AU setting to restart only if the instance has been idle for 5 minutes (user adjustable) and keep retrying for 60 minutes. That way there is less risk that someone will be kicked off.

  5. #35
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,512

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    Jay, thanks. We installed Always Up last night and maybe we didn't space them enough. Our issue is that each instance does start and even present pages, but a few of our 6 always quit presenting pages in the morning even though they appear to be running. Then we stop and start them manually and they seem to stay up the rest of the day. So it's something to do with the auto startups, maybe.... So we'll try yours (and Jerry's suggestion) and space the startups farther apart. AND your suggestion about checking if instance has been idle sounds good.
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  6. #36
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,512

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    Update: my server technician discovered that Always Up would allow us to start up each instance of the web server in specified cores. (Hopefully I'm using the right terminology). Since he did that, we have had over a week of no issues with the web servers stopping and my customers are reporting much improved performance. I'm thinking we have the whole memory/slowdown/servers stopping issue conquered!
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  7. #37
    Member compuaid's Avatar
    Real Name
    Brad Weaver
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ottawa, ON
    Posts
    368

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    Great news Carol. One other thing you can do with Always Up is to have your technician use a program I created and uploaded to the Code Archive section which monitors your actual web pages to determine that the WAS server is responding and if not it triggers a restart of the server using the sanity check option of AlwaysUp. Using this and automated nightly restarts I've had my WAS server running for months without intervention. The thread for the CheckAlphaServer utility I created is here: http://www.alphasoftware.com/alphafo...ys-Up-users%29
    Last edited by compuaid; 01-28-2015 at 06:29 AM.
    Brad Weaver, President
    ComputerAid International
    Ottawa ON Canada
    Versailles KY USA
    www.compuaid.com

  8. #38
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,512

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    Thanks so much, Brad! I will have my server technician take a look at this for sure! Meanwhile, we are still doing well without any of our multiple instances stopping. I find myself a bit irritated that we had to spend so many months (years?) wrestling with multi users and slow downs and servers stopping without being told by Alpha to use multiple instances and to use Always Up to start them in different cores. Since Alpha has that limitation of not using cores efficiently, it would be good for them to educate their users about a workaround to handle this.
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  9. #39
    Member
    Real Name
    jay oken
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    Hi Carol,

    Can you ask your technician how he assigns the cores. I noticed that option but have never had memory leak issues so didn't have the need to try it. I'm curious how many cores/instances you are running on each server and if he assigns the cores sequentially (i.e. 8,7,6,5) or alternates (8,6,4,2) leaving room in between assignments for the report server.

    Thanks,
    Jay

  10. #40
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,512

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    Jay, I think I should start a new thread about multiple instances of web server in order to share what we've learned through all of our trials. Once I get the info from my technician, I'll start that thread.
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  11. #41
    "Certified" Alphaholic mikeallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Brown
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,753

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    Quote Originally Posted by kingcarol View Post
    Jay, I think I should start a new thread about multiple instances of web server in order to share what we've learned through all of our trials. Once I get the info from my technician, I'll start that thread.
    Good idea ...having the thread title "Multiple App Server Instances" would make it easy to find during a search.
    Mike Brown - Contact Me
    Programmatic Technologies, LLC
    Programmatic-Technologies.com
    Independent Developer & Consultant

  12. #42
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,512

    Default Re: Memory just keeps climbing up all day on the Alpha App server

    Here's the new thread about multiple app server instances that include the documentation by my server technician about how we came to having a stable environment:
    http://www.alphasoftware.com/alphafo...the-Web-Server
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

Similar Threads

  1. running multiple Alpha Five 10.5 App Servers on a Server
    By Richard Rabins in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-19-2010, 08:46 AM
  2. Alpha Five Server consuming more Memory and Sysem Getting very slow
    By arkeshtk in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-02-2009, 12:51 AM
  3. Differences between Web App Server and Alpha Softw
    By rizzoratt in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-03-2005, 06:50 AM
  4. Alpha Five V5.1 Web App Server Beta is Available
    By Selwyn Rabins in forum Announcements
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2002, 08:32 AM
  5. Alpha Five V5.1 Web App Server Beta is Available
    By Selwyn Rabins in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-24-2002, 12:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •