Alpha Video Training
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 31 to 43 of 43

Thread: how to stop an sql process

  1. #31
    "Certified" Alphaholic mikeallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Brown
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,767

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    I don't mean to derail the thread but I've always assumed that if I type (using Steve's example) 'SELECT lastname FROM mytable WHERE lastname LIKE 'wood%' then THAT is exactly what Alpha will execute. Is that not the case? ...Alpha needs to do other things? If third party SQL tools like Navicat returns that same query in a few seconds than why can't Alpha?
    Mike Brown - Contact Me
    Programmatic Technologies, LLC
    Programmatic-Technologies.com
    Independent Developer & Consultant

  2. #32
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    to compare with navicat's performance, if you execute the same query in the query builder in alpha, does that take same long time (or that is what you have done and it was slow? no grids no sorting just preview the query in the query builder)
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  3. #33
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,171

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    In all of our testing, the speed in the Alpha Anywhere is almost exactly the same as in SQL Management Studio and Navicat when the queries are exactly the same. This to be expected as the database engine determines how the query runs, not the program that generated the query. The same query behaves the same regardless of how or where it was created.

    There is also no measurable difference of any significance between portable SQL and native syntax. That is because the interpreter converts the portable syntax to native and runs the query using the native syntax and that conversion is extremely fast.

    There is also no difference between using arguments and replacing the argument value with the actual value, with one exception. That is the issue in SQL Server when running a query on non-unicode fields with the Force UTF-8 off.

    We have tested a query in a 2 million row table as shown below in SQL Server, and MySQL in Management studio and Navicat and the speeds are the same within a few hundredths of a second.
    Code:
    SELECT Count(*) FROM PeopleBig WHERE LastName LIKE 'M%'
    The biggest differences occur if the field in the WHERE clause is indexed or not.

    However, you can't compare the speed in a grid with the speed of a single query as a grid actually does 2 queries. One gets the count of records, and the next gets the result set limited to the number of rows being displayed.

  4. #34
    Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,827

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    Jerry, I will be doing some testing over the weekend. Differences from your samples is I am using MySQL and the table in question is 150 times as many rows as your 2M row sample.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  5. #35
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Chris Tappan
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    1,279

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    Thinking about how Alpha handles it, I'll just thrown in that I've found the query to get the record count can sometimes be the killer too, depending on how you've joined tables in the SELECT query. If you enter in your own count records query in the server-side events with all unnecessary joins, it can also help.

  6. #36
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Chris Tappan
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    1,279

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    And Mike, that's my understanding as well with the exception that Alpha converts it as needed from Portable SQL to whatever syntax is needed for your particular database. Well, and then the grid would convert varchar and text, etc, to Alpha's Character type, and int, bigint, etc, to Numeric type, etc. And then render it all in whatever HTML grid template you've defined.

  7. #37
    Member mvaughn's Avatar
    Real Name
    Michael Vaughn
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Longview, Texas, USA
    Posts
    703

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    moved to proper thread... my oops
    Last edited by mvaughn; 01-10-2015 at 01:22 AM.
    Rapid Development, Training, Support
    http://data2web.network
    903-740-2549

  8. #38
    Member mvaughn's Avatar
    Real Name
    Michael Vaughn
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Longview, Texas, USA
    Posts
    703

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    ditto
    Rapid Development, Training, Support
    http://data2web.network
    903-740-2549

  9. #39
    Member mvaughn's Avatar
    Real Name
    Michael Vaughn
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Longview, Texas, USA
    Posts
    703

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    this is like deja vue. post is redirecting to here.

    gremlin.jpg
    evil gremlins
    Rapid Development, Training, Support
    http://data2web.network
    903-740-2549

  10. #40
    Member mvaughn's Avatar
    Real Name
    Michael Vaughn
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Longview, Texas, USA
    Posts
    703

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    13.7.6.3 KILL Syntax

    KILL [CONNECTION | QUERY] processlist_id

    Each connection to mysqld runs in a separate thread. You can kill a thread with the KILL processlist_id statement.

    https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/kill.html

    hope that helps

    Intended for Steve Woods regarding manual interruption of a lengthy sort.
    Rapid Development, Training, Support
    http://data2web.network
    903-740-2549

  11. #41
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    However, you can't compare the speed in a grid with the speed of a single query as a grid actually does 2 queries. One gets the count of records, and the next gets the result set limited to the number of rows being displayed.
    jerry has restated exactly what i was trying to say, in addition i think the browser needs to calculate the spaces before accommodating the grid to display properly to fit the needs of the grid.
    to be fair to alpha, a proper comparison would be
    do the testing of the execution time of the query in the desktop control panel in the code section or the interactive window since navicat is basically a desktop utility.
    Last edited by GGandhi; 01-10-2015 at 06:27 AM.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  12. #42
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    another point i like to say is that how the fields are defined. if they are defined as a varchar(30) or char(30) makes the difference when such a large number is involved, i think.
    when defined as char field the database engine skips exactly that many characters if there is no match as soon as it starts on the other hand it reads all the letters in varchar field since the next field will be anywhere up to the 30 characters limit.(char fields are right padded, varchar are not, as far as i know)
    it adds to the overhead regardless it is done in navicat or alpha. to expedite when such a large number involved it is better to define all fields with definite length rather than variable length.
    i am sure with steve's experience he would have done that.
    Last edited by GGandhi; 01-10-2015 at 10:46 AM.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  13. #43
    "Certified" Alphaholic chadbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chad Brown
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Aurora, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,408

    Default Re: how to stop an sql process

    Does alpha do a query on the table first to get the record count or after?
    If it is before couldn't it actually just run a count on the resultset from the actual search query instead.
    I would imagine that doing a quick sum on the resultset would be way faster. ''''actually now that i think of it the result set already has the row count in it. """"
    So if someone is doing a search then use the count from the result set and if no search then do the count off of the original select statement.
    Chad Brown

Similar Threads

  1. a5 Process Name
    By omagarc in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-10-2012, 02:27 PM
  2. Stop Developing, Stop Fiddling, just get it OUT THERE!
    By Ted Giles in forum General Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-07-2012, 03:25 PM
  3. getting process is being used by abother process
    By gkeramidas in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2005, 01:32 AM
  4. Stop The Tab Stop Insanity
    By Roy Irby in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-23-2003, 10:56 AM
  5. DB in use by other Process
    By Debbie Keller in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-18-2001, 02:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •